We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villani
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villani to your Saves list
Via delle Oche, 11, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 461 hotels in Florence
Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Such a nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We loved our stay at the Villani Hotel. We had the most beautiful view of the Duomo whose bells were our alarm in the morning to get up and out and see. We were looked after in every respect in a kindly way. The sheets were lovely and cotton and wonderful to fall into after our long lovely walks in Florence. The location is amazing. But truly most of all is the kindness of the staff. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
14
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Villani for our 2 nights in Florence. We chose this hotel due to its location and it was perfect! We loved that we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. We had a room with an amazing view of Il Duomo (I think maybe Room 41?). Although the room itself was rather simple, it had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. The owner was friendly and provided recommendations. We also loved the rooftop terrace with a gorgeous view of Florence. We fell in love with Florence and would definitely consider staying here again on a future trip.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Last two days of business trip in Italy, I spent here. Hotel is beyond my words. I cannot fault this place on any part during my entire stay. I would classify it as a five-star hotel in all the respects. The room I was provided was modern, incredible and comfortable. It had everything which I needed. Staff was very kind, polite and friendly all the times. Room service was prompt and food was good. It is a very beautiful and elegantly appointed hotel. Roof terrace really looks stunning at night. I loved this place and will definitely come again with my family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

After a lot of discussion, we all planned a 10 days vacation in Italy and decided to visit Florence city first. The city is very beautiful and Hotel Villani the place, which we booked for accommodation, was - just superb!! It is an elegant hotel appointed with all the luxurious amenities and is very close to the major attractions of the city. Room which we got was spacious, clean and had a great bathroom. One of our friends had some issues regarding mattresses, the staff immediately changed it. They really value their guest. We had a great time there and would definitely recommend this place to our other friends and family members.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews found here. We got to the hotel to find it smelled horrible, there was a man passed out in the lobby and a very dirty space. We asked to see a room and found it to be unacceptable so we thanked the man at the desk and found a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This gem of a hotel is one block from the Domo, and a quick walk from the metro station. (Get good directions from Erminio and you'll definitely find it). The location was perfect. We spent 3 nights there in October 2012. Request a front room with a view of the Domo. There is also a really nice roof-top terrace. The only thing we didn't like was the shower in the bathroom - it's really small, similar to cruise ship showers. Other than the shower, we loved this place and will definitely stay there again. It's a great value for the price. The best gelato place in Florence is right across the street from the Villani. The owner/host, Erminio, was very helpful and hospitable. A car is definitely not needed. Florence is a wonderful city to experience on foot.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a view of the Domo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pine mountain, ga
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

There are many choices for accommodation in Florence. I am really happy to have settled on Hotel Villani. I wanted convenience to attractions, clean, reasonable comfort, a reasonable degree of quiet, and breakfast with coffee to begin each day. Hotel Villani delivers on all counts, plus, as everyone raves about, the rooftop terrace with a view directly onto the Duomo, and Brunelleschi's incredible dome. It was definitely exhilarating to sit there, having a glass of wine, listening to the church bells, and feeling the magic of Florence seep into your pores. Breakfast is taken indoors with another direct view of that amazing dome. Erminio serves gigantic croissants and large cups of cappuccino to start your day ... if your routine requires fruit, bring your own. This hotel is an easy walk from the train station, and Erminio will email you excellent directions so that you don't get lost. He will also help you book reservations for museums, and can direct you to the best gelato at Vivoli's, the oldest pharmacy, or anything else you have a desire for. I booked rooms for myself and 6 friends here, and all of us feel the same about Erminio and his hotel: We MUST return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villani

Address: Via delle Oche, 11, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.