We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lucky Guess!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensavo Peggio

Pensavo Peggio
Via del Moro 51r, Florence, Italy
0552302987
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 1,876 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Lucky Guess!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Tasked with finding a restaurant in Flrence suitable for a group,meal, I chose this one because of its location and previous reviews. When I dropped in to make a booking, I wasn't sure at first, but the enthusiastic response from the wine waiter made me feel more positive about my choice. When the six of us arrived for dinner, we were each met with a glass of Prosecco, a pleasant surprise. we each ordered at least one starter as well as one or two more courses: those who ordered two more courses, although overwhelmed by the amount of food, coudn't stop eating because the food was so delicious! The Bruschetta, Chicken liver pate, and cheese with honey were all tried with happy results, and the main dishes included lasagne, ossobucco, Hunter chicken, and a vegetarian dish. We were all delighted with both the food and the service, which was offered with smiling confidence mixed with proud enthusiasm. The final touch was the apertifs with which we were presented. I was congratulated on my inspired choice, and may have neglected to disclose the fact that it was a lucky guess!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    63
    20
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We went to this place twice when we were in Florence. The food is good and the prices are very reasonable. Very friendly staff. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sherbrooke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We read reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to give this restaurant a try... And we weren't disapointed! The food was amazing, the mushroom raviolis were to die for! The bruschetta was one of the best we've had! Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“our best meal in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We happened upon this place on our first night in Florence and were thrilled!! So much so that we had to come back again a couple of days later. Wonderful cozy ambience with great lighting, friendly staff, and absolutely outstanding Italian food! I am still vividly dreaming about the ravioli with truffle sauce (licked the plate...would have sopped all the sauce up with bread, but as will all the bread in Florence it tasted like stale cardboard). Bread aside, my entire family loved the food here and the after dinner limoncello is a lovely touch! Go and enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing!!! Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I came to this restaurant after some research on TripAdvisor I was looking for a place close to our hotel, great Florintine steak and great pasta. This place fit all three!! My mother grandmother and brother all shared the 1kg steak (€40) it fed all 3 well and was the best one we've had yet. I had the lasagna (€9) and it was amazing!!! We will definatly come back our next time in Florence. (I must say my very picky mother complimented me on how much she enjoyed the food and how it was a great find) We were very unsure when we first got there because there was no one in the restaurant (at 7 o'clock) it was completely dead but it was great. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pensavo Peggio also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Pensavo Peggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensavo Peggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.