We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I hoped for.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alessandra to your Saves list
Hotel Alessandra
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo SS. Apostoli, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #22 of 461 Hotels in Florence
toronto, on
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Everything I hoped for.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I was so thrilled that I chose this hotel for my 5-night stay in Florence - everything was perfect.... the location, my room, the kindness and helpfulness of owners Andrea and Anna, and, of course, Monti, what can one say?!. I felt so at home from the moment I arrived! The breakfast was great, so too having internet access. The hotel is SO well located for seeing Florence, which has to be one of the great walking cities of the world, as well as being truly magical. I would definitely recommend it and stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Not a bad position huh ;-)

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. Come back soon.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    358
    41
    9
    9
See reviews for
274
619
125
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in the middle of October and I couldn't imagine a more perfect place to stay while visiting Florence. It is one block away from the Arno....footsteps away from the PonteVecchio...and yet, so quiet. From the fantastic owners, Andrea and Anna, to the staff, (Monti, I miss you!)...everything was better than we could have hoped for. Our double room with private bath and view of the Arno was HUGE. Breakfast room is bright and cheery, lovely food. Steps away from every part of Florence you could want to see. And so reasonable in price! I couldn't recommend it more. GO!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Go go go! Thank you - you have no idea how much we appreciate these comments! Monti misses you too.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you are looking for an authentic Florentine experience, the type of experience you would have experienced years ago before tourism became something for everyone and not the lucky few; if you want to be at the heart of the city and enjoy the personal hospitality of a pensione or hotel owned and managed by a family – and not a faceless multi-national corporate business – this is the place for you. The charm of the 16th century palazzo located steps away from the Ponte Vecchio and from Via Tornabuoni and from all the main attractions of the city, makes this an ideal choice because you can simply stroll everywhere. And prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Simply book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
You very adequately described just everything that we hope to be, but said it so much better than we ever could. Thank you.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here for almost a week with a party of friends celebrating 60th birthday of one of us. What a good choice we found we had made! The manager and all the hotel staff could not have been more helpful. And the rooms are so quiet and comfortable - and from our room we could see the Arno. Very central - we walked all around the centre of Florence from here and in the same street there is an excellent wine bar as well. We would return to stay here anytime!

Room Tip: The room on the top floor - a suite actually and with a balcony (except were there in minus tempera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We so much enjoyed having your group to stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed it so much too. You are right - you were here when the outside temperature was below freezing - so to enjoy that balcony come back in spring or autumn when it's lovely and warm but not unbearably hot.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
421 helpful votes 421 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It is world-famous for the unbelievably good service.

The family owners are incredible. Monti, your Manager, is a legend in Florence.

Even though the price is incredibly low for Florence, it is much better to stay here than any of the palace hotels in Florence !

It is your dream of a small, family-run hotel, perfect location, spotless, elegant, charming, stylish, with perfect service.

Normally "great service" and "family service" and "you feel like a family member" are just clichés. In the whole world there are only a few institutions where this is true.

So, it is just as good as the reputation, it is the only place to stay in Florence, it is unbelievably good value, Monti is a legend ...

so here below, I will merely give useful info for the future traveller!

Location - it's the street to be on in Florence. This is Florence, the rooftops, the stone. If the Alessandra is full, seek one of the other two or three boutique hotels on the street. Leave the hotel and turn LEFT, walk a couple blocks are you are in the part of Florence with the amazing shopping. Leave the hotel and turn RIGHT, walk a couple blocks and you are in tourist Florence. Of course, you are only 100 meters from the Ponte Vecchio - but there is no tourist nonsense on the street.

Parking - as everyone knows GPS does not work in Florence, because they often change the 1-way system. however IT IS VERY EASY to get to the Hotel Alessandra IF YOU PLAN CAREFULLY. Simply look at a map of Florence. Note the Ponte Vecchio, the most famous landmark. Look at the river. Don't forget, the hotel is JUST AT THE RIVER (one street back) and JUST TO THE LEFT (West) of the Ponte Vecchio. if you could drive over the Ponte Vecchio (!) you would just drive over it, turn left, drive 50 meters and there is the hotel. IT IS JUST THAT SIMPLE. So very simply: approach Florence from the south (where the river is). Cross one of the bridges to the LEFT of the Ponte Vecchio.

Remember that Borgo Santi Apostoli is - quite simply - one street back from the river. Couldn't be easier. Keep going and you will find Hotel Alessandra on the south side --- in other words just to the left of where the Ponte Vecchio is.

Simply park out the front (on the sidewalk or whatever), unload your bag, tell Monti you've arrived - great day! - and the man from the parking garage (it's a block away) will come and park your car, tip him 5 euros.

If you come by train, get a taxi for a few Euros, don't bother to walk.

Don't forget all the cool hotels in Florence just have a brass plaque out the front (like a doctor's office) - there are no neon signs etc. So just find #17, you will see the brass sign Hotel Alessandra, and in you go.

It's the sort of hotel in which they would make a film about Florence. We met guests there such as a scientist from the states, and a TV personality from asia. Again even though the hotel is incredibly reasonably priced, it's just so right. Monti, the whole family misses you, see you soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Wow! We are not so sure about world-famous, but hopefully at least our past guests, and maybe their family and friends know about our service. We all love our jobs, we love meeting people, we love helping people better understand our city and our culture. We want people to have a life experience here in Florence, not just in our hotel, but everyday, everywhere they go. Monti, and all the others in our team, live here, and are great points of contact for insider information!

Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a detailed review.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for Thanksgiving weekend based on past reviews here. Everything was spot on! Nice quiet street and excellent location. The rooms were nice and clean. We had two bedrooms, one for my son and daughter and one for my wife and I. Good value as we went "European" and shared a bathroom down the hall. The rooms were clean and comfortable; my wife said the children had a better room! :-) Anyway our host, Andrea was great! He arranged a full day in Tuscany, with a tour group, for us, which I highly recommend. And then there was Monti! What a delight...he had a great recs for "local" dinner places and advice on the leather market and such. Good resource to help with your Florence stay. The breakfasts too were very good. Would stay here again! Also as mentioned earlier...some steps to climb to get to the level of the hotel...but it kept you in shape. The building I believe was built in the 1500's...so plenty of history too. We took a taxi to the hotel when we arrived...but after we got our bearings in Florence we walked to the train station with our bags. No big deal and it only took us 15 minutes. I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
So please that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Alessandra. It's always good to read these reviews and better understand your experiences. We hope to see, and your children, here again one day.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We spent only 2 nights in Florence but would love to come back and stay at Hotel Alessandra! The location is very good, we walked to and from the main train station with suitcases with no problems, and it was a great base to explore from being just off the main street between the Ponte Vecchio and the Duomo.

We had a room with a bathroom and the shower was good, the bed was firm, and it was quiet - perfect! There is even a small lift to get your suitcases up all the stairs. The staff were so friendly, always greeting as you come and go, and active on their facebook page too.

Highly recommend this hotel, you wont be dissapointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Delighted that you enjoyed it! We have really begun to have fun with our facebook page over the last year or so - a great meeting ground for past, present and future guests, for exchanging tips, keeping in touch and just chatting! Do come back on day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo SS. Apostoli, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) but please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.