We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but probably only off season...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Locanda Orchidea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Locanda Orchidea to your Saves list
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo degli Albizi 11, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good, but probably only off season...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

On the positive side : perfect location, lot of charm, great value (50€/night in the center)

Howaever, it is worth mentionning that it has a "hostel" feel (shared bathroom), and our room on the street was noisy, which must be a bigger problem in the summer.

Anyway, this was perfect for our style of travel, but it may not fit everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    42
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
31
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It is like a hostal. In the middle of all the important places to visit. Noisy at nights, but they give you ear plugs and works perfect. It has a very good price. Felt very cozy: i want to go back again!! Ismari

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently had our second stay at the Orchidea and it was as lovely as the first. This time we had my 78-year-old mum with us and I was unsure how she'd go with the shared bathroom - but everything was so scrupulously clean there wasn't a problem. The rooms have a really authentic and relaxed italian style and the view over the garden is magic. The white sheets were crisp and the towels white & fluffy. The pillows ad mattress were also better than I've had at more expensive hotels. The location for access to the museums and shopping is perfect. The staff are super helpful and will make reservations for you at the museums, provide map and tour brochures/ideas if you're stuck. If I'm lucky enough to get to Florence again I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our second stay at Locanda Orchidea and if we return to Florence we will stay here again. On both occasions we have found it clean and comfortable and the owner and staff have been really helpful. The location is great - on a small but vibrant street, a stone's throw from the Duomo. On both our stays we have had a room to the rear of the hotel, where it is really peaceful. One of the things we especially liked was the provision of a kettle, tea and coffee, and small fridge in the communal area - which meant we could pop back and make a nice cup of tea when all the sightseeing got too much! The bathrooms are shared but we found that they were always clean and we didn't have to wait to get into the shower in the morning. All in all a great find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights in room 6 and thought it was great. Location is superb, round the corner from the cathedral. Room overlooked lovely courtyard so was very quiet despite being in the centre of Florence. The only downside is lack of private bathroom - but we knew this beforehand so fine and there's no fly screen on the window so we got bitten to buggery with the window ajar. But def stop here again. Thank you for a lovely stay Miranda.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

romantic, gorgeous, cozy, central, friendly, clean, beautiful little hostel. great value. we stayed here and decided to change our trip so that we could continue to come home to our beautiful little room. Im serious. we loved it so much!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

As someone wrote, staying at Locanda Orchidea is like being at home. It is not unusual since in many European cities, an inns or lodging may be in someone's home. Orchidea offers accommodation (only, no breakfast) on two floors of an antique apartment block, in the city centre of Florence. The location is a block from Proconsolo, half-way between the Duomo and Palazzo Vecchio, very close to many of the sights, museums and attractions.

My room faced the street, while some of the rooms (I peeked) had a view of the courtyard garden. The room had a sink, windows that opened and ceiling fan with remote control. These came in handy in hot, mid July. The shared bathroom next door to my room was large, clean, with huge frosted window. I have to say there were a lot of feminine touches at Orchidea, including a skirt around my sink, floral prints on my bed cover, weighing scale in the bathroom etc. The access to the apartment is through huge wooden doors, then by stairs or a "cage" elevator. There is a small living room, just like in anyone's home with a tv set, books, magazine, kettle for tea, sofa etc.

Unfortunately, as someone had also written about, down the street is a little piazza with an Irish pub that attracted hordes of young Americans. The kids spilled out on to the streets, boisterous, screaming, singing until 4 am as if they owned the streets. I had mentioned this to the landlady, Miranda. The next day, she called the authorities and they stopped. From what I gathered, the owner of the pub will meet with the city hall to discuss how to control this kind of behaviour.

Other than the noise (and lack of sleep on account of), Orchidea is very handy, as expected from an inn, comfortable, and pretty laid back. On the street below, lots of places to eat, drink (I recommend Tratoria Le Massace on the corner of Proconsolo/Borgo degli Albizi.)

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet, and have windows that open to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Locanda Orchidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Orchidea

Address: Borgo degli Albizi 11, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#144 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Locanda Orchidea 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Venere, Budget Places, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Locanda Orchidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orchidea Florence
Locanda Orchidea Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Locanda Orchidea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.