We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quaint hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giglio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Giglio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 461 hotels in Florence
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice quaint hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Upon arrival, this hotel was a little daunting since the front desk is located on the second floor. There is a tiny (one person) manual service elevator to use to load your luggage in order to avoid lugging it up the stairs. There are no signs when entering from the street level, but the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Close to the city center and the Accademia and all of the other sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    154
    29
    13
    1
See reviews for
152
239
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This Hotel was a pleasant surprise. Located on a second floor with a tiny elevator, the rooms were spacious and breakfast each morning with owner Marco was a delight. Close enough to the city center to be a short walk from all of the sights and activities without the overwhelming crowds. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our Italy vacation and it was the highlight of all our accommodations. We absolutely loved this place! The staff was the friendliest people you will ever come across. Very welcoming. The breakfast was great. A great quiet location close to the heart of Florence. I would never stay at another place if I ever get the chance to visit Florence. You won't find a better place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After travelling for 3 weeks in Europe my fiance and I stayed here and it was a warm and refreshing atmosphere. The owners and staff are extremely helpful and give you plenty of advice about great places to visit and restaurants to eat at etc. Tito's is our favourite, just around the corner from the hotel. If you want a hotel that is financially cost effective, has clean and comfortable rooms and a great location with unbelievable staff then this is the place for you. Just look at all the reviews, made by real people, and I expect generally down to earth travellers. As for location, absolutely perfect.....a short walk from the main train station and five minutes from the Duomo. Magnifico....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel Giglio is one of the nicest and friendliest hotels my family and I have ever stayed at. We spent 6 nights there. Our rooms were very clean with big ensuite bathrooms and extremely comfortable beds.
The buffet breakfast provided was excellent and varied. Their cappuccinos were delicious too!
The owners Marco and Manuella are a charming couple and made us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The other staff were also friendly and helpful too. On the day we left Marco kindly gave us a lift to the train station but he would not accept any money for his trouble.
The hotel is in a very good location and within short walking distance to the main tourist sights. If we visit Florence again we will definitely stay here without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very nice place to stay in Florence, the hotel owners and staff were very welcoming and friendly. It felt like going to stay with friends. The room was quaint, bed was comfortable, breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and we felt at home. There were movies, games and toys in the lobby for our 5-year old daughter to play with.. Very family friendly in general! To top it all, one of the owners (Marco), gave us a ride to the train station. Beautiful experience; look forward to returning there many more times in the future. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Giglio and we loved it there. The front desk staff were so helpful. The first day we were there, he highlighted a map, circled and named some great restaurants, recommended places to visit. We walked the whole day and followed his recommendations and they were all great! The rooms have very tall ceilings so feel very spacious. We appreciated all the free DVDs so that we could relax after walking all day! The breakfast was delicious. The location is convenient to many of the sites, especially the market! We will definitely come back next time we visit Florence!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.