We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to look elsewhere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giglio to your Saves list
Hotel Giglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No need to look elsewhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent customer service. Clean and top notch amenities. Good location. Accompanying breakfast with variety.

All staff working there were extremely friendly and helpful. When we first arrived the staff was extremely warm and friendly, got the room ready and gave us lots of advice. He brought our bags to the room, showed us how to open the ceiling to floor windows and gave some advice about Florence sights. The other staff were just as friendly and helpful, whether we needed to book a restaurant, arrange a trip or get to the airport.

Place was clean. TV+DVD, wifi everywhere. Washroom was also really nice. What you expect from a 4 star hotel.

Location - brisk walk to where you needed to go yet still quiet place for accomodations.

Breakfast - lots of variety, free and they make you coffee etc.

If I ever go to Florence again this will be my #1 place to stay.

Nothing negative to say about this.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    162
    34
    13
    1
See reviews for
156
257
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great Location, was our third city of our holiday, and was the only city where we never used public transportation. We just walked to everywhere. (So no need to but those public transportation passes as you will not need them, unless you hate walking - but then again you will miss all the beautiful sights if you didn't walk around). The people at the desk are all very friendly and helpful - restaurant suggestions, tour suggestions and events in the city during the time we were there were all given to us.

This place had the most food for breakfast that we stayed at for our entire trip, although for me (a bit of a health nut though not so bad when on vacation), it was too much of carbs and sugar - pastries, bread, cereals, NUTELLA :) cake and fruits - but still it was buffet style and you can get as much as you want if you wanted to.

About a 20min walk to the main train station, pleasant 10-minute walk to the Duomo / Mercato area.

Rooms very basic and simple but was ok. I liked the huge windows that made it feel like a was really somewhere in Italy :) (picture attached)

Only thing maybe is that the rooms farther from the front desk had very weak almost zero wifi.... but then once you are in the common area/ breakfast area, wifi was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A bit on the outskirts, but not too far out. Only a 10 minute walk to the Accademia where the statue of David is located, for example.
It's a very quiet hotel and quite safe. The staff is most pleasant. It's nothing fancy, but it has all the basic amenities (wifi, breakfast, TV, hair dryer, air conditioning, heater, dvd player). For 70 Euro a night, I think it's a good deal, and I can spend the money I saved on hotel on some nice Italian shoes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a great stay in this hotel, the staff were friendly and very helpful - recommended some great restaurants and even drove us back to the train station. The room might be a little basic, but it was clean, everything worked and the shower was great. Breakfast was lovely and included some very yummy cakes! The reception area of the hotel had a computer that is free to use for guests and a selection of DVD’s (the rooms have a TV and DVD player)
The hotel is in a great location too, the Duomo is just a 10 minute walk down the road. I will stay here again when returning to Florence!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Pros:
1) The owners were really nice, they were genuinely interested in us and even drove us to the airport.
2) The room was clean and functional.
3) We arrived very late and check-in was quick and easy.
4) Well located, near the major museums, cathedral and train station.
5) There is a public computer.

Cons:
1) Could have had more choice for breakfast.
2) Staff were generally nice, however, staff were more helpful and nice when the owners were around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It was located where there was easy walking access to so many important places, like , Il Duomo, the Uffizzi the Accademia,and the Ponte Vecchio .The decorations and the rooms are stunningly beautiful and the beds very comfortable. All in all, a wonderful choice and reasonable in price. All the personnel,was very helpfull.
We'll come back to the Giglio

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this stay last minute on the phone. They were excellent and had the room ready for us upon arrival. When we asked for a room away from the street, they gave us a triple that was on the courtyard. Staff is great, they speak English and are very helpful. The breakfast is very good, as well. While the hotel is a little out of the tourist area, it only 3 blocks from the Academia. The room, the staff and the comfort make the walk worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.