We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family owned hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balcony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Balcony to your Saves list
Hotel Balcony
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via de' Banchi 3/29r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful family owned hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights in April. The hotel is located in the best location to see everything. It is very clean and the breakfast and cappuccinos were wonderful! The owners are very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    171
    37
    8
    0
See reviews for
73
205
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of Hotel Balcony is perfect. Everything is in walking distance. The rooms are very clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. My family and I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a small family managed property with walking distance to central station/shopping and Duomo. The ground floor has the sitting area for breakfast and rooms are on the 1st floor. The staff is friendly, rooms are clean. You can access the "balcony" from first floor which is open terrace. The breakfast spread for good the amount charged. The quality of toiletries is good.

The owner was kind enough to provide hot drinking water on request.

Would stay again if I visit Florence.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is great for the price. Easy 5 minute walk from the train station. Rooms are spacious and clean. Owner is very friendly. The restaurant next door has great Pizza. If you are traveling by car, parking may be an issue. Also, it's in the center of everything, so some street noise is expected. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there for one day with an excellent warm welcome by the son and the father. The owners were extremely helpful and kind. The location is excellent, next to the railway station and next to the main attraction as well. The balcony is excellent as well. So was the speed of the free internet. The only point which can be considered as point of improvisation is the sound insulation by the windows. Rest all is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Hotel is in a great position except if you are travelling by car. On very narrow road with no space to park in front of hotel to unload. After going up and down narrow streets in circles trying to find place to park we found parking garage nearby and walked back to hotel. They do have parking service but the cost was same as for parking garage so we left the car in the garage for the time we were in Florence. Position was great for seeing Florence as is virtually in the middle of everything. Breakfast was average, room was good size and the hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

My experience was xcellent in everything. The owners are very kind and helpful. The location is right in the centre and close to the train station. The rooms are clean and complete. The price was very good. I had a great time there and I would certainly stay there, if I'm going to Florence again, or suggest this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Balcony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcony

Address: Via de' Banchi 3/29r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Florence
#71 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#82 Family Hotel in Florence
#84 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Balcony 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balcony is located in the historical centre of Florence, very close to the Church of Santa Maria del Fiore and the Loggia dei Lanzi. The hotel occupies the entire first floor of an elegant and typically Florentine building, furnished in simple and sophisticated style. The common spaces available to guests include a large terrace with a panoramic view, from which it is possible to enjoy views of the spectacular Brunelleschi Dome. Our staff is available to help guests book tickets for museums, exhibitions, concerts and other cultural events, and to help guests organise tours through the Renaissance city and excursions to discover Tuscany and its surrounds. A rich sweet and savoury buffet breakfast, an internet point and a nearby garage with parking agreements, complete the broad range of services offered by Hotel Balcony in Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Balcony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balcony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.