We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Alessandra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Alessandra to your Saves list
Hotel Alessandra
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo SS. Apostoli, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Alessandra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a centrally positioned hotel which had a family feel about it. We received a very warm welcome from the lady on reception. The en-suite room was huge with lovely antique furniture and had a river view. The breakfast was continental style with plenty of choice.

(This hotel would not be practical for anybody with mobility problems as you need to go up about thirty steps to reach the small lift, but this was not a problem for ourselves).

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Wonderful! We love it that you enjoyed it so much! And thank you for taking the time to write here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    351
    41
    9
    9
See reviews for
271
607
125
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seignosse, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent staff, beautiful and big room, spacious bathroom.
In a quiet street between via Tornabuoni and Ponte Vecchio.
If we return to Florence, we shall return in this hotel and deeply recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room with view on the Arno river was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
And we shall very much look forward to that occasion! Stay with us on facebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel Alessandra is located in the heart of Florence and was walking distance to everything. It was very affordable for the location. At the same time, be prepared for thin walls and lots of stairs! The hotel is on the 4th floor and there is a lift, but it is extremely small (understandable, since this building is very old), so we mostly just walked up the stairs each time. The river view was worth the extra money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Mostly wonderful! But thin walls surprises us. Tuscany is reknowned for its ridiculously thick walls - and ours often cause us problems when rewiring or fitting new ari-con units (up to 50-60cm). Would you be so kind as to write to us in private on info@hotelalessandra.com and tell us which room you were in and what the problem was? It would really help us understand. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Andrea is as kind a hotelier as you will find, and will go the extra mile to ensure you book the tours you want take or have dinner in a good restaurant. The hotel is in an excellent location near near the river by Ponte Vecchio and near an open market, and rooms are surprisingly spacious. The breakfast is very good and the room it is served in is bright and cheerful. This is a grand place for the money.

Room Tip: Junior suite was very spacious for a room in Europe--good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We do our best, no more! Glad that it worked for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

It is difficult to find anything affordable so central in Florence, so I was amazed to find the hotel is also very nice. It is just around the corner from the Ponte Vecchio, but on a quiet street. The rooms were recently refurbished, clean and comfortable, and the staff very courteous and fluent in many languages. The website did not boast of an elevator so I was expecting to have to haul my stuff up many flights of stairs (as is common in Florentine hotels) but in fact there is an elevator starting on the 1st floor, so you only have to go up one floor's worth of stairs with your luggage, and an elevator takes you the rest of the way. Some (but not all) of the rooms inside the hotel are up an interior flight of stairs, but they will help you carry your stuff up if you ask. The internet was free and worked perfectly, as did the shower facilities. A slightly hard mattress is the only negative I can find to mention.

Room Tip: Ask if it is up the interior set of stairs - if so it may have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
All so good (wifi, stairs, lift, our lovely staff) but we trip up on mattresses. It's a cultural thing! In Italy matteresses are hard - and we truly believe that it is good for your spine. Our matterasses have ALL been recently replaced and are of approved orthodpedic quality. If you have no back pain in your 90s you can thank us! Thank you for taking the time to write here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Alessandra a few weekends ago with our daughter who is studying abroad in Italy this semester. We had a great experience! I research all of my hotels before booking and the great reviews here on Trip Advisor were the main reason I considered this hotel as an option. I then went on their website, which was very user-friendly and offered lots of photos of the various rooms along with their prices. I selected the Baccio Suite and booked the room right on their site.

I then found that they had a wonderful page on Facebook which I "liked". I started receiving frequent status updates not only about the hotel, but about the daily happenings in and around Florence. I enjoyed this because it made me feel like I was going to visit a friend in Florence rather than just a hotel.

I e-mailed a few days before we got there with some questions and received a quick and thorough reply. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly and enthusiastic Andrea. It really was like he was welcoming us into his home. We also met Anna, who was equally kind. We were shown to our room right away, even though it was only 9:00am.

We were also invited to enjoy breakfast, which was still being served. The food was delicious and the coffee was great. My daughter said that they had the best cornetti (jam-filled croissant) that she had eaten during her entire time in Italy.

Our room, the Baccio Suite, was gorgeous. It consisted of a bedroom, a sitting room, a large bathroom and a beautiful balcony with a view of the river and the adjacent church's bell tower. The sitting room had a large double bed that pulled down from the wall for our daughter and there was more than enough room for all of us. We loved opening up the windows to look at the river and listen to the various bells ring throughout the city. We also enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine.

The hotel is located very close to the Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi. We were able to walk to the Duomo in less than ten minutes. We also walked to the beautiful Piazzale Michelangelo, a gorgeous spot overlooking the city, in less than 30 minutes. We asked Andrea about restaurants and he not only recommended a fantastic place, but called and placed the reservation for us. (see my review of L' Osteria di Giovanni)

Morti manned the front desk on the weekend and was very friendly and helpful. And Pietro came to our room at 9:00 at night to help me get into our room safe because I screwed up and forgot the code I used to lock it!

The bottom line is that the high rating the Hotel Alessandra has received on Trip Advisor is well-earned. I hope I can someday return to Florence and stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
You got our biggest fear in one word! "Hype". We are genuinely overwhelmed by the (mostly!) fabulous reviews that we receive here on tripadvisor and in participation on our facebook page. We LOVE exceeding expectations and that gets harder with each great review - everyone's expectations move up a notch.

Your enormously detailed review is music to our ears. Not only because it is great (don't get us wrong, that is good too!) but because you tell us why. You have really helped us to understand. And that is worth so much to us.

Come back! You were fun and we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our stay was made even more wonderful by Morti who works at check in. The accommadations were very good but the experience was fantastic because of him. We were on our honeymoon and asked him for several suggestions on where to go. He not only gave us all the best places but called ahead and let them know we were coming. The hotel is in a perfect location to walking everywhere and is on a nice quiet street. The rooms were nice and large and there was a nice view of the catheral from room 15. They have a nice little Italian style breakfast with croissants, meats, cheeses, cakes and yogurt. If and when we go back to Florence we will absolutely be choosing Hotel Alessandra again. This is the type of place that will remember you when yo go back years later. I can only hope that Morti is there to greet us as we arrive as he made the experience worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed it. Honeymoons are important and something that should be remembered. Monti absolutely knows the best places (but you know that!) - come back for your 1st/2nd/3rd anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo SS. Apostoli, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) but please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;