We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid hotel, exceptional service, wonderful garden!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tornabuoni 3, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 461 hotels in Florence
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Splendid hotel, exceptional service, wonderful garden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Situated in the heart of historical Florence, this family-owned hotel is one I find easy to recommend! I have stayed here on more than ten occasions and never stay anywhere else when in Florence. (Have brought friends, family and business guests here)
It has a beautifully maintained rooftop garden which leads from the cocktail lounge.There are large comfortable public rooms on each floor. Staff are always obliging and willing to assist guests.
The breakfast room is large and offers a wide selection. At times a light evening meal is also offered.
If you like to stay in historical places and in the heart of town, then this lovely hotel is definitely one for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    198
    63
    16
    12
See reviews for
103
224
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I recommend this hotel Because it is in a good location nice breakfast and average service. The negative side is all they recommend is 'Harrys Bar'.

Room Tip: 219 or 218 are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I recently stayed in Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci in Florence. We had booked the hotel with miles and was not sure of what to expect. The minute we got there we were amazed by the good service. The people at the reception desk are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in an old palazzo which is historic. The elevator is extremely small but was a very nice change because we had stayed in several hotels with no elevators and hauling the suitcases has a nightmare. You do have to carry the suitcases for 1 floor but there is always someone to help you carry them.
The room was very small but nice and clean. The only thing I would say is not great is the breakfast. The buffet is very simple and not many things to choose from but at least it is included. The bar area is very nice and quiet if you want to sit and enjoy a book while sipping a good glass of wine. It has a beautiful little terrace where you can enjoy an amazing view of the city. It is located a couple of blocks from Ponte Vecchio and next to many shops. Would definitely recommend staying!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We've got a double plus room at 3rd floor with a nice view in Piazza Santa Trinita. The hotel has a very friendly personnel and a nice breakfast were you can choose from espresso - to american coffee or original cappuccino. Try the terrace with a splendid view over Florence. Heard the pigeons give some hard time in summer but we were here from 16th to 20th November.
Look for the history of the Palace , there is a huge book with all fameous buildings in Florence at the 3rd floor.
Don't be afraid of the old style furniture if you're looking for a historical hotel.
We will be back for sure in Florence and if there is a good deal rate , back to Tornabuoni who has an excellent location for visiting and shopping.

Room Tip: look for the professional photos on site and generally go for more than double standard who might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We found the hotel quiet and loved the roof garden where we had breakfast and our evening drink.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I really like the location of this hotel, within quick walking distance to most everything and right next to the bridge across the Arno. Like all hotels in Florence, the entry is small, a narrow hall that leads to a tiny desk at the base of some imposing stairs. There you will be greeted by the desk clerk. Angelo is usually who greeted us, a very kind and personable gentleman. There are 3 tiny elevators available as well as the stairs to get up to the rooms.

Recently they have added 30 more rooms by taking over the lower floors of the bldg, whereas before one had to go up to the 4th floor before reaching the hotel check in desk. We stayed on the 4th and 5th floor which are the older rooms. I asked a woman that was staying on the 3rd floor if she liked her room and she said it was nice, however, I never had the chance to see one.

Our room was very elegant and spacious, #20, as was #30 above us. The two windows afforded a pleasant view over the city and being on the back side meant we were not subject to street noise. The bathroom was small, but had a tub instead of a shower stall. The wardrobe had extra blankets and pillows stored for use. There were about 10 hangers for clothes and plenty of drawer space. A small refrigerator was in the room, but I never opened it. There was plenty of lighting as well, which is sometimes a rarity in Italian hotels.

There is a very nice rooftop terrace with different cozy areas for sitting aside with friends. It's a wonderful atmosphere for sitting to read, relax, or have drinks before dinner. There is also an inside bar with comfortable places to sit for reading or having tea. The breakfast room is on the same hall (on the 4th floor). With the doubling of their room capacity, it makes for a cramped breakfast room. The breakfast was adequate and actually had more offerings than the usual Italian hotel; bread rolls, croissant, yogurt, whole fruits, fruit compote, cakes, jams and nutella, meats and cheese, bottled water (still and gas), with coffee brought to your table upon request. The hotel staff did not seem to speak much English but we were able to get along just fine since everyone seems to understand the word, coffee. The hot chocolate is nice as well.

For some reason we had trouble with housekeeping restocking one of our rooms with the shampoo bottles and toilet paper. Angelo was prompt to call housekeeping for us for the issue to be addressed, however, the same thing happened each night.

If you do not like stairs then you should make sure you are not on the top floor, as the elevator does not go to the 5th floor. You must weave your way through a maze of narrow hallways and up a flight of stairs. It was not an issue for us, as I like to use the stairs instead of the elevator for exercise, but for some people this may be a concern of which you need to be aware.

The location, elegant room, and charming rooftop terrace all make a nice combination for me. I don't think it's a good choice if you're on a budget, but otherwise I recommend it.

Room Tip: newer rooms are on the lower floors, while older rooms are on the top 2 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Tornabuoni was recommended by friends who live in Florence, and we couldn't have been more pleased with its location and authenticity. Our room (#8) was next to the bar, but quiet, spacious, with a large bathroom, antique furnishings, a too-firm Italian bed, and a terrific view of the rooftops and distant hills. Breakfast was a treat, especially on the terrace with great views. The location of the hotel can't be beat. We walked comfortably to all of the major churches, museums and sights in Florence. The hotel is also on the main upscale shopping street in Florence, but guess what -- we have most of the same stores with the same merchandise in Boston and New York, so we weren't tempted to do much shopping.

Room Tip: Try No. 8 for a spacious room near the terrace and restaurant and with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci

Address: Via Tornabuoni 3, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#61 Business Hotel in Florence
#101 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bechi Family is happy to welcome you to the site of the Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci to discover this charming hotel which is located in two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, on one of Florence’s most elegant shopping streets and close to the monuments which have made this city famous the world over. The Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci with its heirloom furnishings, refined elegance and modern comforts is a charming and enchanting location on Florence’s most elegant shopping street, the Via de’ Tornabuoni. The hotel consists of two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, two unique buildings in the heart of Florence’s artistic and historical centre, close to the Ponte Vecchio bridge, the Uffizi Art Gallery and the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore with Brunelleschi’s famous dome and Giotto’s belfry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacci Tornabuoni Hotel Florence
Beacci Tornabuoni Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.