We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Room, Amazing Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
Via Dante Alighieri 12, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Booking
Ranked #24 of 522 Florence B&B and Inns
Alexandria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Room, Amazing Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Italy recently and spent some time in Florence at the Dei Mori B&B. The location was in prime walking location to the major sites and areas of the city. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was more than filling. When we arrived, we were given an overview of the city with recommendations of restaurants and sites to explore, as well as detailed answers to any and all of our questions. We also enjoyed coming back to the B&B in the evening and sharing the living room with other guests as we all shared our Florence experiences.

Speaking of Florence experiences, we had driven into the city in a rental car and had an unfortunate experience with an un-staffed gas station as we tried to fill up the tank before dropping off the car. The bottom line is that we got no gas, but ended up losing 50 euro in a gas pump and just had a receipt good for money redeemable only at a station on the outskirts of town. Since we didn't have time to go back to this gas station, we assumed we had donated 50 euro to the local economy, but the staff at Dei Mori went above and beyond to help us with this confusion. First they tried to contact the gas station for us to see if they could exchange the receipt for cash. When that didn't work, they took the receipt and discounted our room by 50 euro. This was an unexpected and truly exceptional level of service and we cannot overstate how wonderful we feel they treated us as they did all they could to help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    93
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
76
260
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We picked Dei Mori from many available. My wife and I were greeted with a warm reception from the start. As we sat in his living room, listening, we felt as welcomed as anywhere we stayed in our 3 week trip to Italy. We got excellent tips on places to eat, tickets to buy, and even a map showing the best gelato shops near by. The room was clean but small, something we got use to in Europe. The hospitality was big and very welcomed. We felt relaxed and sat back in the common living room on the next morning cruising the internet. We then took our coffee out on the balcony and bathed in the morning sun and eating breakfast. This is truly and amazing B&B. Danny is very fluent in English and makes you feel warm and welcomed. Thanks for a great stay and a quiet sleep in your home. We feel as though we made a friend while we recharged.

Room Tip: Located in the heart of Florence. If you can't find the place, call. Danny speaks great Englis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights recently. The location is excellent, right in the centre of town within walking distance to all the sites, and many great restaurants, yet we had a quiet sleep with an open window, as we faced an inner courtyard. You do need to be prepared for a couple of long flights of stairs but once the luggage is up, you're fine!
Our room wasn't fancy but was clean and functional with a comfortable bed. We did not hear any noise from other rooms. The only negative was that the room lighting wasn't great, so it felt dark on the one rainy day, but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.
The host was very kind and helpful with restaurant recommendations, booking museums etc. Breakfast was basic continental but provided a good start to the day. Excellent whole grain bread for toast! It was lovely to eat on the outdoor terrace on a sunny morning.
And you MUST go to the gelato place down the road - Perche'no - the best we had in Italy, no question!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Recently stayed at the Dei Mori from May 9th thru May 13th. The location is outstanding. It is blocks from the Duomo, the museums, and the other sites that Florence has to offer. The rooms were clean and what you would expect for a B&B in the city center. We could have opted for the A/C but didn't and slept with the windows open at night. Overall, it was very quiet. We stayed in a bedroom with a bathroom. The bathrooms were tight but has what was needed - sink, toilet and shower. The bedroom has a wardrobe where you can hang clothes and also included a small table with two chairs. For the amount of time one would spend in the room, the value cannot be beat.

Danny and the other staff were helpful and offered excellent suggestions for restaurants and sites one should see. Within walking distance is probably one of the best gelato places (per a guide from Freya's Florence) and a couple of restaurants and a place that serves beer.

The best aspect was the location....we would definitely consider staying there again when we return for future visits.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and obtain a room with the on suite bathroom. And yes... there are a number of step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

In the heart of Florence, basic room, clean and quiet, would like a few more shelves or a drawer. Small but pleasant sitting room. Danny is a very gracious host and a very thoughtful person who has some valuable counsel on what to see and where to eat. He steered us to a remarkable church - San Miniato - that does not get the press it deserves from the guidebooks. Be aware that you need to walk up several flights of stairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Dei mori just before Easter. We chose this place based on the very positive reviews on trip adviser and we were not disappointed.
Firstly, Danny is a warm and charming host who goes above and beyond to make people feel welcome. He clearly puts a lot of thought into providing a special place for his guests to stay. Original touches include fresh flowers in the bedrooms, complementary wine and "nibbles" in the early evening, an "honesty" bar, and so important, Danny's wealth of knowledge about Florence with great recommendations about authentic places to eat.
Despite its central location, Dei Mori is very quiet and it feels like a calm haven in the bustle of Florence.
We would wholeheartedly recommend a stay at this delightful B+B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Danny was a gracious, informative, and attentive host in his warm and comfortable surroundings. He provided us with a quick overview of Florence and a list of good places to eat and off the beaten path places to visit. For someone staying a short time in Florence and wanting to stay away from the crowds, stay at the Dei Mori where Danny's fresh bread each morning is just frosting on a wonderful experience.
Susan

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via Dante Alighieri 12, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five room Bed and Breakfast, Dei Mori Firenze offers warm, clean and inviting accommodation where you can enjoy B&B hospitality in this charming small hotel wonderfully located in the historical centre of Florence. We are 2 floors above ground so you will have to climb *47 charming stone steps* after that everithing is confy and easy. 24/7 Coffe&tea facilities , honour-bar with honest prices and very confortable firm orthopedic beds ( if you like them *soft* ... Sorry :-( ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mori Hotel Florence
Dei Mori b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.