We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chiazza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chiazza to your Saves list
Chiazza
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo Pinti, 5, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Modiin, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed at Borgo Pinti #7. The location is on a very narrow, grim street, not very inviting to come back to after touring. The only way to enter is by ringing the bell from the street and getting buzzed in via intercom by someone you can't see. The entry area in #7 is dark and musty and feels like a dungeon. We needed to park our car in a lot five minutes away for 20 Euro/day. We booked the room bec of the price but did not enjoy our stay there.

Room Tip: Perhaps the atmosphere in building #5 is nicer; don't stay in #7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maurorogai, Proprietario at Chiazza, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Google Translation
Gentili Signori
Riguardo la vostra recensione ci piace sottolineare quanto segue:-
a) Borgo Pinti, la via dove è locata la nostra struttura è una delle più antiche e storiche della città, transitata da una moltitudine di persone, molti turisti e lungo la quale sorgono alcuni fra i migliori Hotel della città, uno su tutti il FOUR SEASON e mai e sottolineamo mai è successo niente di spiacevole.-
b) Il campanello.- Non capiamo dove altro possa essere se non di fianco al portone di ingresso.- Il signore che vi ha risposto vi ha pregato di attendere per non farvi salire al secondo piano, dopodiché vi ha accompagnato al numero 7 dandovi le chiavi in modo da poter uscire e rientrare a piacimento.-
c)L'ingresso è quello tipico di un edificio storico del 1400.- La muffa è un falso facilmente verificabile.-
d) Il prezzo del garage (€ 20 per 24 ore) è assolutamente onesto in quanto normalmente si aggira sui 35-40 euro.-
e) Vi facciamo notare inoltre che avete scelto consapevolmente -Per motivi economici - di alloggiare in una sola camera quando noi nelle e-mail intercorse vi avevamo proposto due camere.- E' chiaro che dormire 5 adulti una sola camera anche se molto grande, qualche disagio lo possa creare. Vi ricordiamo che il costo della camera è stato di € 100 a notte - € 20 a persona.- Quindi il voto sul rapporto qualità prezzo è del tutto falso.-
Cordiali saluti
La direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at Chiazza for 3 nights and were very comfortable with the room, as it offered air conditioning, a decent sized room and bathroom, television, and a decent free breakfast. The room was in a great location, walking distance to all that Florence has to offer. We were able to find the hotel pretty easily walking from the main train station (about a 10 minute walk) using Google Maps. We went to the wine shop across the street from the hotel and were very impressed with the owner, Andrea, and the wine. Andrea went above and beyond to introduce us to the wines of Italy, going so far as to leave the shop (and us in charge!) to buy us some local cheese to pair with the wine. He was so kind and really made our trip to Florence feel more personal. A tip for seeing the Duomo is to go about 30 minutes before it opens and wait in line. The staff at the hotel was also very helpful, as we needed tickets printed out and they were able to accommodate this for us.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the room that is directly off of the breakfast room- would be quite nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

FIRST - TO FIND THIS PLACE: as others have mentioned, it's very hard to find despite being centrally located due to a lack of signage. JUST GET A CAB AND GO TO THE ADDRESS THAT THE HOTEL HAS ON ITS WEBSITE. If you can't do this - or cabbie can't find it by the address or hotel name - find the La Giostra Restaurant. The hotel is directly across the alley from it. There is a gold call box and click the button for the hotel to call up and be buzzed in. At that point, they'll give you keys so you can come and go as you please.

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2014 and had a fantastic experience. The room was VERY spacious for Italy and very clean. Had a private bathroom, shower, television, and a mini-fridge. It is within a 5 minute walk of the Duomo and the Academy (where the David statue is). It's 10 minute walk or less to the Ufezzi Museum and the Ponte Vecchio. It's 10 to 15 minute walk to the train and bus stop. The owners - Tony and Alba - along with the staff were REMARKABLY nice and helpful - especially Alba. She hand made delicious tiramisu and other cakes/pastries for breakfast - which by the way - is the best, largest, and most professionally run breakfast you'll get at any hotel, B & B, etc. anywhere in Italy. It's a first class operation, making this hotel an exceptional deal. The hotel, itself, is an old monastery dating back to the 1300's if I remember correctly. We got assigned the room closest to reception - which i hate because of noise - but had absolutely zero problems with noise or disturbances. Note that while they have A.C., it's not controllable in each room - it's just an overall AC unit that cools all the rooms at the same time and temp simultaneously.

