We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to stay in the centre - this is the place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bigallo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bigallo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bigallo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo degli Adimari 2, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 461 hotels in Florence
Ilminster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you want to stay in the centre - this is the place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Needed a central hotel as it was a flying visit which covered a couple of nights. It also needed to be near the train station as this is where we had to get the coach. It ticked the boxes on both counts. Only 10 minutes walk from the station and you are right it the heart of Florence.

The hotel is easy to find. TIP: If you have heavy luggage use the lift as the reception is on the 3rd floor. We arrived at 1pm and were allowed straight into the room after a warm welcome. The room was spacious and well decorated but the best part was the view. Opened the widow to have a perfect view of the Duomo. I did ask for a view as it was a special occasion and they would do their best and they did.

Breakfast is included in the price and has everything you would expect. Plenty to choose from and all looked after by extremely smiley/friendly staff. Which can also be said for the reception staff which are there 24 hours (help with directions and Italian power adapter).

The hotel itself is located on the main street that links the Duomo and Piazza della Signoria (approx 5 minutes walk) so you really are in the middle.

I would recommend Hotel Bigallo to anyone looking for a value for money stay in Florence. This is not a 5 star hotel so for those who have written bad reviews about breakfast/noise/friendliness of staff all I would add is you get a continental breakfast, your are right opposite the Duomo and things are sometimes lost in translation!

Further to those whole complain about noise the windows/shutters actually seal out 95% of the noise. The bells of the Duomo start at 7am so you are up and on the go and you can watch Florence wake up which is a great thing form your window.

Room Tip: Room 1303 is situated off the breakfast area (but certainly not noisy - well sealed doors). This had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    101
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
31
76
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Loved staying in the Hotel Bigallo - amazing location, on the doorstep of the Duomo Cathedral - everywhere within easy walking distance. Lovely split-level bedroom with 3 nicely firm, comfortable beds for myself and two friends, spotlessly clean - opened the windows to amazing view of the Cathedral - only downside was that the Cathedral bells rang on the hour from 6am but I actually liked that. Other thing was that the breakfast was pretty uninspiring but we generally ate out - so many nice choices nearby for coffee and pastries. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of the Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Very close to Duomo (in one of the corners), but that reception in the third floor and no one to help with the luggage are terrible.
If you don't have problems to carry your luggage to the room through stairs to a small elevator you will like it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed one night on one of the hottest August days. The room, for the price, was fine - washroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. Much is made of the rooms being air-conditioned and though they are, the air conditioner obviously couldn't handle the 40C temperature outside and we spent a sweltering, sleepless night. I dealt with three staff, two of which I found quite pleasant, and one of which I found slightly rude, as he seemed annoyed that I even asked about Wifi (you get one free hour). The complimentary breakfast was excellent, I have to say, with lots of variety. All in all, not a bad choice for a room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Hotel Bigallo which truly made our vacation in Florence. Ask for a view of the Cathedral! Location is so great and central, you're able to walk to every place you'd ever want to visit in Florence. Hotel staff were so friendly and helpful. Definitely will be back here. Oh yeah, massive rooms (2 stories which was an awesome surprise!).

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Given the hotels location in the main square it represents excellent value for money. Couple of points to note. The hotel is on the top floors of a residential apartment block. There is a lift, but it is very small and a bit dodgy/sketchy. Difficult with lots of heavy, big luggage, so something to keep in mind. Secondly, lots of comments mention the excellent cathedral views. Only half of the rooms have a view of the square/cathedral. The other half I believe overlook the back and have views of brick walls. We were unlucky and got a brick wall, even though we requested this specifically as it was our first Wedding Anniversary. Despite these 2 points, very good for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

-Location! less than 10 mins from the train station Santa Novella and right next to Santa Maria del Fiore, so: amazing view from the hotel room
-only 1 hour of free Wifi, if you want more you need to pay up to 5€ for 24 hours (not continuous) of wifi.
-Breakfast could be better with more variety. Only one type of cheese for example
-the building looks really old and the elevator barely fits 2 people, so we thought we were getting a really small room as well.
-i am not sure if all rooms are like the one we got but it was really big they called it a suite although we only booked a twin bed room. The room was a duplex: sofa, tv, desk downstairs and beds and bathroom upstairs. So that was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bigallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bigallo

Address: Vicolo degli Adimari 2, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bigallo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Bigallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bigallo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bigallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.