We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been happier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villani to your Saves list
Hotel Villani
Via delle Oche, 11, 50122 Florence, Italy (Duomo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could not have been happier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Where to start. We saw this was boutique hotel and had smaller rooms, which was true. However, location is terrific and once you know where it is easy to find again. Our room overlooked the Duomo which was breathtaking. Clean and anything we asked for they accommodated. Price was reasonable. Señor Villani could not be nicer and any advice we asked he helped up with including transportation, restaurant suggestions, etc. also, best gelato in Italy right across the street!!

Internet connection was terrific although longest password I ever typed in..lol.

Only negatives is breakfast in disappointing. Also tv is a small computer screen but this did not matter to us as we wouldn't have watched anyway.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
16
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We loved our stay at the Villani Hotel. We had the most beautiful view of the Duomo whose bells were our alarm in the morning to get up and out and see. We were looked after in every respect in a kindly way. The sheets were lovely and cotton and wonderful to fall into after our long lovely walks in Florence. The location is amazing. But truly most of all is the kindness of the staff. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Villani for our 2 nights in Florence. We chose this hotel due to its location and it was perfect! We loved that we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. We had a room with an amazing view of Il Duomo (I think maybe Room 41?). Although the room itself was rather simple, it had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. The owner was friendly and provided recommendations. We also loved the rooftop terrace with a gorgeous view of Florence. We fell in love with Florence and would definitely consider staying here again on a future trip.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Last two days of business trip in Italy, I spent here. Hotel is beyond my words. I cannot fault this place on any part during my entire stay. I would classify it as a five-star hotel in all the respects. The room I was provided was modern, incredible and comfortable. It had everything which I needed. Staff was very kind, polite and friendly all the times. Room service was prompt and food was good. It is a very beautiful and elegantly appointed hotel. Roof terrace really looks stunning at night. I loved this place and will definitely come again with my family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

After a lot of discussion, we all planned a 10 days vacation in Italy and decided to visit Florence city first. The city is very beautiful and Hotel Villani the place, which we booked for accommodation, was - just superb!! It is an elegant hotel appointed with all the luxurious amenities and is very close to the major attractions of the city. Room which we got was spacious, clean and had a great bathroom. One of our friends had some issues regarding mattresses, the staff immediately changed it. They really value their guest. We had a great time there and would definitely recommend this place to our other friends and family members.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews found here. We got to the hotel to find it smelled horrible, there was a man passed out in the lobby and a very dirty space. We asked to see a room and found it to be unacceptable so we thanked the man at the desk and found a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This gem of a hotel is one block from the Domo, and a quick walk from the metro station. (Get good directions from Erminio and you'll definitely find it). The location was perfect. We spent 3 nights there in October 2012. Request a front room with a view of the Domo. There is also a really nice roof-top terrace. The only thing we didn't like was the shower in the bathroom - it's really small, similar to cruise ship showers. Other than the shower, we loved this place and will definitely stay there again. It's a great value for the price. The best gelato place in Florence is right across the street from the Villani. The owner/host, Erminio, was very helpful and hospitable. A car is definitely not needed. Florence is a wonderful city to experience on foot.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a view of the Domo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#301 of 457 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#151 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#218 of 457 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#67 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#202 of 457 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#290 of 457 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villani

Address: Via delle Oche, 11, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.