We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giglio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Giglio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 461 hotels in Florence
Woodinville Washington USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value and perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent a week at Hotel Giglio. This lovely little hotel has it all for a traveler looking for good value, great location, and terrific service. Located on Via Cavour, a main street but not too noisy, Hotel Giglio is about 1 block past San Marco and less than 10 minute walk to the Duomo and the historic center of Florence. You’ll find convenient and tasty restaurants in the neighborhood, as well as a grocery store and laundromat about 3 blocks away on Via San Gallo.
Husband and wife team of Marco and Manuela, and their family, offer their guests a warm welcome and great service. Marco runs the front desk providing guests with helpful touring info for Florence, and beyond while Manuela oversees a hearty breakfast in their charming breakfast room. The breakfast was my favorite of the 3 hotels we visited on this trip; fresh croissants, pastries and breads, several kinds of meats and cheeses, fresh fruit salad, cereals, yogurt, and cappuccino, of course. Their hospitality truly is above and beyond any other European hotel I have visited. Both my husband I caught nasty colds and Marco and Manuela did everything they could to make us comfortable.
We stayed in room A, overlooking the back garden. It was sparkling clean, spacious with a mini-fridge, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was modern with a great shower. I did peak into several other rooms and they all looked clean, and well maintained. Other guests commented to me about how clean their rooms were. Remember this is Europe, where hotels fit into existing older buildings so don’t expect modern cookie-cutter rectangles, but that is part of the charm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    156
    31
    13
    1
See reviews for
152
242
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived Florence S.M.N from Venice via an afternoon stop in Bologna. On arrival, I called the hotel to ask if it was walking distance from the train station. Her advice was to take a taxi. We took a much longer route than the map would have us believe but it turned out that we were circumnavigating a lot of one way streets - all going in the wrong direction, of course. Nonetheless, it was a Euro 11.00 cab ride with four of us and luggage.

Initially, we were put off by the entrance and dated appearance. And when we saw the ancient elevator (lift), I started wondering what was the hotel's redeeming feature(s). I had picked this hotel after reviewing Trip Advisor. But we were efficiently checked in by the young lady on duty and found our way to our rooms, which reminded me of some of the rooms I stayed in when I traveled Europe as a college student in 1966.

But it was spacious with an old wooden bedstead, a free standing armoir and a desk. The desk is cramped as it has a large flat screen TV on it and a receiver while it had a mini fridge under it, leaving very little space on the desk for a laptop and room for a chair. The bathroom is spacious enough and is updated with tiles. There is a shelf next to the sink barely large enough to hold the necessities and precariously positioned over the toilet. Be sure to keep the toilet lid down! But there is no shelf in the shower. Note to the proprietors: they make plastic corner units that can be screwed into the grout lines or with adhesive strips to apply to the tile. They are quite convenient and mitigates leaning over to retrieve shampoos and body wash from the floor and potential for falling down.

The breakfast is the usual European fare - breads, cheeses, cold cuts, cereals and fruit. Take a pass on the "red orange" juice; it's nothing but colored sugar water, or what we call in the food business "belly wash."

Quality control is probably in order here concerning the housekeeping. The floors appeared clean until walking over them with white socks.

The proprietors - Marco and his wife - are very hospitable and make this stay enjoyable. It is a 15 minute walk straight down Cavour Street to the Duomo and then on to Ponte Del Vechio.

The crowing jewel: Marco bundled us all into his van and took us to the train station on departure. There a re a gazillion hotels in Florence, but you really can't go wrong staying in the Hotel Giglio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My partner and i chose this hotel after reading many positive reviews on trip advisor. We found the staff extremely helpful with given us directions around the city (provided maps etc) and the room very clean. It was also located in walking distance to all the sights and restaurants etc. The WIFI was excellent - and breakfast was adequate. Apon check out, the owner drove us to pick up our hire car and was very helpful which saved us some euro for not having to catch a taxi. If there was 1 thing that we were a little unsatisfied about was the bed. The bed was not so comfortable and a little hard.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Really, the people staff could not be more helpful and gracious. Our room is fantastic, charming and not at all generic, and much larger than I had expected (although not LARGE). The breakfast is varied and copious, with a wonderful fresh fruit salad. Florence can feel a bit like a consumerist theme park, and this hotel is just close enough to be able to visit everything easily and just removed enough so that you can remove yourself from the tourist frenzy. PS As part of a gay couple I felt completely welcome here; one never knows.

Room Tip: room A was lovely; up a flight of stairs that takes you ONLY to this room. A bathroom that is far e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We enjoyed the personal service and advice of the owners.Although we had been to Florence before we were pleased to find new places away from the crowds,as suggested by Marco .The hotel room we had was spacious if basic but was a pleasant change from the usual hotels on offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It really depends what you are after? Staff were fantastic, friendly, there was a kids play area with play station and DVDs for the room. However the rooms were VERY noise sensitive, almost unbearable especially at night. Clean for sure and beds comfortable. But wifi didnt work in our room at the end of the corridor. Sheets and doona had old stains and marks. Breakfast was appalling -hard stale bread, old fruit, no milk was even put out. However if you're young backpackers or young family maybe this is great! But other than that I would not recomed it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Upon arrival, this hotel was a little daunting since the front desk is located on the second floor. There is a tiny (one person) manual service elevator to use to load your luggage in order to avoid lugging it up the stairs. There are no signs when entering from the street level, but the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Close to the city center and the Accademia and all of the other sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Florence
#50 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.