We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE STATUE OF DAVID IS A MUST-SEE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Accademia di Belle Arti

Accademia di Belle Arti
Via Ricasoli 66, 50122 Florence, Italy
055 215449 – 055 2398660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 215 Attractions in Florence
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“THE STATUE OF DAVID IS A MUST-SEE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Statue of David is completely breathtaking. One piece of stone and the attention to fine fine details is completely stunning. Watch out though because the queues start as early at 0830 so, if you can't get there earlier I suggest you a) get an early train/start and book a Timed Ticket from the nearby Ticket Office or b) book on-line. Timed tickets are the only way to manage Florence or else or you'll spend hours in the heat and the queues of Florence.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    48
    14
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Two words...The David! Words can't describe how amazing this statue is. Breathtaking! We bought our tickets online about a month before our trip for a small fee. There was an extremely long line that wrapped around the building. Our travel time is precious, so we were happy to pay the fee. We had to go across the museum to the ticket office where we presented our vouchers and were given our tickets. We then had to wait in a line for about 5 minutes before getting in. Besides, The David, you will enjoy many more beautiful works of art and historical items.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stand in the Presence of Greatness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The David dominates this museum, and if you allow yourself the time and focus to just "experience" what you're seeing, you cannot help but be in awe. Note the vision and passion of Michaelangelo's artistic interpretation of the Biblical David. Note his attention to detail, down to the veins in his hands and feet. Note the devotion of the artist to his faith. Immediately before we entered the museum, i found myself wishing i could take photos. Afterwards, i realized that the rule actually enhanced my experience, as it freed me to experience the many works in the museum with all my senses rather than trying to jockey for just the right shot. Do not miss this experience. Buy tickets online before you go, though, or you will end up waiting in a long line.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“David David David”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

What an amazing place with countless treasures from the past. Of course the highlight is the amazing HUGE statue of David but do not miss all the wonderful artifacts and artworks all over the place. A must-see place. We bought the tickets online together with the tickets to Uffizi... This way you avoid the long lines outside...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“If ever there was a "Do Not Miss", this is it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you have any interest in art and sculpture, you cannot (there ought to be a law...) visit Florence without visiting the Accademia and seeing the David in person. There are plenty of copies of the David at various locations in Florence, and we saw them too. As you might imagine, there is no comparison. As you look at the sculpture, consider that the 17 foot tall David is carved from a single block of marble. Also consider that it was carved between 1501-1504, by Michelangelo and started when he was 26 years old. Yes, 26. Note Michelangelo's incredible understanding of anatomy and physiology. Consider for example, the veins and tendons that are articulated in the leg that "bears weight" versus the one that does not given David's stance. Also note his left hand which appears larger (perhaps) than it should. One explanation we heard is that as the hand that bore the sling which killed Goliath, it was (at least for that moment) the Hand of God, and as such is larger. Another explanation was that Michelangelo understood that the final statue was intended for the top of a large building and in order to emphasize the hand from such a distance, it needed to be larger. It is worth any wait for tickets, but clearly, using online ordering is the smart and efficient way to go. Do not miss this. By the way, there is a load of other incredible art in the Accademia. I suspect however, that like me, you may find yourself mesmerized by the incredible sculpture. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Accademia di Belle Arti also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Accademia di Belle Arti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Accademia di Belle Arti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.