We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and warm place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galileo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Galileo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Galileo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 22A, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #257 of 459 hotels in Florence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A friendly and warm place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was on trip with my family, we got a big nice room and the receptionists were lovely. Breakfast was not wonderful, but reasonable for a three stars. I think small hotels like this one are warmer and more friendly than big hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    76
    42
    27
    17
See reviews for
24
76
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Having come from Venice, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was a pleasant surprise. They helped us find a way to break our lock after we lost the key to our bags late at night. Nothing was too much of an ask. They booked our tours and arranged for hotel pick ups. They even gave us vouchers for dinner. Breakfasts were pleasent and included in the price. Overall excellent value and a great location just near the Santa Maria Novella station.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I would not return to this hotel. We were in the middle of a heat wave and they kept turning off the air conditioners in the rooms. We returned from day tour late in the afternoon to find our room sweltering - air conditioner turned off - and the window unable to be opened. The staff were manipulating the air conditioners in the room from a computer at the front desk. I demanded the air conditioner in our room be turned back on.
The breakfast was extremely poor. The toast bread was the thinnest white sliced bread you have ever seen and stale.
The rooms were very ordinary and no linen changed. No card was left in the room to request linen be changed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Customer service was very rude - our booking had apparently not been received, staff were unhelpful and not welcoming. When we finally checked in, the air conditioning in our room did not work (- when we complained, we were given a fan) the bathroom was stained with mould. Not a pleasant experience - do not stay here. The location, while close to the hotel is unsafe and certainly does not showcase the best of Florence.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The room was small dirty and very smelly, the smell in the lift made us gag, the bathroom was tiny dirty and mouldy the filth on the plastic screen and shower curtain was digusting. Room at night was 28 degrees air conditioning was turned off for enviromental reasons couldnt open the window as street so noisey. Bed was hard and uncomfortable like sleeping on an ironing board top cover was dirty, curtain hanging off rail, wordrobe smelt like someone had urinated in it, hair dryer held together with sticky tape. breakfast was meagre orange juice served in plastic cups, toast, a few stale cakes some bits of fuit. How this hotel has a three star rating is beyond me it is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and ruined our time in Florence.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Old,dated dark and dingy. The first room we were given was dusty and dirty, seems like it had not been used for a while and was not even prepared for us coming, layers so dust. The hallway was dark with stained yellowing shades. We asked re zircon as the room was stuffy and when window open very noisy, was told that it was illegal to puton air cooler in Florence until june, what the!!
Offered courtyard room so we could get air, I do not think these people know what a courtyard is!! Next doors Dirty rooftop, littered and stray cats, not a courtyard to get out on. Breakfast was poor and room cramped, worst hotel we stayed in all trip, do yourself a favour. The reception staff very nice,they should go some where else, as too good for that place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We found this hotel in Rick Steves book. This hotel is within walking distance to the train station, convenient to restaurants and all the sites. We chose the superior room which was not ready when we arrived but the manager quickly provided another that was facing the rear courtyard. Room was quiet and clean had queen bed and large enough to move around. Breakfast was basic but good. The hotel value here was very good for the location.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the year of the hotel for a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galileo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Hotel

Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Florence
Address: Via Nazionale 22A, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 459 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Galileo Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant nineteenth-century building in the heart of an ancient city: among the hotels in Florence, Hotel Galileo welcomes guests into a calm and elegant environment, furnished in the best Tuscan-style tradition. You will have a pleasant stay or holiday in the city with all preferred comforts, surrounded by exquisite, authentic Florentine workmanship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Galileo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galileo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.