We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good room, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Leopoldo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Leopoldo to your Saves list
Residence Leopoldo
Via Fabroni, 68/B, 50134 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€39 (EUR)
Ranked #45 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good room, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The room is very big (studio) very comfortable, kitchen is equipped well
The stuff was so kind and useful
The place is located at the end of an endless ally and there is a small garage and some shops that made noise early in the morning.
The washing machine is in the room- very comfortable

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdg74, Direttore at Residence Leopoldo, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks very much for your evaluation. We very proud and motivates us to do better! Certainly the best compliment is the quality of the human relationship between us and our beloved guest!

I hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
33
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A great place to stay. Fantastic rooms. On arrival the Manageress gave us a bus ticket to use and explained how the local service works easy really. There is a Coop just down the road that sells every thing you need. And a great little Cafe opposite the Coop which is cheap and sells the best pastries A great place to people watch..Centre of the City (Train Station) is a 20minute walk 5 minute bus ride. You will be given a map on arrival. Great place to stay .

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies and are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdg74, Direttore at Residence Leopoldo, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for the nice words. We are very pleased to have been good traveling friends and have relieved the unluky episodes of your car...

A worm greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Like everyone, when we choose a hotel we hope that everything will be perfect with our stay. But alas, we also understand when circumstances do not allow for perfection. In these instances, it falls upon the shoulders of the hoteliers to make a choice about how to handle the compromised situation. They can shrug their shoulders and simply say "sorry" or they can go the extra mile to make things right. Giovanni, the proprietor of Residence Leopoldo represents the latter type of proprietor. He recognizes that making his clients happy is the best possible way to run a business and for this reason, I would not hesitate to book another stay at Residence Leopoldo.

When we arrived at Residence Leopoldo on Friday afternoon, the internet was down and did not get fixed until our intended day of departure - Monday morning. This was a major hindrance for our stay. We rely heavily on internet access to work from afar while we travel during our young child's naps. We were extremely disappointed that the internet was not working and expressed our concerns to the front desk staff as well as with Giovanni by email sent via our mobile phones (since the residence office is not staffed on weekends). We were pleased with his quick response even though he was unable to immediately resolve the problem. He was very apologetic for our troubles and granted us an extra night's stay for free to compensate us for the inconvenience. He also left us a bottle of wine and asked if there was anything else he could do to make us happy. For the bonus day of our stay, the internet worked perfectly and we were grateful to have chosen a hotel that knows how to turn a bad situation into a good one.

Internet issues aside, Residence Leopoldo is a clean, basically quiet (only noises come from other people in the apartment building) and comfortable place to stay. It should be noted that the bedroom in the larger version of these apartments is only separated from the kitchen/living room area via a partition and curtain so there is no sound or light barrier - not a great situation for us since we had to tiptoe around in the dark after our child went to sleep. The only other thing that could have been better would be some softer, less blocky pillows. The neighborhood is a nice locals' zone with a good coffee shop, gelateria and grocery store nearby. The #28 bus offers a quick ride to the train station, though be sure to check the schedule as it does not run very frequently - especially on evenings and weekends.

Thanks again, Giovanni for making our stay a pleasant one and for correcting its shortcomings.

Room Tip: Read the descriptions of the rooms carefully so you know what you're getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdg74, Direttore at Residence Leopoldo, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello, I remember very well about you and your lovely family. Unfortunately we met in the days when we were updating the wifi network in the residence. As I have already done in person I apologize again. I'm still very, very glad you appreciated my efforts to arrange your vacation. The only thing I regret is that you did not know that our apartments are all studios, larger or smaller but all studios. This is clearly written clearly on our official website and on the main OTA.
I hope to see you again...
..a warm greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I spent three days in Florence with my partner in this residence. It was a really nice clean comfortable room with a bathroom. It had a tiny kitchen with its kettle, a small fridge, a sink and a cooker. There was also a balcony. When it was hot, we used the air conditioning, which worked right. I really liked the bathroom, it had a shower, a bidet and a wash basin. There was a bus stop near the residence. The area was quiet but there was a really nice bar nearby where you could have "apericena".

