We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Galileo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Galileo Hotel to your Saves list
Galileo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 22A, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #274 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The room was small dirty and very smelly, the smell in the lift made us gag, the bathroom was tiny dirty and mouldy the filth on the plastic screen and shower curtain was digusting. Room at night was 28 degrees air conditioning was turned off for enviromental reasons couldnt open the window as street so noisey. Bed was hard and uncomfortable like sleeping on an ironing board top cover was dirty, curtain hanging off rail, wordrobe smelt like someone had urinated in it, hair dryer held together with sticky tape. breakfast was meagre orange juice served in plastic cups, toast, a few stale cakes some bits of fuit. How this hotel has a three star rating is beyond me it is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and ruined our time in Florence.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    80
    50
    31
    18
See reviews for
32
92
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Old,dated dark and dingy. The first room we were given was dusty and dirty, seems like it had not been used for a while and was not even prepared for us coming, layers so dust. The hallway was dark with stained yellowing shades. We asked re zircon as the room was stuffy and when window open very noisy, was told that it was illegal to puton air cooler in Florence until june, what the!!
Offered courtyard room so we could get air, I do not think these people know what a courtyard is!! Next doors Dirty rooftop, littered and stray cats, not a courtyard to get out on. Breakfast was poor and room cramped, worst hotel we stayed in all trip, do yourself a favour. The reception staff very nice,they should go some where else, as too good for that place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We found this hotel in Rick Steves book. This hotel is within walking distance to the train station, convenient to restaurants and all the sites. We chose the superior room which was not ready when we arrived but the manager quickly provided another that was facing the rear courtyard. Room was quiet and clean had queen bed and large enough to move around. Breakfast was basic but good. The hotel value here was very good for the location.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the year of the hotel for a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We arrived at the Galileo Hotel after traveling all night. The room wasn't available, but the receptionist was nice enough. The room was tiny and the bed and pillows were of the lowest quality. We didn't know how to operate the lights and had to ask the receptionist as we weren't given the information upon arrival. The wallpaper was coming off the wall and one could hear the plumbing in the next room. It was very warm and we couldn't leave the windows open at night because the room faced the street. We were told that the a/c doesn't get turned on until June 1 in Florence. The breakfast was adequate; the dining area small. The staff was friendly. I would not recommend this hotel and wished we could have begun our trip to Italy in a nicer hotel and better location. The star rating was "3" but I give it one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I did a tour of Italy for our one year wedding anniversary. We stayed at the Galileo for two nights. Here's the good and the bad:

Good:
- about a 5 min walk from Santa Maria station
- lots of restaurants and gelato places around (highly recommend Trattoria Bondi, and the restaurant beside the hotel is good too)
- walking distance to the Duomo, Galleria dell'Accademia, and shopping
- supermarket and laundromat across the street

Bad
- bathroom had mold all along the shower
- the a/c didn't work, front desk said it doesn't turn on until June
- you can hear other guests shower, flush, and have conversations in their room
- the room entry system emits a loud buzzing sound that you can hear other guests enter their room
- breakfast consisted of just cold bread and cereal

Also, they do have free wifi but it's only accessible in the lobby, not in the rooms. So that's a good and a bad.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. There are many more around the area which I'm sure is a lot cleaner and less noisy. But if you just need a place to sleep and don't care about mold and noise then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were scheduled to stay here for 4 nights by a travel agent. We left after only one night. The first room we were given already had someone in it. The second one was so bad we complained about the moldy shower curtain, tiny bathroom (3 feet wide by 10 feet long), poor lighting and being located right beside the first floor gathering room. The staff tried very hard to accommodate us, but they can't control the high school kids who were banging doors, talking loudly in the hallways, or the loud music coming from the apartments across the street. The neighborhood feels dangerous. There are groups of men crowded onto the sidewalks. They make you push your way thru them, as they won't move. By 1 am we still hadn't had any peace and quiet, and they were expecting another full house of high school students during the next 3 nights. We packed our bags and left.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My family and i went to Florence in June to spend some time in contact with art.
We found this hotel that was very close to the centre , that's very comfortable.
The rooms were very clean and they have the needful things for a family.
The staff was very kind and helpful, they answer every question we made.
The breakfast is a buffet breakfast and it was good. They also have italian espresso and cappuccino!
Florence left me a good impression , i wish i could spend more time in Florence and in the hotel but i had to go back to work.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galileo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 22A, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Galileo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant nineteenth-century building in the heart of an ancient city: among the hotels in Florence, Hotel Galileo welcomes guests into a calm and elegant environment, furnished in the best Tuscan-style tradition. You will have a pleasant stay or holiday in the city with all preferred comforts, surrounded by exquisite, authentic Florentine workmanship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Galileo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galileo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.