We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piazzale Michelangelo

Piazzale Michelangelo
Viale Michelangelo, 50125 Florence, Italy
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #3 of 220 attractions in Florence
Type: Lookouts, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This 19th century piazza has undoubtedly the best panoramic view of Florence. The square is decorated with copies of Michelangelo's sculptures, but it's the view people come here to see.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Yup, it's a nice view of the city.

Getting there is a bit hilly but easy to navigate as there are plenty of signs along the way. Also, it's not as far as we originally thought (maybe a mile) from City Center.

The cafes at the vista didn't look that appetizing, but we didn't try any, so I could be wrong.

Go for the view and, if you have time, check out the rose garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

4,990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,836
    969
    157
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
carlo.ablaza@gmail.com
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Take the time to venture up to Piazzale Michelangelo for an unforgettable view of Florence -- you won't be disappointed. It's the view you see in every postcard, movie, and it's not to be missed. Not only does it give you a great orientation of where everything is, where you want to go, and where you've been -- it also helps you appreciate the beauty, size, and history of the city. Fantastico!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great view, Needs more restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Love the view from this Piazzale. It's a great place to go (bus or taxi) for a great view of Florence and people watching and a snack. However, we were tired and hungry and the restaurant we visited last time was closed, apparently for renovations. We got directions from several people to other restaurants, but they were either crowded, bars, or just served snacks (after walking quite a way, up hills or steps to find them) so we ended up in a high end restaurant with a great terrace view for pasta. We were tired and sweaty, and didn't want to wait to go down the hill for a meal. We love the piazzale, and would know to check out restaurants before heading up if it was mealtime, but wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice view of Florence!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It is a good walking from down town but the view is excellent! Go there in the afternoon and have a drink to relax while enjoying the city landscape!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Classic view of Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Piazzale Michelangelo is a must if you want to see the classic view of the Florence city with its Cathedral, Duomo, Medici Palace and Basilica of Santa Croce

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazzale Michelangelo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Piazzale Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazzale Michelangelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Piazzale Michelangelo to your Saves list