We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most accommodating hosts and wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giglio to your Saves list
Hotel Giglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Rome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Most accommodating hosts and wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Host/owner even helped park car which seems to be challenging for me in Europe.
Carried our luggage, recommended an excellent restaurant. Breakfast was delicious.
Location superb for seeing the Academy and Duoma and shopping. Only negative was
hotel is up one story and room a bit small but it is an old building. Bathroom/shower excellent. They have a nice bar and offer to make you a cappuccino. A great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    162
    34
    13
    1
See reviews for
156
257
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We arrived in Florence without a reservation. Not a great start. We found the hotel Giglio as a recommendation by some staff at an office we walked past. On arrival to the Hotel Giglio we were somewhat concerned as it did not look like a hotel. However, the owners were the kind of people you only read about in books. Noticing we were tired, offered refreshments from their frige. A family run hotel , friendly, helpful, amazing breakfast, spotlessly clean rooms, (room on the small side but the bed was very comfortable , so that made up for the room size). Amazing breakfast, fresh coffee, beautiful greeting everytime. Its like going to a family home with all the trimmings of home comfort, a haven from the outside world. On the day we left, they were concerned that we might be late for the airport as the taxi had not arrived, even offered to drive us , that is going the extra mile.
Highy recommend this small and comfortable hotel. Price excellent value.

Room Tip: Ring ahead and book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We usually stayed in 2-star hotels, so this was more expensive than usual for us, but probably not for its class. It was very clean and well-maintained, but what set it apart for us was Marco, a co-owner with his wife and brother. The other staff was friendly and hospitable, but Marco, who speaks very good English, was one of the most helpful, capable and energetic people I've ever met, and a great resource for us. Not to mention interesting and enjoyable. The hotel's guestbook is full of comments from others attesting to the same experience. And the lobby has a ton of travel books left by guests that you can use.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Hotel Giglio was wonderful - convenient location, only 10 minutes walk from Piazza del Duomo, room and bathroom were very clean, continental breakfast was good and included a wide selection of products. Marco and his staff were very helpful and friendly and gave excellent advice for sightseeing, shopping, restaurants, helped to book museum tickets etc. I would definitely stay there again and would also recommend to anyone. Mille grazie!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I wish I could give more than an excellent review. We arrived tired after travelling from Venice. After noticing our fatigue we were told to sit down andwe were brought a cappuccino. A perfect touch! The staff is helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. The location is perfect. We walked everywhere. The room was large with high ceilings, clean, and comfortable. Not a trace of mildew was found in the bathroom (a problem with the hotel in Rome) There are two laptops guests can use. The day we left the owner, Marco Tung, drove us to the train station. It was a perfect end to a wonderful stay in Florence.
I would definitely recommend this hotel. If we are fortunate enough to return to Florence one day we will be staying here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Great location! The most helpful staff ever!!!! my first tripadvisor review solely for the fact that i would do anything to help this place out. Fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, KY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Our family of four stayed at the hotel Giglio for two nights in mid-June. Our quad room was very spacious, clean, and quiet. The hospitality and service shown to us by the staff was outstanding! From the hotel, it was about a 15-20 minute brisk walk to the center of town, but it was worth the walk to stay at the Hotel Giglio.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Cavour 85, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Florence
#54 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.