We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located older Hotel overlooking Florence good for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci to your Saves list
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tornabuoni 3, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well located older Hotel overlooking Florence good for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Via Tornabuoni ends at a square within walking distance of every museum and historical site in Florence. The hotel is located there with Tiffany's on one side and high end shops surrounding it. The Arno and bridges are a block in one direction and Uffizi etc in the other. But rooms are quiet on higher floors and little sound comes from the street to the roof garden.
A substantial breakfast is included and may be eaten on the roof where pigeons abound or in a breakfast room area where service is as good as any good restaurant.
The historical hotel shows signs of aging well in leather-bound books containing centuries of old guest registers with signatures of visitors over the time and there to be perused and signed by current guests. We were greeted with a fruit basket, plates and knives which stayed with us during our weeklong stay until we finished every good morsel. Refrigerator is too small for a quart of water or bottle of wine of your own
Rooms are varied. Check yours before saying it is OK. Ours was wonderfully spacious, but we were next to the elevator and the shower with a tiny glass enclosure literally emptied into the bidet room.. The toilet room was located across the entire very spacious room.
The cab from the train station refused to go into the street to deliver us (after 3:00 pm) but came to the front door as called by the hotel when we left (10 am).

Room Tip: Confusion abounds at the front desk where every non-internet reservatio must be approved via a telep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    236
    70
    22
    15
See reviews for
126
272
37
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had three nights here and really enjoyed the central location - walking distance to Duomo, Uffizi, restaurants, river, and anywhere else you might want to walk. It seems to be an amalgam of old palazzos so is a bit of a rabbit warren but also very olde worldey.

Check in was easy - a handwritten register all part of the charm. One of our rooms was in the old wing and the other in the "newer" wing (which in Italiam terms means the last couple of centuries). Our (old) room was huge and beautifully decorated and furnished. Considerately, the only thing which was seemingly new was the bathroom. Newer room was average size and well appointed.

Front desk staff were very helpful with suggestions (including suggesting we go tell the mayor what we think of the tourist tax of 4 euro a head).

Breakfast was the standard (simple) Italian breakfast fare - and could be taken on the outdoor terrace for those brave enough to star as an extra in Hitchcock's "Birds" given the number, size and aggressive streak of Florentine pigeons. We sat out there the first morning, which seems to be what everyone does before retreating to the relative safety of the breakfast room for the remainder of their stay.

For those (like us) silly enough to drive into Florence, they can park your car for 30 euros a day provided you can get past the police at the end of the street.

Free wifi but as you venture further into the old wing the signal struggles (I could pick it up on my iPad but not on a laptop).

If there was one criticism it would be the air conditioners; the two units in our room struggled with the task of cooling the large room and it was not really at the height of summer outside. But then, we did have the benefit of the big room so it's swngs and roundabouts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Old style hotell with very good service and very friendly staff. Wonderful terrace on top for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Greatest accomodation in Florence I've ever had: greatly located XIII palazzo with perfect interiors and almost invisible staff. Gorgeous view from a terrace on top!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The hotel's central location places it within easy walking distance of all the city's main attractions. Due to inadequate air-conditioning in the smallish room we were allocated on the first floor, we requested a change and were offered a larger room on the same floor. This room was well appointed in Tuscan stryle with separate bathroom and shower room. Unfortunately, to reach the room we were forced to negotiate a corridor permeated with the smell of sewage. Our attempt to point this out to the concierge met with disinterest. The flower-bedecked breakfast terrace provided good views across terracotta rooftops, but also gave an open invitation to the city's pigeon population to raid en masse the table of any guest leaving food unguarded. We suspect that the hotel operates on two levels and expect that only the premium upper floors match the glowing descriptions in its website.

Room Tip: Pay a premium rate for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This was our fourth visit to Florence and our second to Tornabuoni Beacci. The room decor is tremendously improved. Our room was lovely (except for the view which was into an inner courtyard) and had tons of closet space. We were off a large lounge that was primarily for guests surrounding it and we felt as if we were guests in a palazzo.

Breakfast was lovely, albeit the room was a bit crowded. The staff is excellent and recommended restaurants and even a fabulous supermarket on the other side of the Arno (who knew?).

The location is, of course, perfect -- out of the old city but just across the street from the entrance. It was Easter weekend and the crowds were unbelievable but this oasis provided total relaxation. We would happily stay here again. Two very big thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

The room was a bit dark and stuffy. The bathroom was quite clean. And the location was great. But I really hated the smell in the corridor. It smelled like sewage for my whole stay for 3 days.
The service was quite good but I didn't like the breakfast. The boiled egg was really cold as if it was taken right out of the fridge.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci

Address: Via Tornabuoni 3, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#91 Business Hotel in Florence
#135 Family Hotel in Florence
#135 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bechi Family is happy to welcome you to the site of the Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci to discover this charming hotel which is located in two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, on one of Florence’s most elegant shopping streets and close to the monuments which have made this city famous the world over. The Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci with its heirloom furnishings, refined elegance and modern comforts is a charming and enchanting location on Florence’s most elegant shopping street, the Via de’ Tornabuoni. The hotel consists of two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, two unique buildings in the heart of Florence’s artistic and historical centre, close to the Ponte Vecchio bridge, the Uffizi Art Gallery and the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore with Brunelleschi’s famous dome and Giotto’s belfry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacci Tornabuoni Hotel Florence
Beacci Tornabuoni Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.