PS - you must try the restaurant directly across the alley from the hotel called La Giostra. The best meal and experience we had in Italy and it wasn't close (although it was pricey for 2 at about 175 euros with appetizer, nice bottle of wine, desert, etc. but TOTALLY worth it). DO NOT try the place the hotel will recommend - can't remember the name but they'll give you a card for it - it's probably the worst we had. Touristy crap. It's like the restaurant has deals with all the hotels because you'll see other tourists from other hotels with the same card....

Room Tip: We got assigned the room closest to reception - which i hate because of noise - but had absolutely z...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I'd just like to start off by saying this was not my first trip to Italy or to Florence specifically. I've traveled pretty extensively in the country and I've stayed in all sorts of accommodations- everything from student dorms to hostels to B&Bs and 5 star hotels.
Also, I do my research fairly thoroughly when booking hotels. TripAdvisor has a pretty great rating for this place, I had checked some other websites previously as well and the place seemed like what our group of 5 was looking for. Clean, centrally located and budget friendly.

Here's the good stuff about this place: it is clean, and it's in the heart of Florence so you can walk pretty much anywhere.

The bad stuff: We booked the place on Hotels.com. I am still not sure who screwed us over, Hotels.com or the hotel itself, but we definitely got screwed. Basically, our booking confirmation was for a large suite-like room. It was supposed to have 3 separate 'areas', specifically mentioning a living room with a sofa bed, and separate rooms/areas for sleeping. The price we paid for the room was also reflective of this sort of accommodation. We actually had similar accommodations in Paris a week previously and the prices were practically the same, so nothing seemed off.

What we got was just one bedroom with 5 beds in it. It was pretty cramped, and we barely had space for opening suitcases etc. To top it off it was not in the main building, and was facing Borgo Pinti, which has a lot of bars that are busy till the early hours of the morning. If you happen to get a room facing the street, try your hardest to get moved somewhere else, because you are guaranteed to get woken up in the night by drunk revelers, or if you sleep through that, then definitely by the street cleaners/garbage trucks in the morning.
The room and bathroom were also very old, and had not been renovated in ages.

When we showed the front desk guy our printed confirmation with the description of what we had paid for, he said Hotels. com had made a mistake and they didn't have such accommodations at all. When I tried to push the issue a bit and asked about options and alternatives he basically started yelling at me and told me to stop wasting his time.
We then spoke to a nicer gentleman in the building we were staying at, his English was not so great, but he seemed genuinely confused by what was written in our booking confirmation. He even contacted Hotels.com on our behalf.

Overall, after re-reading some of the reviews on here again, this is what I can conclude: The sort of accommodation we had booked must exist at this place, because people on here have actually posted photos and talked about it. Honestly, either Hotels.com booked the wrong thing or everyone just gets shafted to this smelly, stuffy, noise and cramped room when everything else is booked in the hotel. Either way, it was a bit of a shock for us, and definitely made changing clothes, or coming in later, or even wanting to stay up and read a bit before going to sleep trickier for everyone and kind of put a damper on that portion of the trip.

Also, one word about the breakfast. They had milk and cereal, and the rest was basically super cheap pre-packaged supermarket bought pastries. So if you don't have a sweet tooth and don't like eating jam cookies for breakfast, you won't find much to eat.

When I was younger I'd backpacked through Italy and stayed in some pretty gnarly places. But what I remember fondly from even the hostels was they always served breakfast, and it always included a decent coffee and at least some fresh bread and butter to get you going. This place couldn't even manage that, which for Italy is pretty disappointing.

This place was nowhere near worth what we paid, even if it was in the city centre. Our experience with it- it was a very overpriced hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maurorogai, Proprietario at Chiazza, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
A HILARIOUS REVIEW

- It was the mistake of who made the reservation because he mixed up a room with a whole apartment as it is specified on the confirmation from Hotels.com, If you remember well we called together Hotels.com and they confirmed that our web-site shows the availability for rooms, and not apartments. The price you paid (Euro 27 per person) is lower than the medium price for Florence in this catergory, for this season for a ** hotel. So knowing the prices of Paris we find it hard to believe that you paid less for an apartment in Paris.

- The room you stayed in is perfect for families or groups of friends as its size is more that 30mq, double glassed windows, independant AC and black-out curtains. It was restaured in Tuscan style of 1400. The only little inconvenient could be some small scratches on the floor in the bathroom. No other guest ever told us about the odours you smelled, this is just not true and offensive.

- About what concerns breakfast: The coffe is of first choice quality, of what you find in all the higher categories. What we offer for breakfast is of high quality and normal standard for our category.

