We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location - solid 4 star quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile to your Saves list
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very convenient location - solid 4 star quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very conveniently located. It's about a 5 min walk from the main train station and a beautiful walk to all the major site seeing attractions. The hotel itself has a lot of character and is interestingly decorated from head to toe. The bathroom seemed to be newly renovated with big clean bathtub despite the room being a bit older. The Hotel staff was overall friendly, except for the man taking the late night evening shift. He was a bit of a square. But other than that, the receptionists during the day were very friendly and helpful in giving tips and making restaurant reservations for us. Also the breakfast waiter is very pleasant and the coffee was decent. Don't expect too much from the breakfast. Overall, it was a great place to stay and I would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Palazzo Dal Borgo with other readers. We are pleased you appreciated the hotel's special character and our friendly service and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    179
    62
    23
    18
See reviews for
101
236
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our family of four (including two teenagers) stayed at the Palazzo dal Borgo two nights in mid-June. Located in a great location on Via della Scalla, just a 5-minute walk from the SMN station, 2 minutes to SMN church and the leather market, 10 minutes to the Duomo, and about 15 or so to the Uffizi. The hotel is old, but everything works. In-room Wi-Fi worked fine, although a bit slow, and the bathroom/shower had been remodeled recently and were nice. Breakfast was average, but the outdoor patio was nice and the coffee/espresso delivered by the waiters delicious. In our room the A/C labored and was a bit noisy, but managed to keep the room comfortable. We took a standard quad room, on the third floor at the back of the hotel. Two separate bedrooms (one with a queen, the other two twin beds). The queen room was spacious and doubled as our family gathering area, as there is not a separate sitting room. The room was quiet and had a beautiful view of the SMN church bell tower. I can't compare to other hotels in Firenze, but I think the Palazzo was a good value for the price. Probably not a 4-star property (I'd give it 3.5 probably), but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: For a family, ask for room 68. It has two separate BR and is on the 3rd floor at the back of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
we thank you for your detailed review, we are pleased to know you appreciated your accomodation and the beautiful view from your rooms. Also that you enjoyed the patio, it is a nice and relaxing place to have breakfast. We hope to welcome you and your family back some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of our belated honeymoon in May. The hotel is in a good location, near to the Train Station and only a short walk to the Duomo. The reception staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. The hotel has a lot of character, and has some unique features. There is free wifi which is good, and the reception staff were happy to make restaurant reservations etc for us. Unfortunately, I thought the breakfast was very poor with limited choice. The hotel was nice and well located but I wouldn't rave about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy you appreciated the friendly service and cleanliness of the rooms and especially the hotel's unique character. We are however sorry breakfast did not quite meet your expecations as we do our best to provide both choice and quality, as mentioned in other reviews. We hope you will be staying with us again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
544 helpful votes 544 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in the Palazzo Dal Borgo hotel (formerly Hotel Aprile) for 4 nights 11th - 15th May for our 30th wedding anniversary. After seeing an offer on Travelzoo and reading reviews on Trip Advisor I emailed the hotel to ask if we would be able to have a quiet room with a nice view, and double bed.

I received very helpful replies from Joyce and Leila offering us a Superior double room, and then phoned the hotel to confirm booking and pay with my card.

Following advice from posters on the Trip Advisor Florence Forum we bought return tickets for the Autostradale bus at Pisa airport, which tied in with our Ryanair flight times. You can also use the Terravision bus or train to Florence. The bus arrives at Maria Santa Novella station. We had purchased Firenze Passes online before travel, and exchanged the e-vouchers for them with no problems at the Tourist Information Office opposite SMN station, by the church before walking to the hotel. These passes were brilliant for saving money and avoiding queue lines for galleries, museums and sights. They last 72 hrs from first use.

The hotel is only a short walk from the station - walk alongside the length of SMN church which brings you to the Piazza in front of the church. Walk to the road at the far end, and turn right, by the Gelati ice cream shop. You will find the Palazzo Dal Borgo just a few yards along on the right. You will see a marble bust over the hotel entrance.

We had room 63 on the top floor (the hotel has 34 rooms on three floors) which was very spacious, nicely furnished in blue, with a marvellous view over red tiled rooftops of SMN church and tuscan hills beyond. Our tall windows had shutters but we didn't use them, and could hear the bells ringing each morning.
Two single beds had been pushed together to make a double, and we found them and the pillows very comfortable. The room also had a small TV on a cupboard minibar, two bedside tables with lamps, telephone, writing desk with another lamp and mirror above, and a chair.
On entering our room there was a large wardrobe on the right with hangers, and a small safe inside. On the left was the bathroom, very clean and modern, with towels and toiletries, shower over the bath, hairdryer and tissues on wall by the sink. There were two steps down to the bedroom area which could be difficult for some people, so contact the hotel before arrival if you have any mobility issues. All the bedrooms are different, and ones at the front of the hotel overlook the small road.

