We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giglio to your Saves list
Hotel Giglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My daughter and I spent 3 nights in Florence at this great little spot. We were dragging around about 50lbs of luggage each so were very excited to find an elevator as check in was on the second floor. Our room was beautifully appointed and everything worked including the shower. When we checked in, we asked them for suggestions about restaurants and they gave 6. We went to 3 of them and they were fantastic. Mimmos, Titos and La Burrasca. The hotel breakfast was incredible and they just kept bringing out more goodies. They had hard boiled eggs, meat, cheese, many different pastries and breakfast tarts. Great cappuccino too. The hotel was definitely within walking distance to the main historic areas. We loved our stay and would highly recommend. We also used the wireless daily and had no issues Face Timing back to the states.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    162
    34
    13
    1
See reviews for
156
257
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a real find, nothing fancy, just a clean, welcoming hotel with fantastic staff to match. The room we had was always clean and very spacious. The hotel is situated within a short walk from some amazing restaurants! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I've been staying here for five years now and I've never written a review. It's a gem of a hotel. The decor is a bit gloomy for my tastes, but I realise now how good it is as I had to stay at two other hotels recently and I realise now how good the Giglio is. Breakfast is fine but what makes the difference is that they care enough to make you a fresh cappuccino at breakfast - no stale filter coffee. The least gloomy rooms are at the front - I love those rooms 1&2. Great people!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a friend who was so enthusiastic that I booked it. It is on the second floor of an office building. Now that sounds unusual. The elevator is very small but adequate. The room we chose was "A". It is totally private and quiet. The room was large which is not usual in Italy. It had high ceilings and the aura spoke of Florence. Very stylish! The bathroom was very nice and clean,and the water pressure was really good. The air conditioner worked well. There was a refrigerator in the room. Big closet. But those are the physical details. Now comes the best part. Marco the owner, his wife, brother, and workers created a family environment in which we were welcomed to ask for any help or suggestions. At breakfast which was delicious, Marco would ask what our plans were for the day. He sat with us and helped us with buses and advice. Such attention to patrons I had never experienced. The bus stop is practically outside the door. Very easy to use. Marco left his hotel on the day we left during the busy breakfast time to drive us to the train station. What a wonderful time we had thanks to all the attention we received at Hotel Giglio.

Room Tip: Room A is like a private suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel a few years ago and when my wife and I decided to go back to Florence I booked this hotel without a second thought. I was glad to find nothing had changed since my first visit. The staff are still unbelievably friendly and helpful with everything from advice on where to go and how to get there, to even giving myself and my pregnant wife a lift to the train station when we were leaving. Really appreciated I must say. The hotel is about a twenty minute walk from the station and is in a great location. If you walk out the door, turn right and keep going pretty much straight you'll find your way to most of the major attractions in Florence. The bed and bath rooms are very large with plenty of space and kept very clean. Breakfast was one of the best we had in Italy, with plenty on offer. Free wifi was also a nice change to other hotels we stayed in on our trip. Overall, great staff, great location, and great value. I hope to go back again some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Once you have found out how to operate the TINY lift and reached the reception room, everything is almost perfect. The owner and his brother were the first people we came in contact with and they could not have been more helpful. The room was large with A/C, and the bathroom was almost as big. It is probably time to buy a new bed as this was not the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in.

Breakfast each morning was wonderful with plenty to choose from and most of it healthy. Recommendations for dinner were exactly right, and directions for getting around were very accurate. Although it is a 15 minute walk from the Duomo, we did not find this at all inconvenient, and it is probably quieter than being in the heart of the city. We would definitely return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are a family of 4 who spent 5 nights at the Hotel Giglio in July..It was a 20min walk from the train station,Located on the 2nd floor of an older style building, we very warmly greeted by the Lovely Luca who checked us in..offered us a complimentary drink..Our room (No 18) was very spacious with high ceilings..bed was a bit creaky, but we all had good sleeps during our stay,Free Wi-Fi was good, and Breakfast was more than enough..Marco who is one of the owners with his brother and Marco's wife were excellent hosts at Breakfast time..Gave us many tips on where to eat, what to see and do..after checking out, we were making our way to the train station when a large van was beeping his horn and turned in in front of us..It was Marco, who gave us a lift to the train station..and he would not accept any money for his wonderful gesture..Florence is one city we would return to and we would definetly stay again at the Hotel Giglio..Cannot speak Highly enough of the Hotel and the Fantastic Staff..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Florence
#54 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.