We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Often closed doors-noone to open” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Cristina to your Saves list
Hotel Cristina
1.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   della Condotta 4, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #432 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Kielce, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Often closed doors-noone to open”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We was there one year ago. Doors was closed and we had to wait about 30 min. We don't knew that somebody will come and open it. We wasn't sure - is it real entry to this hotel. Door is not only for hotel, but is for whole house where living another people.
Hotel inside is poor. Corridors are tight. Reception is muddle like stopgap. Often noone is in reception. They gave us keys to this common door and room door. Room is poor, stony floor, old windows, potty light.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
17
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you want to be in the center of everything, you will be at Cristina. However that also brings noise all night long -- something I have never experienced in another city -- people screaming and singing and doing all they can to be loud until dawn.

I booked a double shared bath. When I arrived they informed me double shared baths were in their property across the street. OK, not far. But on the 3rd floor. These annex rooms are in a converted apartment -- it has 3-4 double rooms. The kitchen was nice to have. However, unlike other rooms in places like this, the Cristina annex was really bare bones. No hangers in the room. Not even a hook to hang the towel from. The bed was fine. It was very clean, and the maids were great. Clean linens daily. I liked all the staff. It was good for the price, but it would be better if people knew they were staying across the street, and it would be great if they added towel racks and hangers in the rooms. The only thing they can do about the noise would be to replace the windows, and I assume that isn't going to happen for this price. Also, I think it would be very very hot in the summer to be on the 3rd floor of this building -- they need to provide fans for summer (perhaps they do).

Breakfast was served in the main "hotel"/hostel, so you had to cross the street. It is a breakfast of cereals, yogurt, packaged rolls and nutella/jams. Juice, coffee, tea.

All said, I had a great time in Florence and Cristina was fine, but I won't stay there again. I didn't sleep well because of the noise, which is nothing against the hotel itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First of all, there is two Establishment named Cristina in Florence, this one: Hotel Cristina in the center of the old town, about 15 minutes away from the train station, and a second one, very similar in looks, called: Cristina House, located about 15 minutes in the opposite direction from the train station (on a less touristy, less busy street but probably as loud at night with traffic). You can walk to both from the train station...
Hotel Cristina's main interest is that it is in the center of everything you want to see in Florence if you are only here for a few days. Now that I have been here for 2 and a half days I would recommend staying on the other side of the Arno river.
Hotel Cristina is run by a bunch of early 20s that don't seem to care too much about who comes and goes. They usually peek their heads from the little room they hang out in watching tv to see who's there. The place seems like it could have been great, 10 years ago, with a different owner and a little care. The rooms are large but weirdly decorated. The bathrooms are basic but clean. The biggest set back is the noise at night. I didn't sleep much the first night and the second one was just a little better.
Since it is so easy to walk around the city from anywhere near the center, I would recommend to people to pick place a bit further away, you might get a view, some quiet sleep, nice service and a cozy place to come home at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The staff or owner is just rude! Unpleasant stay I had for one nite. I called to book and they did not keep the room for me while I could only get a dorm bed. They could have asked me for credit card if a guarantee was needed. Then I rushed to check out as I mis took the checkout time. While I took a break having a cup of tea at common room , they asked me to leave which o never had such experience in any hostel !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed with my girlfriend here for 4 nights in mid October. We booked a double room with private bathroom.

Due to the idiosyncratic nature of the hotel, we were given the largest room in the hotel - big enough (and some!) for a family of five. Not really a complaint, but not the most cosy!

The bathroom shower holder was broken but otherwise was fine, if basic. Sheets were clean etc etc.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Best of all though is the location. Couldn't be better for a typical Florentine holiday. Absolutely.

I couldn't find an alternative with as remotely good a location for the price, and for that, it more or less has to get a good review, given it was clean and the staff good.

Room Tip: If there is a choice for the double room with private bathroom, ask for the smaller room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francestown, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I'm currently staying at Francesco's well run, immaculate glorified "hostel" He and his staff are the warmest, kindest people I've met in all my travels. He's gone out of his way to help with future accommodations in other places. My room was clean, comfortable, quiet and I felt very safe here as a woman traveling alone. The location could not be better. Literally steps from The Uffizzi and so many other destination sites, very much in the heart of the action. I disagree that it's a place for students and back-packers. It's a place for anyone who's on a budget and has standards. I'm in my late 50's and felt right at home. Lauren D

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Booked this hotel because it had favorable reviews on most sites, but was sadly disappointed with the stay.

No air conditioning. One shower between all private rooms. Two toilets for the whole hostel. Awful wifi coverage. Crap service.

I was charged twice for my room, and was given very little help in trying to receive my money back. Now I am struggling with my credit card company to deal with the hotels mistake.

While it may be a little cheaper than other places, you should pay the extra 5-10 euros and stay elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristina

Address: della Condotta 4, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cristina 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cristina is set in Florence centre, a 5-minute walk from Florence Cathedral and 15 minutes from Santa Maria Novella Station. It offers rooms with Wi-Fi in a central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristina Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.