We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alessandra to your Saves list
Hotel Alessandra
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo SS. Apostoli, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #22 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Perfect location close to major sites. Wonderful, friendly and very helpful staff with very good English. Good breakfast. Not the most swanky hotel in the city but big rooms, very clean and a very good value. If you stay here but sure to visit the adorable little wine bar across the street called Mangia Foco - good wine, friendly staff. If we were to visit Florence again, I would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Swanky we are not! But we like to think we are lovely. Thanlk you for choosing Hotel Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    370
    43
    9
    9
See reviews for
279
648
130
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is great, perfect location to everything in Florence but the staff were so helpful and friendly!! Especially Monti, he is hilarious, so helpful and made our Florence experience even better! Great staff can add such value to a hotel and Monti did exactly that. We also had a great view of the water! Thank you hotel Alessandra!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
You said it right. Monti is a one-man entertainment package - not only does he delight our guests but he keeps us and our team laughing all day long! Thank you so much for your comments - we do love hearing things from your side.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed only one night there, in a bedroom with no bathroom (there are bedrooms with private bathroom availables), but comfortable and charming. The hotel is well located and with wi-fi access, but attention with the small lift.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
When designing buildings in the 1500s they forgot to leave a space for the lift! We have managed to tuck a tiny one into the miniscule stairwell -but yes, it's never going to hold two people and all their luggage. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay - and stay with us on facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is wonderful! The room was large - we had a double room - and clean with a private bath. The location is very convenient to Uffizi, the Ponte Vecchio, and most of the sites in central Florence. If you arrive in the afternoon, you will most likely be greeted by Monti, who was amazing!! He has an outstanding personality, speaks very good English, is very helpful and really made our visit great. (Ask him to sing "I Feel Good" by James Brown if you want to be entertained!)

The breakfast buffet was typical Italian fare, with pastries and juices as well as cereals, cheese and dried ham.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a private bath if you want one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Oh dear - we are not sure that anyone would ever call Monti tuneful, but we are pleased that you appreciated it! Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Fabulous location on a quiet street near the river and a short walk to the Uffizi, with the friendliest and most helpful staff imaginable (a special shout-out to the incomparable Monti!). Pleasant room with an air conditioner (wasn't turned on yet but not needed), reliable Wi-fi, and a decent breakfast. On top of that, guests could use the phone for free long distance calls, and the staff obligingly and graciously provided for impromptu tea times. Spot-on restaurant and other tourist-related information provided by a most-welcoming staff. Be prepared for a flight and a half of stairs to the elevator, which only has a three person capacity (two trips for a couple with two suitcases between them). As elsewhere, be prepared for mosquitos (electronic mosquito devices will be provided).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Spot on! You described the good and bad very accurately. We are lovely, Monti is gorgeous, we adore our guests, we have stairs and Italy has mosquitoes! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We loved our week long stay at the end of April in the very large suite with a beautiful view! The location is perfect, the staff is all so friendly, and the restaurant recommendations (and reservations made for us) were perfect. The stairs were good exercise after all the eating we did, and we found the breakfast a great start to our day, with everything we needed. We would happily stay here again if we returned to Florence (and we hope we will!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Wel, we hope so too. Stay with us on facebook, and give some great advice to our future clients if you can. We have a wonderful community that helps each other. Would love to have you take part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O.C.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you want to be walking distance to all of the treasures of Florence, this is the place. Very short walks to the Uzzifi, the Duomo, the Ponte Vechio. This is a vintage property that's close to 1,000 years old. The adjacent church is from 805AD. It's staying in a piece of history.

The first night was probably in their least expensive room, smaller, shared bathroom, very rustic furniture. We never encountered anyone in the shared bathroom so not a problem. The next night we had a much larger room with a bathroom and sliver of a view of the river.

If you are expecting a luxury hotel, this is not it but comfortable and nicely maintained. A/C worked really well, internet was fast, breakfast was adequate with happy face cappuccinos.

Whatever you do, do not try and drive in this city, it is the most insane place to drive on earth. They have nice wide streets but they are pedestrian causeways and they have the right of way and taxis have to travel at 1-2mph. There's also horses to watch out for. Then there's narrow streets barely wide enough for one small car with sidewalks only 1' wide, that's where the Hotel Allessandra is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We love your review thank you! We are not quite a thousand years old (over 500 though), and yes - we are riddled with history! And you are spot on - we are not luxury, we are lovely, and we think that's much better.

The shared bathroom never is a problem - and we make sure that the bathrooms are shiny and clean after each use and that keeps everyone happy.

But what we loved most is your final comment - yes, driving in this city is insane. Don't bring a car, it's just not worth it. But in defence of our fine city, and we just add that in Rome and Naples it is worse!

Thank you for making us smile :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo SS. Apostoli, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.