The hotel has a lift but it is quite small. It caught us by surprise when we reached our floor and the door opened on the opposite side!

The Palazzo Dal Borgo was built in 1480 by the Dal Borgo family, and has belonged to the current owner's family since 1950. (Riccardo Zucconi). If you like large ultra modern minimalistic impersonal hotels, the Palazzo Dal Borgo is not for you - we loved the Florentine charm and history of this hotel and found the staff very friendly and helpful, speaking excellent English. We didn't see housekeeping, but our bed had always been neatly made and room cleaned when we returned late at night after a last drink at a ristorante on the piazza by the church (Il Bambola - very good food, reasonable prices, friendly staff).

The hotel has a lovely outside courtyard with a large central orange tree, and lemon trees, where you can have breakfast in good weather. There are two seating areas inside plus a small lounge area and bar. One room has a beautiful ceiling fresco. The hotel was not busy during our stay, so breakfast was very peaceful with plenty of choice of tables.
The buffet included a choice of three cereals, hams, cheese, croissants, rolls, sliced bread and toaster, scrambled eggs, bacon, fruit juice, jam/marmalade/nutella/ honey, cake, fresh unpeeled fruit, fresh fruit salad (although some mornings this was tinned), large bowl of natural yoghurt, various teas and infusions. Tea and coffee was waiter service. Smoking is only permitted outside, in the courtyard. I think breakfast was from 7.30am - 10.30am.

In the hotel lobby / Reception area there are various leaflets for sightseeing and tours, and a visitors book. We found Luana and Joyce very helpful in making dining reservations for us and phoning for a taxi, although we did notice a taxi rank by the Piazza. The hotel is in a great location for both the railway / bus station and sightseeing, and we were able to walk everywhere on our 3 full days. If you get back late and the hotel doors are locked just ring the bell as there is someone on duty all night.

We only used a taxi once from the hotel to La Giostra restaurant for dinner on our anniversary, which cost €8 and took about 10 minutes.

We also ate in Osteria Centopoveri restaurant, very close to the hotel, and Casa del Vin Santo ristorante & pizzeria which has a wood oven. We had lovely meals in all of them.

We had a wonderful time in Florence, perfect hot sunny weather (apart from a short thunderstorm one afternoon when it poured and became quite chilly) and certainly plan to return one day to this beautiful City and the Palazzo Dal Borgo hotel.

Thanks again to Joyce, Luana, Leila and all the staff for a wonderful stay.
I will be adding photos to this review.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard or with a view of the hills and church, at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Direttore at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your wonderful and detailed review. We are happy you chose us for such an important anniversary and to have fulfilled your expectations. It means a lot to us when our guests appreciate the atmosphere we aim to create, Florence is such a wonderful city that we feel our hospitality must reflect it's special charm.
We do hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late April, and we had a wonderful stay. The room was was excellent, and the staff at reception were very helpful. They booked a tour for us to Cinque Terra, which was at their recommendation and I'm glad they did, as we had a great time. Rooms are very clean and tidy, nice and modern too. Location is great as its a 5 minute walk to the train station, so you are close enough to do some day trips, but far enough away from the crowds and noise. One suggestion, get a room at the back of the hotel to take advantage of the spectacular views of the duomo. Overall, a great hotel and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Direttore at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Tripadvisor readers.
We thank you especially for your words of appreciation for our staff's courtesy: we take great pride in the service we offer so we are really happy when it's appreciated. We hope to see you at Palazzo dal Borgo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We enjoyed staying at this hotel during our time in Florence. It is very convenient to most of the sites and very convenient to the train station and bus to the airport. Our room was very pleasant and quiet because we requested a room overlooking the inner courtyard. The breakfast was very good and we enjoyed sharing some wine with friends in their lovely courtyard. The staff was very friendly and spoke English well. They had recommended a restaurant nearby which was very authentic, with excellent homemade pasta. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words, we are pleased we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff's friendly service. We are happy you enjoyed our courtyard, it certainly makes a difference to be able to sit and relax with a glass of wine after a busy day sightseeing. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel appears small from the street but opens up once inside. We had a room at the back overlooking terracotta roof tops, the Santa Maria Novella and the Tuscan hills. it was a convenient location, good restaurants within easy walking distance, it was quiet and very comfortable. All we needed for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your warm review. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, particularly the view over the rooftops to the hills, this is really something special to find in the heart of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile

Address: Via della Scala, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Dal Borgo Florence
Aprile Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.