We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff, service and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alessandra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo SS. Apostoli, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 461 hotels in Florence
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, service and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and absolutely loved it!! We were welcomed by smiling and helpful faces at the front desk and it stayed that way for our entire trip! Each and every time we left or arrived the staff greeted us and chatted with us easily about our day and our plans. We truly felt like we were staying with friends at Hotel Alessandra! Our room was perfect and had everything we needed, the shutters kept out any sort of street noise and light. The breakfast was lovely, eggs, toast, fruit and even cappuccinos with cute little smiley faces! And then of course there was Monti, the most lovely person with bang on restaurant recommendations and a lively and extremely helpful personality! We were so lucky to get to know him a little bit over our 4 night stay. The location couldn't be beat, the service was perfection and the staff were amazing...we'll be back and so will many of our family and friends!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Goodness! Well, we are so pleased - a bit nervous that you made us sound too perfect! But the best bit is that you will be back - with lots of family and friends! Can't wait!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    889
    349
    40
    9
    9
See reviews for
270
599
124
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in Florence for one night of our two week honeymoon and I'm so glad that we spent it at Hotel Alessandra! The location was incredible, super close to the river and the Ponte Vecchio, we were even upgraded at the last minute to a room with a river view, which was beautiful and the room itself was very comfortable. The front desk was very helpful, and they recommended an incredible restaurant for dinner. All in all, if we return to Florence we will definitely stay longer and we will make sure to stay at Hotel Alessandra.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We very much look forward to that event, and we give you some other names for great places to eat!

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned from 4 nights at this hotel. In all honesty, I was a little skeptical upon wheeling down the tiny cobble stone street to the doors of Hotel Alessandra. We arrived late in the evening and the taxi dropped us at the end of the block due to cobblestone replacement. It can be a little difficult to find but I had looked at the entrance pictures on facebook so I knew basically what I was looking for. The magnificant doors are only the beginning of this midevil magnifigance. Yes, there are quite a few steps but as others have mentioned, they help to offset set the gellati intake. We mostly preferred the steps to the life (except when transporting our luggage to and from). When we arrived at the 3rd floor, the door we were greated by the most charming, helpful and loving concierge, Monti. As we would come to know over the next four days, this man is so special. Charismatic, charming and caring are just a few of the adjectives which would describe him He made our stay perfect.

The location is perfect. Around the corner from the "Park Ave" stores of Florence like Gucci and Tiffany. You can walk everywhere and anywhere. We were so nicely upgraded to a room with a view of the Arno which was beautiful. Breakfast was nice. Our room was large and our bathroom was beautiful. This was our first trip to Italy so we were rookies. We were visiting our daughter who is studying in Florence for this semester. I am so thankful to have selected this hotel. Our daughter also agreed that Hotel Alessandra was the perfect choice.

Please send our appreciation, love and kisses to Monti. "AMORE" He made our stay unforgettable. (Kathleen and Robert - blonde lady with blonde daughter...) Someday we will return...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Good job! Checking our facebook page for what our door looks like! How very organised. And understanding the calorie-reduction value of our stairs too! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and indeed that your daughter confirmed your choice. Monti "amoreeeeee" sends his best, and the whole team looks forward to seeing you again one day.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a great spot in Venice, a bit tricky to find, but once there close to everything. Probably no more than 10 minutes to about anything you're interested in seeing in Florence, including just a block from the Ponte del Vecchio. A few steps leading to an elevator and another set in the hotel if you're upstairs, might be a challenge for some, but we were fine. The room was comfortable, very clean and looked out over the roofs of Florence. That cleanliness met us every day when we returned from hours of seeing the sights.

A substantial free breakfast buffet had freshly baked items, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, teas - and the service for espresso,cappuccinos if desired was friendly and attentive.

All of the staff at the front desk were helpful, professional and clearly focused on customer satisfaction. Monti, however, should really have a page of his own on Trip Advisor. Energetic, entertaining and dead on with recommendations, his friendly welcome at the start was echoed each time we returned. He genuinely seemed happy to see us! He was so helpful with recommendations (including the very important caveats), that we did not have a bad meal or experience in Florence.
Quite a character and one of those wonderful people that make travelling so rewarding.

Here's an additional kudo: a pair of glasses were left in the room and they were mailed to us in the US (of course, we paid) and arrived the same day we arrived home. Excellent and caring service. This is a definite stop on any of our future trips to Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Wow - magnificient words. Thank you. You should know that Monti is a web 2.0 recluse!. We show him the wonderul things that people say about him on our hotel terminal. He loves it. We truly have an incredible team of whom we are extraordinarily proud. Thank you for noticing.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very friendly, affordable place (I paid 55 €/night for single room, incl. reasonable brfast) right in the heart of Florence, around the corner from Ponte Vecchio.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: I had the cheapest option: single (# 25) shared bathroom (only basin in room), no view at all (wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Gosh what a lot of kisses! Ahem ... thank you!

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge, la
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent several nights at the Allesandra in October. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Very nice breakfast buffet. Central location with lots of good informal places to eat nearby.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
That's good. You loved it. And we love that you loved it. Thank you.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for four nights on our recent trip. Monti the desk concierge was extremely helpful and hilarious. He is quite a character, and he made our stay special by giving us great tips on restaurants and seeing the sights. We loved how centrally located the place was to everything we wanted to see. The breakfast was good. The room was very clean and large, with lots of storage space. The bathroom was also spacious, although I would suggest they put up more shelves and/or hooks in there. I had requested a room away from noise because I am a light sleeper and they delivered--I had no problems at all. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are so lucky (in European terms) - our rooms are extra-large! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo SS. Apostoli, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) but please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.