We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Uffizi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Uffizi to your Saves list
Relais Uffizi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chiasso de' Baroncelli/Chiasso del Buco 16, 50122, Florence, Italy (Uffizi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 418 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was my second visit to Relais Uffizi. The first was May of 2006 and the second was February 2013. Both visits were wonderful. The staff is very professional, the hotel clean, with great breakfasts and a wonderful location. A great hotel and experience. Thank You to the great staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittsburgh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This place really is in the perfect location and yes location is important. You will walk a lot in florence, though it is so nice to have a central base to come back to.

The hotel was fairly quiet when we were there in early January do we got a complimentary upgrade which was nice:)

Considering its location our room was quiet. There were a number of staff that we encountered. About 6 or 8 staff members over 2 days, and all were friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was great. A selection of cereals, yogurts, pastries, bread, cakes, fresh fruit, juices, teas and coffee. The cappuccino were made fresh and were nice and strong.

Keep in mind that you will need to pay the city/tourism tax when you check out ( on top of the price of the room). It's about 3 euro per person per day, but everywhere seems to do this.

For the price, this is an excellent find.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenAndBloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It's not only about location, location, location. A hotel must be clean, decently decorated, comfortable, have some facilities, reasonable food and attentive staff.
You don't really need to be in Piazza della Signoria to enjoy Florence as its best. The city is relatively small and one of the best things to do is walking, so the "location" everyone talks about is not really a plus here.
The room is big yes but the bed is quite uncomfortable and frankly they might need to think about buying new bed linen and towels for the guests.
There is only one single person in the reception who receives you, guides you to the room, serves the breakfast and not sure if cleans the rooms?
Breakfast is very poor, doesn't look presentable and does not include anything healthy food

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayuelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I visited Italy for fifty days and stayed at nine hotels, and only the Relais Uffizi in Florence was terrible. The hotel booked two restaurants for us which were closed. When my husband complained, the owner of the hotel grabbed our printed itinerary, wadded it into a ball, and threw it at my husband. My husband picked up the itinerary and while he was attempting to straighten out the papers, the enraged owner grabbed them and again wadded them up and threw them at my husband. The owner cursed by husband and told him to move to another hotel. My husband and I are senior citizens of the United States, and we have travelled around the world. I have never written a negative review before, but I felt that I had to share this alarming experience to warn other travelers. Please choose another hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street have a 6:00 a.m. wake-up call by the garbage collectors who bang cans and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SBButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaisuffizi, Direttore at Relais Uffizi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are very surprised about the description of this matter, it looks like a fight between two warriors.
We wish to reassure our readers and customers that, it is an use in our hotel and it is a spontaneous gesture ‘’talking in an undertone’’.
I remember very well that morning, when our Guest arrived at the reception slamming the entrance door, he flung the papers on the table shouting with rage, without any respect for anybody present there.
The reason of his complaint was easy to explain after that moment; it was a misunderstanding between a suggestion and a reservation of a restaurant and it would have been cleared in two minutes, without any drama.
At the check-out we greeted and both of us gave the apologies to each other; this the reason why we are surprised of this review.
However, we look forward to welcoming them again at Relais Uffizi and let them enjoy how is amazing discover Florence staying by us.
Best regards.
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Relais Uffizi is close to everything we wanted to see in Florence. Literally next door to the Uffizi Museum it overlooks the Piazza Della Signoria and the Palazzo Vecchio. Service is friendly and attentive. Breakfast is typical continental - nothing special. Price is amazing considering the location. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozzuoli, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Relais Uffizi is a great little hotel just off of the Piazza Della Signorina in the heart of Florence. The piazza is overlooked by the Palazzo Vecchio and is home to the replica of David and the Fountain of Neptune, among other famous sculptures and monuments. The hotel is located within the pedestrian zones which is a playground of cafes, shopping, and of course history. Being that the hotel was pet friendly, we were able to bring our dogs with us and take some great early morning walks along the River Arno and on the Ponte Vecchio when we seemed to have the entire town to ourselves.
The interior of the hotel is clean but aged, which to me added to the atmosphere of the place. Our room was close to the elevator on the second floor. We opted for the double superior, which was very roomy and was fairly modern and quite clean. The shower was actually decent sized and had consistently hot water (which can be rare in three star Italian hotels). The bed was typical for Europe, but was comfortable enough and clean.
The hotel reception was also on the second floor, up a few steps and through the network of crooked and obviously very old hallways. In the dining room near the reception desk they served a modest breakfast that could be enjoyed while overlooking the piazza.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful and easy to deal with.
If you are staying in Florence and are looking for a very reasonably priced hotel that will really add to your ability to absorb the atmosphere of Florence then I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
#47 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#66 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#67 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#46 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,488 reviews
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#19 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Uffizi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Uffizi

Address: Chiasso de' Baroncelli/Chiasso del Buco 16, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Florence
#115 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Uffizi 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Relais Uffizi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Uffizi Florence
Relais Uffizi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing