We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, and a fine location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bigallo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bigallo to your Saves list
Hotel Bigallo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo degli Adimari 2, 50122 Florence, Italy (Duomo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Adequate, and a fine location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed one night on one of the hottest August days. The room, for the price, was fine - washroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. Much is made of the rooms being air-conditioned and though they are, the air conditioner obviously couldn't handle the 40C temperature outside and we spent a sweltering, sleepless night. I dealt with three staff, two of which I found quite pleasant, and one of which I found slightly rude, as he seemed annoyed that I even asked about Wifi (you get one free hour). The complimentary breakfast was excellent, I have to say, with lots of variety. All in all, not a bad choice for a room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    110
    39
    17
    7
See reviews for
45
107
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Hotel Bigallo which truly made our vacation in Florence. Ask for a view of the Cathedral! Location is so great and central, you're able to walk to every place you'd ever want to visit in Florence. Hotel staff were so friendly and helpful. Definitely will be back here. Oh yeah, massive rooms (2 stories which was an awesome surprise!).

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Given the hotels location in the main square it represents excellent value for money. Couple of points to note. The hotel is on the top floors of a residential apartment block. There is a lift, but it is very small and a bit dodgy/sketchy. Difficult with lots of heavy, big luggage, so something to keep in mind. Secondly, lots of comments mention the excellent cathedral views. Only half of the rooms have a view of the square/cathedral. The other half I believe overlook the back and have views of brick walls. We were unlucky and got a brick wall, even though we requested this specifically as it was our first Wedding Anniversary. Despite these 2 points, very good for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

-Location! less than 10 mins from the train station Santa Novella and right next to Santa Maria del Fiore, so: amazing view from the hotel room
-only 1 hour of free Wifi, if you want more you need to pay up to 5€ for 24 hours (not continuous) of wifi.
-Breakfast could be better with more variety. Only one type of cheese for example
-the building looks really old and the elevator barely fits 2 people, so we thought we were getting a really small room as well.
-i am not sure if all rooms are like the one we got but it was really big they called it a suite although we only booked a twin bed room. The room was a duplex: sofa, tv, desk downstairs and beds and bathroom upstairs. So that was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Bigallo was brilliant. Excellent location. Clean room that was serviced every day. Air conditioning was great. Nice big bathroom with good shower. T.V. with adequate channels. Lovely to have a fridge that kept Peronis cool for the return after stomping the museums, gardens, churches and palaces. Breakfast was good, with a great coffee machine to help kick start the day. 24 hour reception. Great views from lobby area.

Great pannini 'booth' down a side street (turn right out of hotel and then a second left) I due Fratellis. Would love to return at some point - after rubbing Il Porcellino's nose it's definite!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I chose Hotel Bigallo based on the reviews and was happy that I've made the right choice!! The room is huge, air con is strong and the view (Piazza Del Duomo is just outside my window!) is fantastic! It is about 10 mins walk from the train station, a bit far if you asked me, in hot Italy summer. But we came from Singapore so it's not a big problem to us.

We love the room the moment we stepped in. It is the biggest room with the biggest shower we stayed in Italy. The breakfast was also nice and the staff who has to take care of breakfast and front desk was very friendly and efficient!

Hotel is located right in the middle of everything. Lots of food and lovely coffee shops. We asked the front desk to tell us where to go for dinner and her recommendations turned out to be superb! It is about 5 - 10 mins walk from the hotel and if not for her, we won't even venture to these streets in the area. There are many hidden treasures around Duomo area and you just gotta explore them.

We sleep soundly in this hotel, 3 star price, 5 star comfort!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the Duomo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great hotel, lovely room with air con and TV. Hotel is in a fantastic position just on the corner overlooking the Catherdral and only a 5 minute walk from the Uffizi perfect for everything as its so central. Nice continental breakfast and friendly staff.

Only small moan is that you have to pay for the wifi.

We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#301 of 458 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#121 of 458 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#60 of 458 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#149 of 458 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#295 of 458 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Duomo
Residence La Repubblica
Residence La Repubblica
#207 of 458 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bigallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bigallo

Address: Vicolo degli Adimari 2, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bigallo 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bigallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bigallo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bigallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.