We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Club Florence to your Saves list
Hotel Club Florence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Caterina da Siena, 11, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Albergo Club Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Small but friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is almost a stones throw from the railway station.
To be exact..leave the railway station by the right exit ,down the stairs, go across the road and go left,then around the corner and. There it is...easy to find and a brilliant location for most things.
The reception was full of people. But the staff handled the registration process with ease and we moved in quickly.
There is a lift to all floors even if it is small.
The room was compact but okay.
The bathroom was small but well appointed.
It was a comfortable nights sleep even if the bed was quite firm.
Breakfast was downstairs and this was well laid out and quite generous.
The hotel provided free wifi in this downstairs area and that was appreciated.
The conciarge sent us to a fabulous restaurant around the corner which lived up to his recommendation.
This is a well located and friendly hotel.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    133
    41
    8
    17
See reviews for
45
145
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel this past weekend just gone with my Mum for two nights in a twin room. We got a deal online including breakfast but excluding tourist tax (we were charged 4 euros per person per night)

First of all the hotel is in an excellent location, so close to the train station so was very easy to get from Florence Airport to the hotel, we simply took the bus from airport to the train station and walked a couple of minutes. Hotel is walking distance from all of the places, and catching a train to Pisa from the station literally next door and nice market stalls too. People have complained about the shady characters outside but honestly nothing you do not get all over Florence.

We checked in and the staff were very friendly and nice and smiling. They all seemed lovely throughout our stay apart from the breakfast staff.

I think there are only 2 lifts in the hotel however this wasn’t an issue for us as we always managed to get one without waiting, maybe the hotel was quiet. The room was an okay size, bathroom was tiny, very tight and squashed with only a small shower. The room was very hot even with the air conditioning on all day/night. Looking out the window, could see another tourist on the loo on the floor below, that wasn’t a nice view and felt embarrassed for her when she realised. Do not think they have curtains so be careful. The room was a twin room with the beds literally next to each other. Was very quiet at night which was great when getting sleep but problem was the room was too hot. I tried to put the air conditioning higher but the noise was way too loud.

Bathroom was very small, was cramped. My Mum actually fell in the shower, no where to hold onto either.

The free wifi was excellent in the hotel through our stay which was a great touch.
Breakfast was a 2 star experience, very rude staff, no eggs on the 2nd morning and I asked and was told ‘no eggs’ nothing else. Only one slow coffee machine for the hotel and one very slow toaster. Was very squashed. Can honestly say had a better experience at a 3 star in Morocco recently which was a quarter of the price!

Overall definitely only a 3 star hotel, no way near a 4 star, false advertising and charging 4 star prices. Would recommend for the location and if getting a discount would stay again.

Room Tip: A room where other guests at the hotel cannot see you on the loo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel was nice decorate nice staff at first. However, the security was terrible!! there are not security camera at the lobby, my dad put his bag next to the navy blue chair for a minute while he is using his phone then its disappear ( its happen yesterday morning) !! Please hold your bag all the time when you stay in this hotel. This is 4 stars hotel, thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was the second hotel we stayed at on our tour, the first being in Rome. Being used to American hotels, the Italian hotels seemed small. This hotel was no different. The room was small, but the bed was nice, and the room was clean, clean, clean. But, shortly after we got unpacked, we realized the AC didn't work. And, unfortunately, the windows did not open much. The front desk gentleman came up to check, then the manager called. There was not a maintenance person on duty. After telling us there were no other rooms available (they were totally booked), about 3 minutes later the manager called and said he would move us. We were upgraded to a larger room. Again, the bed was comfortable and the room spotlessly cleaned.

My main challenge with this hotel was the shower. There was no way to keep the water from drifting all over the bathroom floor. The door was detached and could move every which way, and there were only two walls. I'm sure it has something to do with my being unaccustomed to area and customs. :)

So, I went with the very good, since we were treated so well by the staff and manager, and there was really nothing wrong with the hotel- it was lovely really- I just did not like the shower (or the wet floor after showering)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here as part of a first class Insight tour of Italy. Why Insight would chose such a place is beyond me and first class it is not. The stairwell smelt rank and of sewage the whole time we were there. I saw a janitor come out of a doorway near the bottom of the stairs and the smell was worse when he opened that door. The rooms have had a quick makeover a while ago. The stairwell is bare concrete with a manky dirty old carpet runner.
The breakfast was very good, although a little tight for space if you were not early.
Yes as others have said the staff leave a bit to be desired in the courteous award dept. when we witnessed the dark haired woman at reception snatch a sheet of paper our tour director was reading from, then fire it into a bin in a rage, I was gob smacked. However two nights later the establishment put on a drinks and nibbles hour for the group as a way of
apology.
Location; definitely not a nice part of town, bus changeover station two doors up and then The railway station just around the corner. Beggars outside and beside the hotel. Avoid if you can afford to.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We wanted a reasonable hotel with close proximity to the rail station. Hotel club worked well for us. It actually was right around the corner from the station so we didn't have the worry of lugging suitcases through the city. It was a little hike to the Duomo area but we knew that and we like to walk. The rooms were a little tired but clean and well maintained. We had an inside room to assure a quiet sleep. Breakfast was good but the area was very tight and disorganized. Plates in the middle, glasses down the hall, drinks with the food. Eating tables in the front lobby. Tasty food!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is ideally situated - just across the road from the railway station and the Pisa airport bus pick up/drop off points. Most of the places of interest are well within walking distance even for the less mobile. No shortage of eating places in the vicinity and an underground shopping mall just across the road. Hotel clean and tidy, rooms quite good with TV, Safe, phone - but no coffee making facilities. Bathroom could be bigger, but adequate - could do with more shelving for toiletries etc. We found the continental breakfasts to be more than adequate (terrible toaster), but the seating arrangements were cramped. There is no bar, but if you wanted a nightcap after a day on your feet, the sister hotel Ambasciatori is just a few yards around the corner and has a very comfortable bar/lounge. All in all, the hotel is a good base, and I would use it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Florence

Address: Via Santa Caterina da Siena, 11, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Albergo Club Hotel)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#141 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Club Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.