We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and very friendly staff and owners.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Albion to your Saves list
Albion
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Il Prato 22r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable and very friendly staff and owners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family run hotel within comfortable walking distance of centre with plenty of good dining places available nearby. Secure car parking a big plus. Family and staff very friendly and helpful with advice on local attractions - not just the obvious central ones.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    67
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
41
63
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in July 2014. The reason I didn't give it five stars is only because the rooms, while nice enough are not spectacular. The staff is simply the best thing about this hotel, they are very helpful, going out of their way to make one comfortable and they are very cheerful and happy to help. The breakfast room with its windows and the high ceilings is charming as are the old world stairs and the simply hundreds of gorgeous paintings adorning the walls. Its also very well located, being an easy walk from the train station and most major attractions and has some really nice restaurants within an easy walk (literally down the lane).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

This hotel is a great place for people who enjoy a small little place where they can stay for a few nights, maybe best for elderly couples or people who just want peace and quiet to themselves...
But their hotel rooms for very small and were very squashy especially for me because I had to share with about 3-4 other people from my school travelling group in the one room. This hotel also didn't have a elevator, just stairs to walk up which can be annoying when you are carrying your heavy luggage up the flights of stairs.

Overall, this hotel I think is best suited for people who like little, antique hotels with a small little lobby and a cafe or dining area. But some positives for this hotel would have to be the hotel's beds - they were so comfortable and I really didn't want to get out of bed. It was one of the hotels that I wouldn't forget from my trip across Europe!

Room Tip: If you choose to stay at this hotel, it's best to pick a hotel room that is located on the botto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We loved the quirkiness of this hotel - it felt like experiencing the essence of this lovely old building as it had been in the past. It was simple but spotlessly clean and comfortable. Sadly we were not there long enough as I broke my foot on the Florentine cobblestones. Sara, her father and their staff spoke good English and were so very kind and helpful in our hour of need and we can't thank them enough. Jane and Keith - UK

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Falmouth, MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We were thoroughly pleased with this delightful family owned and run hotel. It was a short, very walkable distance from both the train and bus stations, but tucked away from the throngs of visitors in Florence. It was clean, well furnished with comfortable common rooms on the ground level. We were greeted by extremely helpful personnel and immediately offered coffee and seats whilst our room was being finished. (We had arrived before lunch.) We were given wonderful local places to dine that avoided the crowds at the usual tourist areas. The breakfast area was roomy and buffet filed with delicious European type foods. Our bedroom was large, light and comfortable. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel. It is close enough to walk everywhere, but it is also away from tourists and congestion. The workers are obviously locals, constantly smiling, and will point you in the right direction for meals, attractions, and everything else you would want! You definitely want to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A very nice family owned hotel. They had wonderful service. Room was clean without a lot of decoration. Even though it was a hotel is felt more like a bed and breakfast. Breakfast area was in a really nice room and the food was very good. Close to the train station which made it even better. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion

Address: Via Il Prato 22r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#119 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#132 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Florence
Albion Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.