We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto)

Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto)
Piazza del Duomo | Historical Center, 10000 Florence, Italy
055-230-2885
Improve this listing
Visit Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto) like an insider
Skip the Line
$60*
and up
Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance...
Ranked #13 of 410 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lots of Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Well, we weren't sure if we wanted to climb the bell tower. We knew the views would be good, but... it's a long way up. We were surprised that it wasn't so exhausting, since there are multiple levels to stop at. I thought I'd be dead after we were back down to the bottom, but taking your time and looking around at each level broke it up. Bring your map and puzzle out all the different bell towers and landmarks. You also get a great look at the Duomo itself. The construction of the tower is interesting enough, too. I wouldn't say it's a must, because it's very time consuming, but I recommend it if the day isn't too hot and crowded. It would be tough on the narrow stairs during busy times.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,971
    660
    64
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great views - well worth the climb and the couple of quid (sorry, Euros) that it costs!

We'd already climbed the Duomo dome and the Plazzo Vecchio tower, so we weren't going to bother, but were pleased that we did as you get a different view of Florence and great 'close-ups' of the architectural detail of the Duomo.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Amazing views of Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Superb attraction well worth a visit and the few€ entry charge. Views from the top are stunning, really gives you a sense of location and a taste of the architecture and style of Florence.

Beware- there are many signs warning but the stairs are very narrow and with people coming up/down at the same time it might be a problem if you are elderly, unstable on your feet, have young children etc-

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go here first to get your tickets! No line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stopped by the bell house first to get out tickets for all the Duomo attractions. It allowed us to skip all the lines at the other places and not to wait to buy tickets anywhere.

Be careful going up and down the stairs - it is very narrow - but everyone was courteous and tried to let each other by. What a view!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice climb and views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Well it's a beautiful exterior and you get great views of the duomo and surrounds but that's it- no extra learning or history or art so if you like climbing stairs and want a good view of the duomo then it's 6 Euro and a florence quickie! Anyway I liked the photo options.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto) also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.