We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Locanda Orchidea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Locanda Orchidea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo degli Albizi 11, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 461 hotels in Florence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location, great value and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our second stay at Locanda Orchidea and if we return to Florence we will stay here again. On both occasions we have found it clean and comfortable and the owner and staff have been really helpful. The location is great - on a small but vibrant street, a stone's throw from the Duomo. On both our stays we have had a room to the rear of the hotel, where it is really peaceful. One of the things we especially liked was the provision of a kettle, tea and coffee, and small fridge in the communal area - which meant we could pop back and make a nice cup of tea when all the sightseeing got too much! The bathrooms are shared but we found that they were always clean and we didn't have to wait to get into the shower in the morning. All in all a great find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    40
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
27
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights in room 6 and thought it was great. Location is superb, round the corner from the cathedral. Room overlooked lovely courtyard so was very quiet despite being in the centre of Florence. The only downside is lack of private bathroom - but we knew this beforehand so fine and there's no fly screen on the window so we got bitten to buggery with the window ajar. But def stop here again. Thank you for a lovely stay Miranda.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

romantic, gorgeous, cozy, central, friendly, clean, beautiful little hostel. great value. we stayed here and decided to change our trip so that we could continue to come home to our beautiful little room. Im serious. we loved it so much!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

As someone wrote, staying at Locanda Orchidea is like being at home. It is not unusual since in many European cities, an inns or lodging may be in someone's home. Orchidea offers accommodation (only, no breakfast) on two floors of an antique apartment block, in the city centre of Florence. The location is a block from Proconsolo, half-way between the Duomo and Palazzo Vecchio, very close to many of the sights, museums and attractions.

My room faced the street, while some of the rooms (I peeked) had a view of the courtyard garden. The room had a sink, windows that opened and ceiling fan with remote control. These came in handy in hot, mid July. The shared bathroom next door to my room was large, clean, with huge frosted window. I have to say there were a lot of feminine touches at Orchidea, including a skirt around my sink, floral prints on my bed cover, weighing scale in the bathroom etc. The access to the apartment is through huge wooden doors, then by stairs or a "cage" elevator. There is a small living room, just like in anyone's home with a tv set, books, magazine, kettle for tea, sofa etc.

Unfortunately, as someone had also written about, down the street is a little piazza with an Irish pub that attracted hordes of young Americans. The kids spilled out on to the streets, boisterous, screaming, singing until 4 am as if they owned the streets. I had mentioned this to the landlady, Miranda. The next day, she called the authorities and they stopped. From what I gathered, the owner of the pub will meet with the city hall to discuss how to control this kind of behaviour.

Other than the noise (and lack of sleep on account of), Orchidea is very handy, as expected from an inn, comfortable, and pretty laid back. On the street below, lots of places to eat, drink (I recommend Tratoria Le Massace on the corner of Proconsolo/Borgo degli Albizi.)

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet, and have windows that open to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Italy with our son and two friends and we stayed at the Hotel Orchidea for four nights. With both two rooms facing the courtyard we enjoyed a peaceful, quiet sleep every night and woke up with a private view of our own renaissance garden.

The room we took had its own sink and shower which was really nice but there were two shared washrooms for the rest of this boutique hotel so waiting was rarely a factor.

Our hosts were available and accommodating at every turn. The common sitting area was warmly furnished with leather couches, books and travel brochures which was a great place to group and prepare for the next adventure. We had become accustomed to hotels with flights of stairs resembling a climb up Mount Everest so it was a pleasant surprise to access our hotel with a single flight.

The location was was a fantastic mix that was close enough to everything yet far enough from the crowds. You could reach Santa Croce, the Duomo, the Uffizi and the Ponte Vecchio by foot in a matter of minutes by stepping out into the pedestrian-only street in front of the hotel. About 30 paces from the front door was one of the finest gelato shops (Rivareno) in Italy so how could you go wrong? We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Lovely place. Great location. If you want to sleep in the rooms facing the street wear some very good ear-plugs and get home late. There's a popular bar right outside which is open to 2.30am and had lots of loud, drunk, young tourists sitting outside talking at volume. The street also has fantastic acoustics so it amplifies the sound.

It looked like a quiet street from the outside but believe me it went all night. After the bar closed people wandered up and down all night. We also stayed mid-week so it wasn't a weekend thing. Even with ear-plugs I didn't sleep much.

Nice room, nice staff, good price, pity about the noise.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was a terrible experience in terms of the accommodations. The service was fine.

The room was tiny, which was not really a problem, but the door was glass with a flimsy lace curtain. Therefore, any time anyone turned on the light in the hall, it shone through my room and woke me up.

I also had a large window in my room. I reluctantly shut it to keep out mosquitoes and noise, which also kept out fresh air -- but it didn't actually reduce the noise. I don't know how a hotel in an empty alley can be so noisy, but I was on the "second" floor (that's third for Americans) and I could hear every word of some people sitting in a cafe somewhere.

However, Miranda was nice and reserved a taxi for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Locanda Orchidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Orchidea

Address: Borgo degli Albizi 11, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
#103 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Locanda Orchidea 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Locanda Orchidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orchidea Florence
Locanda Orchidea Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Locanda Orchidea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.