We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Uffizi

Save Saved
You added Relais Uffizi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Uffizi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chiasso de' Baroncelli/Chiasso del Buco 16, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This place really is in the perfect location and yes location is important. You will walk a lot in florence, though it is so nice to have a central base to come back to.

The hotel was fairly quiet when we were there in early January do we got a complimentary upgrade which was nice:)

Considering its location our room was quiet. There were a number of staff that we encountered. About 6 or 8 staff members over 2 days, and all were friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was great. A selection of cereals, yogurts, pastries, bread, cakes, fresh fruit, juices, teas and coffee. The cappuccino were made fresh and were nice and strong.

Keep in mind that you will need to pay the city/tourism tax when you check out ( on top of the price of the room). It's about 3 euro per person per day, but everywhere seems to do this.

For the price, this is an excellent find.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    109
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
47
122
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It's not only about location, location, location. A hotel must be clean, decently decorated, comfortable, have some facilities, reasonable food and attentive staff.
You don't really need to be in Piazza della Signoria to enjoy Florence as its best. The city is relatively small and one of the best things to do is walking, so the "location" everyone talks about is not really a plus here.
The room is big yes but the bed is quite uncomfortable and frankly they might need to think about buying new bed linen and towels for the guests.
There is only one single person in the reception who receives you, guides you to the room, serves the breakfast and not sure if cleans the rooms?
Breakfast is very poor, doesn't look presentable and does not include anything healthy food

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I visited Italy for fifty days and stayed at nine hotels, and only the Relais Uffizi in Florence was terrible. The hotel booked two restaurants for us which were closed. When my husband complained, the owner of the hotel grabbed our printed itinerary, wadded it into a ball, and threw it at my husband. My husband picked up the itinerary and while he was attempting to straighten out the papers, the enraged owner grabbed them and again wadded them up and threw them at my husband. The owner cursed by husband and told him to move to another hotel. My husband and I are senior citizens of the United States, and we have travelled around the world. I have never written a negative review before, but I felt that I had to share this alarming experience to warn other travelers. Please choose another hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street have a 6:00 a.m. wake-up call by the garbage collectors who bang cans and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaisuffizi, Direttore at Relais Uffizi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are very surprised about the description of this matter, it looks like a fight between two warriors.
We wish to reassure our readers and customers that, it is an use in our hotel and it is a spontaneous gesture ‘’talking in an undertone’’.
I remember very well that morning, when our Guest arrived at the reception slamming the entrance door, he flung the papers on the table shouting with rage, without any respect for anybody present there.
The reason of his complaint was easy to explain after that moment; it was a misunderstanding between a suggestion and a reservation of a restaurant and it would have been cleared in two minutes, without any drama.
At the check-out we greeted and both of us gave the apologies to each other; this the reason why we are surprised of this review.
However, we look forward to welcoming them again at Relais Uffizi and let them enjoy how is amazing discover Florence staying by us.
Best regards.
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Relais Uffizi is close to everything we wanted to see in Florence. Literally next door to the Uffizi Museum it overlooks the Piazza Della Signoria and the Palazzo Vecchio. Service is friendly and attentive. Breakfast is typical continental - nothing special. Price is amazing considering the location. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozzuoli, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Relais Uffizi is a great little hotel just off of the Piazza Della Signorina in the heart of Florence. The piazza is overlooked by the Palazzo Vecchio and is home to the replica of David and the Fountain of Neptune, among other famous sculptures and monuments. The hotel is located within the pedestrian zones which is a playground of cafes, shopping, and of course history. Being that the hotel was pet friendly, we were able to bring our dogs with us and take some great early morning walks along the River Arno and on the Ponte Vecchio when we seemed to have the entire town to ourselves.
The interior of the hotel is clean but aged, which to me added to the atmosphere of the place. Our room was close to the elevator on the second floor. We opted for the double superior, which was very roomy and was fairly modern and quite clean. The shower was actually decent sized and had consistently hot water (which can be rare in three star Italian hotels). The bed was typical for Europe, but was comfortable enough and clean.
The hotel reception was also on the second floor, up a few steps and through the network of crooked and obviously very old hallways. In the dining room near the reception desk they served a modest breakfast that could be enjoyed while overlooking the piazza.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful and easy to deal with.
If you are staying in Florence and are looking for a very reasonably priced hotel that will really add to your ability to absorb the atmosphere of Florence then I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel was in a great location. Just a few steps out the door to the main hotspots in Florence. As it was in such a great location, it was noisy though. At night time we could hear the restaurants downstairs cleaning up (lots of pots and pans clanging).

The room was... well quirky. The decor was definitely not to my taste. It was a decent size and clean though.

The complimentary breakfast was ok. There wasn't a whole lot of choice. The breakfast room was very small and so quiet. A bit of music would go a long way. All we could hear were other people eating.

The front desk staff were very friendly.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Uffizi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Uffizi

Address: Chiasso de' Baroncelli/Chiasso del Buco 16, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Florence
#117 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Uffizi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Relais Uffizi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Uffizi Florence
Relais Uffizi Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Uffizi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.