We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giglio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Giglio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Venere.com
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 459 hotels in Florence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My partner and i chose this hotel after reading many positive reviews on trip advisor. We found the staff extremely helpful with given us directions around the city (provided maps etc) and the room very clean. It was also located in walking distance to all the sights and restaurants etc. The WIFI was excellent - and breakfast was adequate. Apon check out, the owner drove us to pick up our hire car and was very helpful which saved us some euro for not having to catch a taxi. If there was 1 thing that we were a little unsatisfied about was the bed. The bed was not so comfortable and a little hard.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    142
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
144
231
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Really, the people staff could not be more helpful and gracious. Our room is fantastic, charming and not at all generic, and much larger than I had expected (although not LARGE). The breakfast is varied and copious, with a wonderful fresh fruit salad. Florence can feel a bit like a consumerist theme park, and this hotel is just close enough to be able to visit everything easily and just removed enough so that you can remove yourself from the tourist frenzy. PS As part of a gay couple I felt completely welcome here; one never knows.

Room Tip: room A was lovely; up a flight of stairs that takes you ONLY to this room. A bathroom that is far e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We enjoyed the personal service and advice of the owners.Although we had been to Florence before we were pleased to find new places away from the crowds,as suggested by Marco .The hotel room we had was spacious if basic but was a pleasant change from the usual hotels on offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It really depends what you are after? Staff were fantastic, friendly, there was a kids play area with play station and DVDs for the room. However the rooms were VERY noise sensitive, almost unbearable especially at night. Clean for sure and beds comfortable. But wifi didnt work in our room at the end of the corridor. Sheets and doona had old stains and marks. Breakfast was appalling -hard stale bread, old fruit, no milk was even put out. However if you're young backpackers or young family maybe this is great! But other than that I would not recomed it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Upon arrival, this hotel was a little daunting since the front desk is located on the second floor. There is a tiny (one person) manual service elevator to use to load your luggage in order to avoid lugging it up the stairs. There are no signs when entering from the street level, but the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Close to the city center and the Accademia and all of the other sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This Hotel was a pleasant surprise. Located on a second floor with a tiny elevator, the rooms were spacious and breakfast each morning with owner Marco was a delight. Close enough to the city center to be a short walk from all of the sights and activities without the overwhelming crowds. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our Italy vacation and it was the highlight of all our accommodations. We absolutely loved this place! The staff was the friendliest people you will ever come across. Very welcoming. The breakfast was great. A great quiet location close to the heart of Florence. I would never stay at another place if I ever get the chance to visit Florence. You won't find a better place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence
Address: Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.