We loved it there. I would love to go back this winter.

Room Tip: Make sure you find out when the reception is open. We were luck, but we didn't know that we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdg74, Direttore at Residence Leopoldo, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you very much for your kind feedback. We appreciate your recommendation and are glad to read, that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

On a budget trip throughout Europe, this was by far the nicest place we stayed. The room is large and air conditioned (for free!). It includes a small flat-screen television, a full kitchen, a washing machine, a full bathroom with bidet, and balcony. The wifi is excellent and free - there are a few networks throughout the place, so the signal should be strong wherever you are.

The room was clean, although cleaning staff did not clean the room daily like many other hotels. For us, this was not an issue at all.

There is a large supermarket a couple blocks away, which is especially helpful because you actually have a kitchen to cook in.

The only bad thing I can say is that the reception desk worker was 20 minutes late to open the office, so when we arrived we were just sitting around with our luggage, unsure of what to do. But he did give us a free bus ticket after check-in. Florence is definitely a bus town, and with this slightly out of the way location, you will want to ride rather than walk if you are going to any main tourist attraction.

Overall, we really appreciated our stay at Leopoldo. I would definitely go back - the price is right, and the amenities are unmatched.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdg74, Direttore at Residence Leopoldo, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you with us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I chose it primarily for being inexpensive. At first I was put off by the fact that you have to take a bus (number 28 from SMN) to get there. But later I found that it was a wonderful experience. I am so glad that I had a chance to venture out of the well known historical center and to see how real residents of Florence live. This experience was in itself equal to visiting a museum. The apartment is full with a kitchen and dishes. The balcony overlooks a beautiful residential court yard with real Florentinians (is this the word?) living their lives there. I loved the chance to feel like a local for a while. There is a grocery store right on the big circular square and it's reasonable to stock up on some little things to make your stay more comfortable like home and to save on meals.

Room Tip: bus 28 takes you right there from SMN for 1.2 euro per person (till piazza Lorenzo, large circle) or...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdg74, Direttore at Residence Leopoldo, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Katia, your review captures the true essence of our structure and the fact that you have appreciated I'm very pleased. You was lucky to take advantage of the special offer that sometimes suggest. In fact with the bus. 28 or 14 which stops adjacent Piazza Leopoldo can get downtown in 10 minutes maximum. I hope you have taken advantage of the wonderful pastry that is in Piazza Leopoldo where me and my family have breakfast in the morning. I hope to see you soon here at the Residence Leopoldo. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

the reception working time is not so convenient for the customers...if you check in out of their working time, they will charge you 15 €...unbelievable...when you face some problems...you have to wait until they go back to the office, otherwise try to fix the problems by yourselves...for my experience, there was no bed in my room, I had to sleep on sofa. It was crazy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdg74, Direttore at Residence Leopoldo, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear customer, I am very sorry if your stay in our apartment was not up to expectations. But please note that we are not a hotel but a Residence and the reception is not available 24 hours. The time of reception is written everywhere and we always send an email to our customers where we denote times, surcharges for late check in and phone numbers of reference. If you have a way to check in on booking.com "important information" you will find all written down.
Please also note that you have booked a "classic studio" as it is written everywhere that requires an overnight stay on a sofa bed.
Also, as you have seen, in the apartment there is a sheet with the lists of phone numbers you can call if necessary timetable closing reception. Those numbers are available 24 h.
The thing that I'm sorry for your review that it seems that the communication on our Residence is misleading.
We welcome your criticism, however, because they are always an incentive to do better.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Leopoldo

Address: Via Fabroni, 68/B, 50134 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Residence Leopoldo Florence.Residence Leopoldo welcomes you in the city of the Renaissance: Florence!Enjoy your holiday in absolute freedom!Choosing the Residence Leopoldo mean enjoy your holiday in complete freedom.No curfew, a kitchen where you can prepare breakfast or meals for adults and children or for those who need special diets, a secure parking where you can leave your car or motorcycle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Leopoldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.