We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alessandra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo SS. Apostoli, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 461 hotels in Florence
Shelby Twp., MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good choice for Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel. Found the rooms spacious, comfortable and clean. The steps should be considered for someone with physical problems, but for us were fine. We felt very well cared for by all staff members. Be sure to ask for restaurant recommendations, we made a couple of poor choices before asking. The restaurants all have similar menus, so get directed to the ones that aren't just for tourists. All with in easy walking distance.
Everyone mentions the location and we would agree. It ends up being in the middle of attractions that you will want to see on both sides of the Arno.
Nice to hear horses clopping and bells chiming right out the window, you could imagine that in another time. Very historic experience.

Room Tip: Junior suite was a big room with a king sized bed, daybed and chair. Comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
You are right! Are steps are widely discussed (here, on facebook, on G+) and rightly so. Our hotel is not the perfect match for everyone and we want no-one having difficult surprises when they arrive. But with the right attitude and physical capabilities, our stairs are a superb free work-out: more ice creams for everyone! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    889
    349
    40
    9
    9
See reviews for
270
599
124
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights visiting our daughter who is spending a semester in Florence. From the time we arrived until the time we left we felt extremely welcomed. Anna (mom), Andrea (son) and Monte will do anything they can to make your stay perfect. Advise for things to do, restaurants, tours, etc. If you needed anything all you had to do was ask. The Alessandra was the opposite of a cold, stuck up hotel with a fancy lobby. We stayed in a suite that overlooked the river. The room was big, old world and clean with a private bath. The breakfast was great, offering cold cereals, milk, canned fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, jams, croissants, lemon cake, cheese and prosciutto. They have American coffee or Cappuccino or Espresso. From the airport you can take a cab $20 Euro or shuttle $6 Euro each to the train station. It is about a 10 minute walk from there. The location was very central. As everyone mentions, there are stairs. One flight up to get a small lift elevator or about 4 flights up. With all the fantastic food that Florence has to offer the stairs can be a good thing! I would stay there again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you. Really thank you. Reading this stuff, with so much detail, so much great feedback for us really help us understand and refine our product/service. It's the very best market research in the world. Thank you all for making it happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel is sited close to Arno river. The location is perfect - with a walking distance to everything. We travelled by car and placed the car at the garage recomended by the hotel which is five minutes on walk from the hotel. We followed the instructions of the hotel how to get to the garage, though our GPS offered another route. And we had no problem to get to the place. We had a room with river view which was really great. Together with hourly bell, terrace with river view friendly attitude of the staff, the general atmosphere is unique. The room is rather big and well equipped. Breafast is good with nice coffee. The selection is not big but everuthing is fresh and tasty. When I visit Firenze again, will no doubt stay in the same hotel.

Room Tip: We strongly recomend room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Always believe humans over GPS systems! Especially in the tiny back streets of Florence. Glad you love it - and we hope you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at hotel Alessandra for four nights at the end of our 5 week holiday in Italy and were not disappointed. As mentioned previously the staff are warm, welcoming and very efficient. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the position of the hotel couldn't be better-close to all of the main tourist sites and good restaurants yet tucked away in a quiet street. I agree with Andrea about the stairs, they are a good workout but then again all of Italy is. You get fit exploring all of the wonders of Florence and then you can enjoy the delicious food without any guilt. Thank-you Monty for your personal care. You were there when we checked in and took a personal interest in us each time we passed reception. You are a ray of sunshine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
And this was a pleasure to read! Thank you so much - you have given us a reason to start our day with a smile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

On a 10day business trip around Italy, moving hotels and this one the best...4th floor but large open feel, clean, friendly concierge, fab location with roof top glimpse of the river, feature-full room with parquet flooring and although no en suite really made the trip uplifting. Decent breakfast with cappuccino and cake/croissant. Peek a other rooms - better! Definitely try and book for next trip. A little extra makes the difference!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We really do have a range of rooms, all sizes, all different views, all different facilities! We would love to see you back in the future - let's hope business sends you our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel was located on a quiet street in central Florence. The sign outside the main door is a bit small, so dont miss it. Once through the door (press the button on the sign and the door will unlock), head upstairs to the 3rd floor. The entrance is pretty clearly labeled. The front desk is very helpful and fun to chat with. Our room had a separate bathroom that was down the hall. The bedroom was very large and we had a wonderful view of the river. This hotel had 3 English speaking channels and very cozy comforters on the bed. This place does have free wifi and breakfast available. The cappuccinos at breakfast come with a smiley face in the foam! They had a good selection of breakfast food and a cozy room to dine in.

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom with a connecting bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
You are right - the sign is a bit small and not obvious - but on our five hundred year old building there are very strict laws about what can be put up and pink flashing neon is not allowed! We try to post a picture of our door often on facebook, and you can now check the street view on google maps plus even have a look around inside too! We do try to make sure everyone knows what we look like before they arrive. Thanks for your great comments - we do appreciate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The minute we arrived we felt at home because the staff were so welcoming and continued to be so throughout our stay. It has a warm atmosphere and the staff and owners clearly care about their customers. We were shown round as soon as we arrived and given all the information we might need - including free wi fi. The hotel is right in the heart of the city and a perfect base for exploring. The room, shared by 3 adults, was a good size and ideal for our requirements. The breakfast was good. Access is via a small lift (at perhaps first floor level) or you can go all the way up by stairs so if carrying heavy luggage it could be a struggle - but it's well worth it.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room facing the street, which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We like to think of our stairs as a pre-stay-in-Florence-eating-great-food workout! Burns those calories off before you've even consumed them.

Thanks so much for your review - we loved reading it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo SS. Apostoli, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) but please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.