We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travellers on a Budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Columbus to your Saves list
Hotel Columbus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   L. Arno Christoforo Colombo 22/a, 50136 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #430 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Kempton Park
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Travellers on a Budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I love the fact that it overlooked River Arno and being on the 5th floor, you could have a panaromic view of the place. The view is lovely

It's just around the corner from a bus stop which also was convenient as we came by bus from the train station.

The hotel is dark, they have sensor lights so the light comes on only when you walk which is cost saving but gives it a very dingy feel.

The hotel is in desperate need of a makeover.

Room Tip: Make sure that you room is not anywhere closer to the lift. It makes an annoying noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    31
    42
    55
    103
See reviews for
28
80
11
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights with our tour group. Not 1 person in the group was happy with this hotel. The only positive about the room was that the AC worked fine. The hotel is old. Not charming old, just old and in desperate need of a remodel or at least a thorough cleaning. The bathrooms and showers are VERY small and also look like they could use a serious scrubbing. Breakfast is very plain with just yogurt, croissants, ham, cheese & cereal. It's at least a 30 minute walk to the city center with not much to see on the way. Check your tour group beforehand to make sure the Columbus is not on your list.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with tour group. First things first:
Location: 30 minute walk to the main centre of Florence, although this hotel is situated right in front of the river, you cant even see it, so you literally feel like you're walking forever and especially under the sun, we were drenched with sweat everytime.
If you are walking back to the hotel at night, beware the sign in lights says HOTEL LUMBUS. We had almost passed it, when we realised we hadnt come across this hotel before, and realised it was our hotel.

Breakfast: Standard and LIMITED, the juices from the machine were watered down

Rooms: first thing when we entered our room, we thought we didnt have a bathroom, but the door was hidden in the back corner. there is no shower curtain so expect to have a wet floor. Beds were comfortable, also had another single bed which was good to store our luggage on top.

There is free wifi but only in the lobby, so at night you'll see everyone in the lobby.

If you do not mind the walking, then go ahead and stay here, but there are perfectly good hotels of better value closer to the main town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our room was very dusty and we had allergic cough in there. We didn't care about hotels bad location and old age. Bathrooms condition was terrible! There were some water damage and mold. Air conditioning didn't work. Breakfast was poor and old man working in the breakfast room was very insanitary. One diner complained about croissants which were burnt black. The old man took the croissants but turned around before the kitchens door and bring those back. You should see Firenze once in a lifetime but choose an another hotel!

Room Tip: Choose an another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

It is a very old hotel, rooms and bathrooms are quite large, but needs renovation urgently.
Breakfast was very poor, basically bread and butter, a spanish lady has her purse stolen in the restaurant with all personal belongings and the Hotel offered no support. Really bad option, avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I traveled with my tour group and stayed in Hotel Columbus for 2 days. I really liked the location - just 15 minutes from the city center with Florence sights. I bought accommodation BB, and very like breakfasts - the food was simple but varied and delicious cooked. Hotel staff was friendly. It's true about the fact that the repair was made there for a long time, but inside everything is clean and tidy. Also I was very surprised by the wonderful view from the window of the hotel. I plan another trip in the summer and will definitely stay there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Fortunately, I spent only 1 night in the hotel.
I traveled with a tour group and I can say that all the breakfasts in this tour were bad. Though in this hotel the breakfast was almost ok (nothing hot to eat, no eggs, but at least some cheese and ham and pretty good croissants).
The location was fine to me, too. It was about 20 minutes walk to the very center of Florence.

But the room was something terrible. The room number was 212 (I know that it was the same with the room 112). I wouldn't even start complaining if that was only about no hairdrier and no TV set. I could even stand the temperature in the room (it was about 6 C in the street and the wind from the windows was strong enough to chill the room in just one day). But there was no shower (bath, whatever)!!! in the room. And there was no hot water in the tap. At the times when almost no one used hot water in the hotel it reached about may be 33 degrees C (pretty warm, but not hot), but when everybody started using water (like in the morning) the water was just cold.
I don't claim all the rooms were that bad, but I can say for sure about the rooms 112 and 212 and that those rooms had no shower. But every room in the hotel had problems with hot water and temperature in the room.

It was second to worst hotel I've ever seen in my life.

Room Tip: Rooms 112 and 212 don't have a shower. I'd suppose it's the same with all the other floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Address: L. Arno Christoforo Colombo 22/a, 50136 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.