We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Lanzi

Save Saved
You added De Lanzi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Lanzi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Oche, 11, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #279 of 461 hotels in Florence
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group of 72. A very old hotel, but this is part of the European charm, metres away from the Duomo and therefore within walking distance of all the main attractions. The staff were all friendly and helpful, breakfast was average, but great. Our room was neat and tidy, lovely bathroom and a view on the Duomo. The aircon broke down one night, which was very unpleasant, but it was fixed the next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    87
    69
    21
    23
See reviews for
30
96
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Location of the hotel is very good but not very clean.The staff isn't related to the customer. Breakfast is good but the old woman in the breakfast room the customer relations so bad. The old woman warns clients ' you must leave that apple in the breakfast room'.. we don't like her attitude. The price is expensive compared to the quality of service and the hotel is so old. We don't stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel was in an excellent location, a couple of strides to Via de Calzaivoli and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions, as well as being close to the Arno River and Oltrarno. The room size was adequate as was the breakfast, although it was slightly uncomfortable having management watch over you as you ate.
The Reception desk was occupied 24/7.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here with friends for one night. We came by car and had decided to go on to Venice by train for one night. The staff was very helpful and arranged for our luggage and car to be looked after until we returned from Venice. The hotel couldnt have been more central with its location right next to the duomo.It took us ten minutes to walk to the train station, and all the other points of interest were close by. Rooms had a very good standard, and the breakfast was more international than the usual Italian breakfast you get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Ok we booked this hotel online the night before our stay. One of the requirements was it much have a Wi-Fi connection as we were booking our next few days accommodation and tours. On our arrival the impression of the dilapidated hotel was not a good one. It had the feeling of a converted hospital, very old (which is expected in Florence) but dirty as well. The Check in was slow even tho there we were the only guest checking in. by the time we had finished check in 2 other couples had been complaining about their rooms at the reception desk (not a good sign). I was on the verge of the flu, so we went upstairs. The elevator small and dirty with Maintenance desperately needed. Firstly the rooms are small (smaller than others we had stayed in at Europe) the bed spread was dirty so we didn’t use it. All the furniture was horrible, old and chipped. We strait away tried for the Wi Fi connection.. which we had to go down stairs to get because the Guy on reception didn’t understand English (we heard him speak some English down stairs later so apparently he was just to lazy to bring it tot he 3rd floor) THE WIFI DIDNT WORK. So while I was struggling with the flu, he had to spend 3 stressful hours trying to get the W-FI fixed with the staff down stairs. Basically they didn’t care. We had to sit in the lobby (the only place the W-FI worked) at 12;30 am. There was no apology.. Nothing. My husband went down stairs to check on the progress twice and both the men at reception were smoking in the court yard (which is attached to reception, gross) having a laugh and a chat. The rooms were so dirty. We woke up at 5am with breathing problems. We saw the cleaning lady on checkout .. not a surprise the rooms were dirty , her vacuum was from the 70's it was covered in dirt. The finale was at check out they wanted us to pay for the WIFI again!! The lady who booked us in obviously didn’t recorded it anywhere! This hotel should not even be operational. By far this was the worst hotel we have EVER stayed at. I also got the vibe that the staff new it was a horrible hotel. A tip for booking Europe hotels. Do not go by the images on websites always look at trip advisor and real peoples photos. The images on the website for this hotel are very misleading and are not representing the REALITY of this hotel. The location is not worth the sacrifice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonn
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for a quick shopping trip to Florence with a friend and was very happy with our choice. We were literally in the middle of things, one street away from the cathedral and loved the sound of the bells in the morning. The breakfast was also good by Italian standards, boiled eggs, ham, cheese and rolls , cornflakes, croissants, juice, yoghurt and fruit. Coffee from a machine but perfectly drinkable. Bedroom a decent size, clean bathroom, what more do you need? Shall stay here again next time am in Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my dad in a twin room and couldn't have been happier and had a fantastic view of the Duomo. The hotel is exactly what I was expecting for the price and loacation in a major tourist destination. The room was large and airy, with aircon but also windows that opened (would recommend closing at night due to street noise) Room was clean and serviced each day and the staff were all friendly (in their own italian way)

Having read previous reviews I am not sure what some people are expecting. If you want a fancy, recently refurbished hotel room that is in the centre of Florence then book a 5* star hotel. I bet it will be at least double the cost of this hotel. The hotel is not modern, it is located in a building in the old town of Florence and relects this. It is not neglected and is furbished how many 3 star hotel in the world would be. As for noise complaints you are staying in a city centre hotel around one of the largest churches so of course there is going to be bells ringing and people walking outside.

Definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again when back in Florence

Room Tip: For a good twin room ask for room 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Lanzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanzi

Address: Via delle Oche, 11, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Lanzi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Otel so you can book your De Lanzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanzi Florence
De Lanzi Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Lanzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.