We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Maria Luisa de' Medici

Pensione Maria Luisa de' Medici
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pensione Maria Luisa de' Medici
Save
You added Pensione Maria Luisa de' Medici to your Saves list
Via del Corso 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #363 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Mount Vernon IL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this pensione (small, informal hotel) for two nights in May of 2006. The location, the price, and the proprietress make for a great experience. This pensione is an idiosyncratic place, and reflects the personality of the lady who runs it. She is a very interesting and lovely lady from the Netherlands, who has lived in Florence since the 1970's. Unless you insist on "deluxe" accomodations, you likely will enjoy this place. You certainly will know that you are in Florence, and couldn't possibly be anywhere else. We had a little trouble finding the place at first, despite the central location, so ask for directions. As I recall, the pensione is on the third floor of an old building, and you need to climb stairs in order to reach it. If mobility is a problem, you may need to stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — owner, location
  • Disliked — the room's decor
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

This was the third location during a three week trip through Italy with five friends, we stayed here for two nights. This was a lovely hotel to stay and and the price couldnt be better! The trickiest part was trying to book the room... calling Italy from the US on my cell phone plan proved to be slightly challenging. When you call to book your room, know that the host speaks perfect english, so you dont have to worry about that. She'll simply ask for your name and number and have you fax her a summary of the room you wish to have an on which dates. She wont ask for a credit card, but she will ask that you call and confirm your arrival a few days in advance.

Upon check-in, the wonderful hostess (I cant remember her name!) welcomed us and showed us around the hotel and let us know a few things, including more information about the curfew. Technially there is a curfew, but she is flexible with it within reason. Our group of six stayed out until about 2am, but we made sure that it was only one night and we came back in one group.

The rooms we got were a double (for the boys) and a quad (for the girls). The rooms were very spacious and clean. The vews werent anything to write home about, but in Florence, unless you're right next to the Duamo and paying for it, you're basically going to see the building across the way and the street below.

There are four bathrooms in the place, all shared. The one at the back of the hotel down the hallway is by far the one to aim for while you're there. But, I recommend trying all of them because it's kind of fun to see what each has to offer. =)

Each evening, the hostess will ask you what you would like for breakfast, which she will bring to you at the time you request. Her selection ranges from pastries and cereal to yogurt and fresh orange juice.

The owner/hostess lives on the premisis, taking care of her husband while not attending to your needs. They have quite the extensive art collection, which is why there is the need for a curfew.

The location was pretty good... not too far from anything. It's easy to get lost in the maze of streets though, so just be patient and read signs carefully. Five minutes to the Duamo, Ten minutes to the Uffizi, Fifteen minutes to David or the Bridge.

Summary: Good find, nothing too spectacular, but it is safe and clean. Hostess was very nice and pleasant to speak with.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

This hotel is very well located. Extemely close to the Duomo.Evelyn is very charming, personable and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.We had a very large room which accomodated all 5 of us very nicely. It was very hot and although there is no air conditioning Evelyn supplied us with fans that helped a bit. There are many stairs up to the pensione once you find the doorway on the street. It can be challenging with luggage after a long walk from the train station. The restaurant, "Yellow Bar" that Evelyn suggested was very good!!

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — hot!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

My husband and I spent almost a week at this perfect little pensione, located a block away from the Duomo. Evelyn, the proprietress, was wonderful to us - personable, charming, and ready every morning with "cheesy toast" and hot chocolate. The price was unbeatable for the location, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and, after exhausting but exhilarating days of sight-seeing, we would come back and look out over the rooftop of Dante's chapel through our huge windows and just be thrilled. Caution: Our rooms had shared bathrooms, which we did not find to be an issue at all, but may be for some travelers. Also, Evelyn had an 11pm curfew - also not an issue for us, but may be a concern for some. And finally, the pensione is on the top floor of a three-story building with no elevator - if travelers have issues walking or carrying luggage up three long flights of stairs, this is not the place for you. However, all that said, we have recommended Evelyn's place to all our friends and family (she has several "family-sized" rooms) and plan on staying there when we return to Florence.

  • Liked — The value and Evelyn!
  • Disliked — The three flights of stairs to get there....Good exercise, though.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Pensione Maria Luisa de' Medici for three nights in July, and could not have been more pleased with our selection. This was our first time staying at a "Pensione"/Bed and Breakfast, so we were not quite sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful decor, the absolutely perfect location in the heart of the city, the cleanliness of every room, and the hospitality of Evelyn, the owner. She was always there for us to answer our questions and, more than that, became a great friend in the short time that we knew her. She spoke English, Spanish, and Italian very well and had great insights into the goings-on in the city and what to see and how to go about doing so.

The Pensione is literally a few blocks from all of the major sights, including the Ponte Vecchio, the Duomo, and the Uffizi and other major museums. We were able to easily visit much of the city on our first day in the city, partially thanks to the location of the Pensione. Our room was very spacious and we had a lovely, large window overlooking the street below. Very scenic and comfortable, and the hallways and rooms include fantastic pieces of artwork and sculptures - the Pensione is like a museum itself!

We can't speak highly enough about the Pensione, and for travelers on a budget (or just looking for wonderful Italian hospitality) it is truly a significant find. We would highly recommend this establishment to our friends and family.

Affordable and all-around delightful accomodations!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

One block from the Duomo on a busy street is this hotel that has wonderful charm. Lots of antiques, statues and paintings cram the main floor. The only bad part is the walk up the wonderful old stone stairs (3 flights) a killer with a lot of luggage. But there is a wonderful fresco on the top landing and the hostess couldn't be nicer. a little noisy at night becuase you are on one of the more heavily traveled streets, but that also means you can get gelato right before going to bed!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — stairs with my heavy luggage
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the Mississippi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

My husband and I found this quaint pensione through a past "New York Times" travel review, prior to a week stay in Florence, Italy. Evelyn runs this inn in an efficient and caring manner, and enjoys meeting those who travel through her fair city. She sets reservations only via phone or fax, and being of Welsh descent; speaks English, along with Italian, and French. Her lodgings are on the "third floor", which translates to 69 steps (no elevator), so pack light and plan on moving quick and easy through the streets of Florence. Lodging is located less than 2 blocks from the Duomo, less than a block from Zecchi Art Supplies, and within sight of a major pedestrian square, several restaurants, and (of course) several gellato (rich, wonderful ice cream), cafes. The pensione includes a free simple daily breakfast, and has 5-6 rooms, all overlooking the street below, (single and double), and 4 shared baths (plenty to choose from in the morning). Payment is by cash only - at the end of your stay. She has an assortment of up to date guidebooks and maps, and will provide clean, comfortable rooms surrounded by the fine artworks, sculptures and antique furniture she and her partner have collected over the past 30 years.

  • Liked — Personal assistance, friendly owner, good "feel" for the city's attractions.
  • Disliked — By the last day...69 steps.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensione Maria Luisa de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Maria Luisa de' Medici

Address: Via del Corso 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pensione Maria Luisa De` Medici Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Maria Luisa de' Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.