We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed here longer..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Due Fontane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Due Fontane to your Saves list
Hotel Le Due Fontane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santissima Annunziata 14, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #269 of 460 Hotels in Florence
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed here longer..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were moved here for our first night in florence due to a problem with our room at a hotel around the corner, the staff were very friendly and helpful unlike the original hotel we had booked and made our stay in florence more enjoyable after a bad start. We were lucky to get a room with a balcony overlooking the square and just wish we could have stayed here for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    94
    82
    39
    29
See reviews for
52
102
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

In general Hotel is good for the place. Normally hotels here are very small and of course very ancient buildings. I forgot a 500 euros bill and when I return the money was still there. Breakfast is good and the small restaurant downstairs is ok especially to drink a wine glass in the afternoon. Everything is close from this hotel the Academy for example (is where the David of Michelangelo is).
The only bad situations are attendants cannot speak good English and I asked for alarm and attendant never woke me up and I lost a 100 euros nonrefundable tour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wonderfully located, but not wonderful! Most importantly, they put us in mold-encrusted tiny room with cracks in the floor tile and the sink, stains on the walls, a curtain hanging crooked from one hook, and a towel rack dangling from a loose screw, no screens on the window and lots of mosquitos.. Halfway through our stay, we asked to be moved to a different room, and they showed us three others and gave us our choice. All three were significantly better than our original room. The moldy, dirty rooms should be closed off until they are cleaned up and remodeled.
The front desk was friendly and always responsive. The breakfast was the best we had in Italy, with a variety of pastries and ham and cheese every day, as well as cereal and fruit. It would have been nice if the "free wifi" actually worked consistently. It is only in the lobby, and then only occasionally.

Room Tip: Half the rooms are clean, and half aren't. Every one is unique. Don't accept one of the mold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This Florence hotel has seen better days. While the location is good, it's on historic Piazza della Santissima Annunziata only a few shorts blocks from the Duomo, it's run down and in need of updating. The rooms are oddly laid out feeling small and crowded. The bathrooms are very dated with old fixtures and small showers. The free WiFi only works if you stand next to it in the lobby. The tiny elevator is up one short flight of stairs making checking in difficult if you have heavy luggage. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the "porter" who took care of everyone's luggage when we arrived. There is a restaurant and wine bar off the lobby which serves an adequate breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the stairs as possible. The walls are thin and the sounds of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

An ideal location (a five minute walk from the Duomo and with many lovely restaurants nearby) with a great view of the Piazza, the hotel le Due Fontane offers a comfortable and charming atmosphere for its guests. Breakfast is a functional affair but pleasant nonetheless. The hotel is happy to provide breakfast in your room at no extra charge which is especially lovely if you are facing the Piazza. The rooms are rustic in detail and they and the bathrooms are kept very clean. Downstairs, is a gelateria and reception, where the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Internet was a bit problematic, with little to no signal. However, overall it was a very lovely stay, relatively inexpensive and an unforgettable trip.

Room Tip: Facing the Piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel is very central, 5 mins tops from the dome. The room was nice and clean. Bathroom was ok, we had warm water all the time. Breakfast was good and well variated (some charcuterie, pastry, butter, gem, fruits, coffe, juices). The buiding is pretty old and, the one minus, noisy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Front desk service was poor. They were very indifferent to issues/questions. Internet available only in lobby and it didn't work. Black mold in bathroom.......lot's of it. Room 303. overall least impressive place I stayed while traveling in Europe. Would definitely NOT go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Due Fontane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Due Fontane

Address: Piazza Santissima Annunziata 14, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Due Fontane 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel le due fontane is a three star hotel in the real historical center of Florence.Between museums and shop s you can walkig everyvere, we waith you Next time you visit Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Due Fontane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Due Fontane Florence
Le Due Fontane Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Due Fontane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.