We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giglio to your Saves list
Hotel Giglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Returning to this hotel for the 20 th time today. Wonderfully stylish rooms. Excellent friendly staff. Real home from home. Quiet street. Near to st Marco. Convenient for good restaurants near market area. Easy to walk to centre and all attractions.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    160
    33
    13
    1
See reviews for
156
255
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel was everything I had hoped to find in Florence, and more! This hotel is so charming and really added so much to our wonderful experience in Florence.
The owners are friendly and so helpful. They are very knowledgeable and provided useful advice for things to do in Florence like restaurants to go to, special events going on, and the best way to get around. The room we stayed in was very nice, in my opinion large, and had large door that opened to a balcony overlooking a garden.
Location of the hotel was very centrally located and you can easily walk throughout the city from this hotel.
On our last day, we were checking out and about to walk to train station with our luggage, and the owner actually ran back to his car to drive us to the airport and then refused a tip for his trouble.
Overall we were very impressed with this hotel and the staff and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Kentucky/Cincinnati OH area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My family and I stayed here for two nights and it was great. The room was spacious (especially for Italy's standards), the breakfast was great, and most of all, the staff were awesome. Everyone was very helpful and friendly, and really made our stay a pleasant one.
The hotel is nicely situated, only about a 10 minute walk from the Piazza del Duomo and 20 minutes or less from the Arno River. Lots of shopping and dining options are close by the Duomo as well.
I would recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay in Florence and do not necessarily need to stay within the immediate Piazza del Duomo area, as it is a short walk to all of Florence's sights and attractions.
For families with children, the hotel offers DVD's, books, and games within the lobby so that helps a lot. They are free to check out which is very nice. There is also an indoor play area close to the hotel, so if you have a young child and need them to burn off some energy, just ask the staff and they will show you to the place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

First of all, we came from Rome and Capri after wonderful experience in all hotels/B&Bs along our way so this review might be biased. We arrived around 9pm and were the second last to check in. We were given room 4, which is incredibly cramped, dated, badly insulated and dirty (take a second look at where they hang your towels before using them!). On average I stay in about 100-150 hotel rooms a year and I can absolutely say this room is THE worst I have experienced since early 2011. Hotel itself is located far and away from most sites and train stations (while still walkable, you will spend a lot of time lingering on some boring streets). On the plus side, all hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful and breakfasts are adequate (one more star here). So if you decide to stay here, do come and check in early. I believe the condition in room 4 (probably room 3 as well) qualifies for credit card dispute if you choose them based on pics they provide.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Arrived to Florence by train. Took a 10 min taxi ride to the hotel. Expect to pay between 8-12 euro depending on traffic. The hotel is located on the second floor. They have a tiny elevator, but if you have light luggages, I suggest you walk up the stairs. Marco and his wife welcomed us as soon as we arrived. They were very helpful and even provided recommendations on restaurants. The hotel is located near the center and even though the buses run in front of the hotel, walk and get to know the city.

The rooms: the hotel is old, but it is charming. The rooms are big compared to the other hotels a stayed in. We had a double room. The AC worked well. They have huge curtains that keep the light out in the mornings if you want to sleep. The restroom is small, like everywhere else you'll stay at. They provide you with three big towels and three hand towels. No wash cloths. You will also get shampoo, bar soap and shower caps. The hair dryer does not work very well, but that shouldn't be a big problem. The beds were firm, but comfortable to sleep in. The wifi is poor in the rooms, best to go the lobby if you want faster speeds.

Breakfast: the included breakfast buffet was good. They have pastries, cereals, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, tea, juice, coffee and water.

Check out was nice and smooth. Marco even offered us a ride to the train station!!! (Thanks Marco)

This is a great place to stay and I will recommend it to everyone I know.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I only stayed one night but from my experience, it was wonderful. The staff are very friendly and treat you like their only guest. Breakfast was standard fare for European breakfast buffets, but fresh and tasty. My room was large and spacious and very clean. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the Duomo and very convenient to restaurants and sidewalk cafes. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We arrived at this hotel having travelled from Rome, and after our experiences there, we weren't expecting very much. However, we were very pleasantly surprised! This hotel is a real gem with nicely decorated, traditional rooms and very helpful staff.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#50 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Otel, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.