We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive site!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico

Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico
Via Farini, 4, 50132 Florence, Italy
+39 055245252
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$33*
and up
Ranked #42 of 427 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This synagogue, one of the largest in Europe, was built between 1874 and 1882 in eclectic Moresque style by architects Marco Treves, Mariano Falcini,Vincenzo Micheli. The museo was set up on 1982 in the same building to display ritual objects, dating from XVI to XX Centuries and documentation regarding the history of the community. In the new section on 2007 was set up a room devoted to the memorial of contemporary history included the Shoa.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Impressive site!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We visited the sinanogogue as part of our vacations in Florence. It is very impressive inside, the museum has objects from the time of the jewish guetto. We did the tour with the guide and the story of the construction is very interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    63
    20
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“had a great time in Florence because of Giovanna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We had one day to spend in Florence and didn't want to waste time looking for things so we booked a tour with Giovanna. She was knowledgeable, pleasant, patient with all our questions - and gave us more time than we had expected. We thoroughly enjoyed our day with her - it was worth every penny.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
291 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“An architectural masterpiece in Florence built after 1800 and a must for Jewish visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The Jews in most of Italy were not really liberated until the 1840's or so. As a result there was no opportunity to build impressive synagogues until the mid nineteenth century. This one dates from about 1878 and has a dome to rival most of the renaissance churches in the city. The interior is in the popular Moorish Revival style used for synagogues and some private houses in the late Victorian period all over the world. (It reminded me a lot of Frederick Church's home, Olana, in Hudson, New York!) It is richly coloured and very intricate. Guides are congregation members and extremely knowledgeable about local Jewish history, which dates back to the middle ages. Despite the destruction of most of the Jewish community in Italy during the holocaust, this synagogue still operates regularly.

There is also a nice collection of local Judaica, some very old, in the museum on the upper floors.

No pictures and you must go through a metal detector. They have had several terrorist threats to which, according to our guide, the Italian police have been purposely negligent.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jewish Tour of Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have just returned from a cruise and we included a private tour with Giovanna Rosenfeld of places of Jewish interest in Florence. We met at the planned time and place and she enthused us by her knowledge and detail of a great number of sites throughout this lovely city. We would thoroughly recommend her to anyone with the stamina for a three to four hour walking tour. She cleverly used shade as much as possible on a very hot day and though the group was 12 in number she was always able to involve all the group in the different locations. She also debunked some widely held 'knowledge' from other less well informed guides. A very good value experience.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jewish Tour of Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Giovanna Bossi Rosenfeld leads an amazing tour around the heart of Florence, chatting all the while about the history of the Jews of Florence and the ghetto they once inhabited. Our tour included a visit to the synagogue and the Jewish cemetery (which is locked and she obtains special permission to open it). She is an overflowing fount of information and was delightful - her English is excellent and our tour was very extensive. The cost is quite reasonable and I recommend her highly. Her website http://www.jewish-florence.com

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.