We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diplomat to your Saves list
Hotel Diplomat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Alamanni 9, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

we stayed in this hotel in late march 2014. the location is great... just 25 meters from the santa mario station... the hop on hop off bus starts 100 meters from the hotel, which is a great convenience.... there are many good restaurants in the neighborhood.... the closeness to the station also helped in doing a 3 hour trip to Pisa... i would highly recommend staying in this wonderful hotel. the only downside was that we were not provided with the room upon arrival (although not hotel's fault entirely as we arrived at around 11 am).... the in-room facilities were also satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    84
    45
    24
    8
See reviews for
32
117
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Hotel located very next to railway station,not expensive,but these two features are all good OI can say.
Cleanliness of the entire establishement (corrodors,staircases,room) leaves a lot to be desiired.staff just not intersted to serve,lifts small and slow.
Definitely not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Hotel was clean and rooms cleaned regularly, however they share their breakfast room with hotel ambassador next door ( same chain) which I suspect is nicer. Definitely not a 4 star hotel as they claim. Location is a big plus but breakfast is a bit limited. sausages were stale every day. My room locker was not working. Reported it immediately on day of arrival. Was not corrected in the 5 days we were there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapoStruttura, Resident Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear customer,
thank you very much and I extend my greetings

F Vitone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Very disappointing. We had booked into the hotel club but when we got there we were told to check in at another desk, which was effectively a sister hotel round the corner. The hotel diplomat is supposed be 4 star, but the rooms are small and poky, the bathroom is tiny. The hair dryer was held together with tape, and I would expect coffee and tea making facilities to be provided at the price they are charging. Breakfast is OK, nothing special, but the coffee is foul. Worst of all, access to wi fi is terrible. It constantly drops out. Let's see if I can manage to post this review! All in all this is barely 3 star, but I have stayed in better 3 star hotels. Hotel diplomat needs to make some improvements. It is completely wrong of them to claim it is 4 star. The 4 star hotel we stayed in London before we flew to Florence was luxurious in comparison and the same price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapoStruttura, Resident Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear customer,
I am very sorry for your stay. The kettle is provided only in executive rooms but for the problem of wi-fi but I can not apologize for the disservice. Unfortunately, the problem was really big and will not be solved in a short time.
I apologize again and I extend my greetings

F Vitone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The location was very good. Next to the station and most attractions were within walking distance. The rooms were small but adequate. The bathroom was well appointed. We were booked in to a hotel around the corner by our travel agent. We had our vouchers and booking code to be told they didn't have us booked in . They rang around and come back to say we were booked into the Diplomat instead, even though we requested the other and had that on our paperwork. They are the same company. Wonder what happened there? We needed somewhere to stay so we went around the corner and booked in. We were put in a room on the road which was so noisy. After being messed around we thought we will just put up with it. Under other circumstances I would have asked to be moved. The walls were paper thin. You could hear the people next door's conversation clearly. Pretty bad for sleep quality. The breakfast was average and held in a cramped little room. The bed was comfortable. It was nice enough but overall we wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room. Please disregard comment on swimming pool and fitness centre as accidentally to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapoStruttura, Resident Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear customer,
Your review will help us to improve our service. On this occasion, I extend my most '
best regards

F Vitone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Booked this hotel through Booking.com. The reviews there were a mixed bag but any of the negative comments were dispelled. We checked in early, were given a great room that was at the end of the building so a little street noise was heard through the day but was quiet in the evening even though this is across from the train station. Nice room, very clean, great amenities. Great service from the reception from check-in to check-out. Breakfast was quite adequate for our appetites. I would recommend and would stay there again. Oh, and the "rickety" elevator was simply a smaller elevator that had a floaty feel to it when it went up and down. I am not sure why someone would be scared to ride in it. There was a well-lit, clean stairway to use if you're elevator-phobic!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for one at the back center of the building. We peeked into a smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapoStruttura, Resident Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really thank you for your review.
We are very happy you were able to appreciate the quality of our service and Staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, we remain,
Yours Faithfhully

F. Vitone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Convenient and cheap hotel right opposite train station, we arrived late (midnight) and was perfect for us. Florence is easy to get around so was a pleasant stroll to all major sites. Breakfast was decent and rooms to a high standard, appears to have been recently renovated. Following previous tripadvisor advice took the back rooms which were definitely quieter although our room (451) just happened to be directly under the kitchen so was woken to noises and chats of the staff setting up breakfast, an early wake up call but not excessively loud and if you are a light sleeper would avoid. Asked to change rooms which they were v.happy to do but ended up staying in the room to save unpacking and wasn't as bad the 2nd night. Helpful staff and booked a tour the following day which met at central station (most appear to) so is v.Convenient for any early starts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapoStruttura, Resident Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Google Translation
Gentilissimo cliente,
è con grande soddisfazione che la ringrazio per l'emozioni che il nostro albergo Le ha fatto provare. Spero vivamente di poterLa conoscere di persona nella Sua prossima visita a Firenze e con l'occasione Le porgo i miei saluti

F.Vitone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 9, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diplomat 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diplomat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.