We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giglio to your Saves list
Hotel Giglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 days here. The owner was delightful and full of recommendations and advice. He helpfully marked up our map telling us where to go. He even gave us a lift to the train when we left! Our room was huge and clean, it was a quad overlooking the front door. It was quiet. Breakfast was European and fresh and good and they were happy to let us take breakfast back to our layabed teenager. Its a bit of a hike from downtown, especially to come back to change and then go off back near the river to dinner again. But not so far as to need a bus or cab. The wifi was inconsistant but it never actually cut out. A great visit. It was almost like staying with a local friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    176
    38
    14
    1
See reviews for
169
270
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The room and bath were good size, and very comfortable; the location was a bit of a hike into the city center, but the bus was very close; the staff was more than helpful. All together a good place to stay in Florence

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We felt very much at home at this Hotel. The Management and staff were genuinely helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast in a delightful dining room. Comfortable room and bed. This is an older style hotel, entry of which is by the first floor. There is an elevator. Location is excellent. Furthermore, upon preparing to leave the hotel for the train station, we were unexpectedly and pleasantly surprised by the Manager (or owner) offering - and in fact taking us together with our luggage to the station in his own vehicle. Upon offering to pay for the ride, I was told "No! This is free." We had not experienced such kindness above the call of duty from a hotel before. Beautiful people!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I found Hotel Giglio using reviews on trip advisor and the hotel, in my experience, lived up to its reviews. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I traveled with my friend and baby. They were very accommodating to our needs. The bathroom was newly renovated. The air conditioning worked well. And the locale was not too far from the city's center. I would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Giglio is outstanding. Best service of any place during our three week, seven hotel vacation, and we stayed in many good hotels with great service. Loved the staff, and the rooms are huge and quiet. Would recommend wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This is an older style hotel within 10 minutes easy walk of the Museum housing the real David along with the Duomo. The hotel is exceptionally clean and all the staff spoke perfect English and super helpful with advice and recommendations of sight seeing attractions. Breakfast was exceptional, rooms very quiet and have private bathrooms and reverse cycle aircon. Marco and his team really do provide service above and beyond expectations. We will be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was overall 3 to 4 star. The staff was helpful and spoke good English. The room was good size for a quad. The main problem was old uncomfortable beds. The other problem was a shower/tub with only half a shower curtain. You had to stand in corner to keep from getting water on the floor. Location was very good to walk to Duomo and Uffici gallery. Bus stop was close and train station only 10 minute cab ride.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#67 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.