We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New is not necessary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giglio to your Saves list
Hotel Giglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 418 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
435 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“New is not necessary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived Florence S.M.N from Venice via an afternoon stop in Bologna. On arrival, I called the hotel to ask if it was walking distance from the train station. Her advice was to take a taxi. We took a much longer route than the map would have us believe but it turned out that we were circumnavigating a lot of one way streets - all going in the wrong direction, of course. Nonetheless, it was a Euro 11.00 cab ride with four of us and luggage.

Initially, we were put off by the entrance and dated appearance. And when we saw the ancient elevator (lift), I started wondering what was the hotel's redeeming feature(s). I had picked this hotel after reviewing Trip Advisor. But we were efficiently checked in by the young lady on duty and found our way to our rooms, which reminded me of some of the rooms I stayed in when I traveled Europe as a college student in 1966.

But it was spacious with an old wooden bedstead, a free standing armoir and a desk. The desk is cramped as it has a large flat screen TV on it and a receiver while it had a mini fridge under it, leaving very little space on the desk for a laptop and room for a chair. The bathroom is spacious enough and is updated with tiles. There is a shelf next to the sink barely large enough to hold the necessities and precariously positioned over the toilet. Be sure to keep the toilet lid down! But there is no shelf in the shower. Note to the proprietors: they make plastic corner units that can be screwed into the grout lines or with adhesive strips to apply to the tile. They are quite convenient and mitigates leaning over to retrieve shampoos and body wash from the floor and potential for falling down.

The breakfast is the usual European fare - breads, cheeses, cold cuts, cereals and fruit. Take a pass on the "red orange" juice; it's nothing but colored sugar water, or what we call in the food business "belly wash."

Quality control is probably in order here concerning the housekeeping. The floors appeared clean until walking over them with white socks.

The proprietors - Marco and his wife - are very hospitable and make this stay enjoyable. It is a 15 minute walk straight down Cavour Street to the Duomo and then on to Ponte Del Vechio.

The crowing jewel: Marco bundled us all into his van and took us to the train station on departure. There a re a gazillion hotels in Florence, but you really can't go wrong staying in the Hotel Giglio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My partner and i chose this hotel after reading many positive reviews on trip advisor. We found the staff extremely helpful with given us directions around the city (provided maps etc) and the room very clean. It was also located in walking distance to all the sights and restaurants etc. The WIFI was excellent - and breakfast was adequate. Apon check out, the owner drove us to pick up our hire car and was very helpful which saved us some euro for not having to catch a taxi. If there was 1 thing that we were a little unsatisfied about was the bed. The bed was not so comfortable and a little hard.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Really, the people staff could not be more helpful and gracious. Our room is fantastic, charming and not at all generic, and much larger than I had expected (although not LARGE). The breakfast is varied and copious, with a wonderful fresh fruit salad. Florence can feel a bit like a consumerist theme park, and this hotel is just close enough to be able to visit everything easily and just removed enough so that you can remove yourself from the tourist frenzy. PS As part of a gay couple I felt completely welcome here; one never knows.

Room Tip: room A was lovely; up a flight of stairs that takes you ONLY to this room. A bathroom that is far e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treasurepv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
220 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We enjoyed the personal service and advice of the owners.Although we had been to Florence before we were pleased to find new places away from the crowds,as suggested by Marco .The hotel room we had was spacious if basic but was a pleasant change from the usual hotels on offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IJDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

It really depends what you are after? Staff were fantastic, friendly, there was a kids play area with play station and DVDs for the room. However the rooms were VERY noise sensitive, almost unbearable especially at night. Clean for sure and beds comfortable. But wifi didnt work in our room at the end of the corridor. Sheets and doona had old stains and marks. Breakfast was appalling -hard stale bread, old fruit, no milk was even put out. However if you're young backpackers or young family maybe this is great! But other than that I would not recomed it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank becjvallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Upon arrival, this hotel was a little daunting since the front desk is located on the second floor. There is a tiny (one person) manual service elevator to use to load your luggage in order to avoid lugging it up the stairs. There are no signs when entering from the street level, but the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Close to the city center and the Accademia and all of the other sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank from_texas_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This Hotel was a pleasant surprise. Located on a second floor with a tiny elevator, the rooms were spacious and breakfast each morning with owner Marco was a delight. Close enough to the city center to be a short walk from all of the sights and activities without the overwhelming crowds. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Romagna
Hotel Romagna
#209 of 418 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,488 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#55 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#22 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 3,077 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#42 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Florence
#82 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing