We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent hotel with a personal touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile to your Saves list
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (Santa Maria Novella)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Magnificent hotel with a personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in October as a family with 2 kids. The hotel and staff couldn't have been more accommodating, thoughtful or friendly. We had plenty of room, were perfectly located for all sightseeing and were spoilt for attention. There were no other kids there but ours were spoilt with hot chocolate, pastries and staff happy to chat to them.
The breakfast courtyard is beautiful-I could have sat there all day but the best treat was
Getting acquainted with Signore Ricardo Zuccani, the owner who loves to keep his guests happy.

Ricardo shared some of his fabulous knowledge of Florence and gave up his time to take our small group on a 3 hour walking tour of his 'hidden Florence'. what a treat! We wandered the streets, learnt about the local politics through the centuries and got an appreciation of the 'santo spirito' or true Florentenes. I have never had a more personal and thoughtful hotel experience.

I recommend this hotel to everyone-families, couples, anyone who wants an authentic Italian hospitality. Truly magnificent!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear lynn
thank you so much for your nice words. I'm sorry to answer so late but I have two weeks vacation in November, hoteliers travel in the low season. I can say that my job is wonderfull when I meet people like you and your family. To run an hotel is not easy, as Mark Twain used to say "Every saints can do a miracle but only a few people can run an Hotel"
I grew up in the Hotel, my parents started il 1952. The best part of this job is that people from all over the world come to visit you and after a few years you have friends everywhere.

To go around Florence with all of you was my pleasure. I'm very proud of my city and adore to show it to my guest. I really hope you can come back sometime
Ciao Riccardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    199
    68
    27
    19
See reviews for
115
267
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotel Palazzo del Borgo is very conveniently situated for all the sights in Florence, but in a quiet area so not noisy at night. The building is full of character, with a lovely open courtyard for breakfasts and drinks. Our room was extremely comfortable and clean, and even had its very own 'view'. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. And breakfasts were amazing. Overall, couldn't have wanted a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile reception at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind words. We are very glad you evnjoyed your stay with us and really hope to see you again at Palazzo dal Borgo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is centrally located, only about a 10 -15 min walk south of the main Termini in Florence. We were a little early for check in, but the staff went out of there way to accommodate us. They offered us water and coffee while we waited. Once our room was ready, we immediately wanted to shower and unwind for a few. The room was beautifully decorated. There was a fresco with angles and heaven scenes on the ceiling and the walls were an antique white washed yellow. The room had this lovely ambiance and being in it transported us to old Florence. The hotel staff was super friendly, spoke very good English, had no problems with the wifi and the breakfast was awesome.

As others have mentioned this hotel is centrally located, close to the Duomo and close to the Ponte Vecchio. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile reception at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Jaid96,
thanks for sharing your experience with other travellers. It was a pleasure to have you here with us and we hope to see you agaiin at Palazzo dal Borgo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Dal Borgo in early October 2012 for 4nights. The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring Florence on foot, as it is only 5-10mins walk from the Duomo. The hotel has 3 floors of rooms, and we were on the top floor. Our room (68) was large, with a lovely bathroom and a separate lounge area (with sofa bed that we did not use), a fridge, and from the window we had a view of the top of the Santa Maria Novella. The room was kept clean and tidy. The breakfast was a simple affair, and the weather was good enough to allow us to sit in the relaxing courtyard of the hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful - they offered advise on places to visit,booked tickets for us to go to the Uffizi and to Gallerai Academia (essentail to avoid long queues), and recommended some restaurants (all of which were good). Florence can be quite expensive, but we booked the hotel a few months early, and managed to get a deal that we felt was good value for money.
There is so much to see in Florence and 4 days was barely enough to cover even the major attractions - take comfortable shoes :o)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile reception at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear MartynO175,
thank you so much for sharing your experience.
We were very glad to have you here and we really hope to see you again at Palazzo dal Borgo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I love this hotel and their staff. This was our first trip to Italy and our family of 5 were booked into this wonderful hotel for 5 nights. We were celebrating our Mom's 80th birthday. The rooms were large, beautifully decorated and the beds were comfortable. The daily breakfest was wonderful and included a varity of foods including eggs, bacon and sausage. There is a beautiful outdoor garden area which was a lovely place to sit and enjoy a cup of cappaccino, beer or wine. During our stay, our Mom had a medical emergency, the staff was so wonderful and assisted with having a doctor come to the hotel immediately, He was very attentive & kind, arranging additional medical evaluation at the hospital clinic. They were so very supportive during this diffcult time and cared for us as if we were their family. Sadly her trip was cut short as she had to return to the states. We will never forget how amazing the entire staff was and we are so thankful. This is a wonderful hotel and we highly recommend it. Thank you for your thoughfulness and compassion.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the garden area, it was bright and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile reception at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Madam,
we all remember your lovely family and really hope your mother is getting well.
Thank you for your kind words, the most pleasant thing is you have felt at home with us.
Hope to see you again in Florence at Palazzo dal Borgo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We loved this Hotel for a number of reasons! Huge room, great breakfasts, friendly staff, centrally located to Santa Maria Novella Station, free wifi and very pretty. We will definitely revisit this Palace.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile reception at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Tracey P,
thank you very much for your kind review.
We will be very glad to welcoming you again in Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The staff at this hotel was amazingly friendly and helpful. They really went out of their way to ensure we were happy. Our room was quite big and very pretty, as was the garden where we took our breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Direttore at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Madame, your review is
a beautiful postcard of our staff
Thanks for everything, we look forward to welcoming you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Rivoli
Hotel Rivoli
#93 of 458 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#237 of 458 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#123 of 458 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#164 of 458 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#169 of 458 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#89 of 458 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile

Address: Via della Scala, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#83 Business Hotel in Florence
#124 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Dal Borgo Florence
Aprile Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.