- At the moment we said good-bye only 1 person of your group seemed to be not satisfied. Maybe the one who made the wrong reservation?

Only to travel around the world does not mean to learn how to do it well.

We are sorry for the incomprehension and hope that you pay more attention to what you book in the future, to avoid unpleasant inconvenients for you, and your host.

Best regards,
the Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

At first we were put in the adjacent building with had no Internet as advertised, was damp and very small. We requested to move to the main building as Internet was pretty important to us. Wonderful Aida shifted us the very next day. The breakfast was good, the room was wonderful with large bathroom for Europe and bonus- we had a view of the duomo! What more could I ask for. Aida was very warm and answered all our questions about the history of the seventeen hundred's hotel building and even made several useful recommendations. It was a delightful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights on our trip around Italy. The experience started out pretty good, but ended on quite the negative note. After reading all the reviews, I knew what to look for when looking for the hotel so that wasn't much of an issue. We checked in and were shown to our room (suggestion - if you're traveling with someone else, leave them downstairs with the luggage until you check-in. It's not fun to schlep your bags up all the stairs only to discover you're staying in the building next door and have to carry them all the way down again).

Pros:
1. At check-in, the woman at the desk was very nice and helpful.
2. The breakfast was pretty good. Nothing to write home about but not bad. I suggest arriving earlier in the morning as you'll have more to choose from and your yogurt won't be warm (ick!).
3. Location! That's the main reason I even gave this place 3 stars. It's on a very safe street, super close to the Duomo, and has some great restaurants and bars in the area.

Cons:
1. It was a bit silly to discover that the wi-fi only worked in the main building. So those who stay in the main building get internet and those who stay next door don't - quite dumb.
2. Our room smelled like moldy, dirty water all the time and we had to ventilate for hours to at least minimize the smell.
3. Very unfortunate experience: On our second to last afternoon, we came home to our room to discover a dirty wet towel on the bed. All the other towels had been changed and folded, so it looked like the cleaning lady left it there while she was cleaning. Disgusting, but we moved it and got over it. Until the last afternoon when we came home to discover a dirty cleaning rubber glove on my boyfriends clothes!!! I was absolutely appalled and wanted to speak to management right then, but he told me to wait until check-out. So the next day I arrived to checkout and told the woman at the front what happened. She didn't even apologize initially but made it seem like she was calling the cleaning lady over (she never showed up). While this was happening, I was also trying to check out. First she admit that she didn't know how to use her hotels credit card machine and tried to maneuver things 3 different ways. Then she told me that the card didn't go through (mind you, this is the same card that went through for the pre-authorization and the one I had been using all over Italy). I needed to get out of there so I gave her another card that I brought only for emergencies and that one magically worked. At this point I've been there for about 15 minutes, the cleaning lady still hasn't shown up and the woman at the desk asks me about the city fees. And I said 'well before I finish with that, I'd like to know what's going to happen with the disgusting experience we had with our room'...she got very angry looking, as though how dare I imply they owe us something, but finally said 'ok, we pay your fees. You're done. Goodbye' and shoo-ed me out. Ten minutes later, I used that same card in another place in Florence and it worked. A few hours later I used it in a hotel in Venice that used the same credit card processing machine/system, and guess what? It worked. Obviously, the problem here was not with my card!.

Suffice it to say that I will not be recommending this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Florence. Even convenience is not worth that kind of poor customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival we were escorted from
Building 5 to building 7, up a pitch black corridor and stairs to another apartment.
This was clean but very out dated and noisy with shouting and banging from apartments below us. To be honest I didn't really feel safe.

There was a continuous noise from the bathroom and on inspection it was the toilet continuously filling. After a few attempted we managed to rig it to stop making the noise while we went to sleep. We were traveling, got in late and too tired to complain so put up with it for the first night.

In the morning we complained. The manager seemed to be expecting us an said they knew there was a problem. He thn gave us a room in building 5. No apology, he wouldn't even talk or look at us after that!

My boyfriend left his phone charger in the first room and asked reception if he could go and retrieve it. They said he couldn't as someone else was now in the room with the broken toilet.

The room in building 5 was much better. Modern, air con and could see the Duomo.

Breakfast was alright.. Some cereal, croissants and cakey things.

Great location - 15 mins walk from the train station and 5 mins from Duomo.

I would return if I could guarantee a room in building 5.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chiazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiazza

Address: Borgo Pinti, 5, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chiazza 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Chiazza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiazza Hotel Florence
Chiazza Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.