We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodation, great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plus Camping Michelangelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Plus Camping Michelangelo to your Saves list
Plus Camping Michelangelo
Viale Michelangelo 80, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Basic accomodation, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

++: location, pizza at the restaurant with view on the dome, allowed to bring your own drinks to the terrace, cheap, little supermarket at campingsite, busstop next to camping entrance, city centre 10 min walk, safety lock on the tentdoor, good atmosphere caused by youth on the terrace.

- -: musquitos in the tent, no electricity, chair and mirror in the tent, small showers with small saloon doors (your clothes will get wet).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    63
    59
    49
    41
See reviews for
39
95
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here in our campervan during our eurotrip and roadtrip to Italy.
Other campsites in Italy have much higher standards than this one. Yet their price is much higher which makes no sense!!!
The location is good (can walk to town in less than 20') and i liked the fact that is set in an olive grove but that's all.
Toilet and shower facilities are poor and not well maintained. Not heated either (visited in winter).
The reception was basic but I have to say helpful as we did break down the day we were meant to leave and they were ok with it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Do not visit this dirty and unhygienic site. Only last week most of the showers and toilets were closed at busy times. The receptionist could not care less and the site was VERY expensive. Shop and restaurant closed.Good location tho for florence !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just leaving here this very minute, glad to be out of here.
The one and only great thing is the proximity to Florence, though they say 15mins, never, more like 25 to the centre, good bus service though if you want to catch it, from right outside.
This is the most we have paid for a camp site for our motorhome in over 4 months of traveling across Europe, I was expecting the Ritz of camping worlds, what we got was 3rd rate showers, only 2 out of 6 in the mens block, 2nd shower block closed, all of the showers are rife with mould, are absolutely filthy and those disgusting plastic duck boards to stand on, ugh! Don't mention the toilets, thank God we have our own! Never used it before!!
Come on, greed and location have got the better of you, €38! OUT OF SEASON!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

CONS-
-38€ per night for our camper van (october)OFF PEAK!
-showers are full of mould and water damp green slime
-toilet blocks rarely cleaned and grime every where
-shop not even open
-refuses change for the washing machines, they say find a shop in town to give you change
-most toilet doors don't lock
-rude check in staff
-check out at 1pm and leave by then (all other places we stayed you check out then can stay till around 5pm)
PRO's
-bus stop out front
-David statue 50m with great view of
-free wifi
-Large washing machine (3.50€ per load)

Room Tip: Sites close to toilet have wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I pitched my own tent here for three nights in late September. I almost didn't stop here because of all of the negative trip adviser reviews, and considered a campsite much further out, but I'm really glad I did stay.

Pitching a tent cost 15 euros per night for one person, plus tourist tax of 1 euro.

Firsly there have been complaints here about noise from a nightclub. There was some noise but it wasn't that loud. At any rate, with earplugs in it was silent.

I found it to be one of the better campsites I stayed in in Italy. The toilets and showers were OK. Nothing special, just average campsite toilets and showers. There was about a 2 minute walk from my tent to the showers - about the furthest possible in this campsite and it didn't seem unacceptable to me.

Of course, the location is the best thing. The bus journey is very slow, but it is only a 15 minute walk from the center, which is unusual for a campsite. Florence is a great city to be right in the middle of, too.


To me, the staff on site seemed very friendly. Overall, a great stay and I would happily come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a good stay on the camping. We stayed in a tent of PLUS. We made an error with our booking dates and with a great smile the rebooked everything. The tent is not that big, but you have enough room. Inside there is only light, no plug for power. You can find this at the bar. There is also a small shop. To the city you can walk or take the bus, who stops in front of the camping. Advise is to buy a FLORENCE CARD (€72). This gives you the opportunity to travel with the public transport for 72 hours and you can go straight into museums, instead of waiting in long queues. We parked our car on the camping for €6,1/day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plus Camping Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plus Camping Michelangelo

Address: Viale Michelangelo 80, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Plus Camping Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plus Camping Michelangelo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plus Camping Michelangelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.