We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and very clean!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albion to your Saves list
Albion
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Il Prato 22r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff and very clean!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Albion for a week. staff, especially Sarah, the manager, was very friendly, helpful and assisted us with all of our needs; tourist information, and responded to all of our questions and concerns in a timely manner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbionFirenze, Responsabile reception at Albion, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear npls55405nl,
thanks a lot for your nice words...specially the ones about me!!!
I'm happy you had a good time and our advises worked well for you!
Even if you stayed one week I hope you still miss something to see in Florence...then that you will be back!!!
Grazie grazie ancora and see you soon I hope,
Sara Ravalli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    75
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
45
66
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Albion hotel is a small, family-run place, where they make you feel immediately at home. The owner is passionate about Tuscan painting and therefore all along the breakfast room, staircase and corridors you find lots of late 19th century and contemporary Tuscan landscapes, portraits etc. The rooms are spotless, the facilities are those of a small hotel, which will always try to help the customer in a constructive way. The rates are also very reasonable for a hotel so near the Church of Ognissanti, with its Giotto and the magnificent Last supper in the cloister. You can walk along the river and in less than ten minutes you reach the Ponte Vecchio. If you go there once, you are likely to choose the same place again, and again. I highly recommend it. It is a place with a great soul.

Room Tip: Maybe an internal room may be preferable in summer, because traffic can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbionFirenze, Responsabile reception at Albion, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Diago_34,
thanks a lot for your nice words!
I hope we will have you staying with us again and again...
ciao ciao a presto,
Sara Ravalli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Albion last week. We had an excellent experience there and we would say it was the best place we stayed out of the 4 places we stayed during our vacation in both Italy and France. The hotel is more of a bed and breakfast atmosphere than a hotel. If you are on a budget, it is a great place to stay. If you are looking for excellent service and wonderful, extremely friendly and helpful hosts, this is the place. The location was excellent for visiting most of the big sites in Florence and is very near the train station.

The hotel's decor and facility is rustic and without frills, but is very charming. There is no elevator and the rooms can be very noisy at times due to the noise of the street where the hotel is located. Ear plugs are a good idea.

The room was by far the largest we stayed in on our trip. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. The hairdryer in the room is ancient and will not be one most people would use. The towels seem odd at first, as they look like dish towels, but actually work extremely well.

The buffet breakfast is simple, but typical of the european breakfast buffets. The coffee service in the morning was excellent. The cappucinos were the best we had in any place!

The hotel albion is about 80E per night and we felt it was well worth the price. We were very happy to have stayed there and it was our favourite place of the 4 hotels in which we stayed. Sara and her father, Massimo were excellent hosts. It was the least expensive hotel we stayed in, but was the best by far.

If you are expecting the North American Hotel experience, you will not find it in many, if any, of the European Hotels, unless you are paying 500E a night and staying at the Westin or some place similar. If that is what you want, be prepared to spend a ton of money a night.

The few people that have complained about the hotel really seem to have expected the North American hotel experience and this is just simply unreasonable in Europe.

We really enjoyed our stay and we would highly recommend staying with Sara and Massimo, who were the bests hosts we stayed with, by far!

Room Tip: If possible, try not to get a room that is directly on the street corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

This little family-run hotel is around 300m
away from the train station. Rooms are clean and spacious. Staff were genuinely nice and friendly, especially Sara our very kind host! Will stay here again if I'm back in Florence.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I am about to head back to visit Firenze and will once again stay at the wonderful Albion Hotel! This family run hotel should not be missed if you are looking for the most friendly hoteliers in Florence! Sara and her father Massimo are gracious and welcoming, and you will feel like you are a member of their family immediately. Sara will help you with any reservations for museums, restaurants, or trains...She is unbelievably efficient! The hotel itself is in an old palazzo, and it very quirky! You will love the relaxed breakfasts, with different pastries each morning. It is just a short walk through lovely little streets or along the Arno to get to the historic center. I cannot recommend this hotel with any greater conviction! I am very much looking forward to returning in August!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I had been with a large group traveling to Milan and Florence staying at larger
hotels without much charm. I was able to extend my stay and break away from the group. It was extremely nice to walk into the hotel and be greeted so warmly. It was more like walking into a friend's home rather than checking into a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rufusFirenze, Direttore at Albion, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Keith,
it was really a pleasure to have you with us!!
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The Albion is our home as we stay there all the time...It is the best part of our job...to welcome the guests in a friendly way and to discover when they leave that you are saying goodbye to a friend. We hope to see soon again,
Massimo Ravalli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

the service here was excellent & very friendly.
the hotel is old world charm. The breakfast had a variety of food in a beautiful area full of lovely paintings.
Very clean with tea/coffee facilities & free wii fii.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rufusFirenze, Responsabile reception at Albion, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Roberta,
thanks a lot for your nice words! it is always nice to hear that people had a good time with us!
We hope to see you again soon!
Sara Ravalli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion

Address: Via Il Prato 22r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#132 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Florence
Albion Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.