We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazzale Michelangelo

Piazzale Michelangelo
Viale Michelangelo, 50125 Florence, Italy (Piazzale Michelangelo)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$145*
and up
Florence Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Renaissance...
Ranked #2 of 427 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This 19th century piazza has undoubtedly the best panoramic view of Florence. The square is decorated with copies of Michelangelo's sculptures, but it's the view people come here to see.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We climbed this the afternoon we arrived in florence. Surprised how many people make the climb actually. Very stunning views over florence. Keep going up the road & you can climb even higher & find a lovely basilica at the top. Less tourists, Very peaceful & beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,137
    1,904
    299
    41
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BELLINGHAM
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Please Make the Trek Here - lovely afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We really loved the climb up this hill. We had a sort of surreal moment - while climbing the stairs a street artist was playing Zeppelin's Stairway to Heaven - what more could you ask for? The view is really worth the climb. There are services at the top, food, drinks, gelato. Also there are some great little restaurants on the west side. We stopped along our trip and had lunch. A most enjoyable day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bauru, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

A little bit far from the center, but the view of Florence is amazing. It's really worth the walking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Dorset
Level Contributor
149 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We walked up to take a few pictures of the amazing view across the city and it was well worth the walk. Steps are steep, not for the fainthearted!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great photo location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Take the #12 bus to the Piazzale and you will be rewarded with a spectacular view of Florence. The bus takes a long trip through
areas that most tourists do not go to. Well worth the 2 euro cost.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazzale Michelangelo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Piazzale Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazzale Michelangelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.