We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BELLISSIMO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alessandra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo SS. Apostoli, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 461 hotels in Florence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BELLISSIMO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This could not have been a MORE WONDERFUL place to stay! WE LOVED IT! I have lived and stayed in Florence multiple times, but this was our best stay yet. The wonderful hotel staff was helpful, delightful, pleasant, and so knowledgeable. They made our welcome wonderful, after a long and hot walk to the hotel on a hot July day. The hotel itself is extremely clean, charming, very Florentine, and decorated in a lovely fashion. They have made an effort to have photos of old Florence, and pieces that show the historic nature of the hotel and of the city. The only difficulty is a small set of stairs before a VERY small lift- so just be prepared for that. The rooms are VERY spacious and beautiful- typical, pallatial Florentine rooms. TV, AC, a lovely, included breakfast with great service, etc. Bathrooms are lovely, with a full tub! We even had antique pieces of furniture in our room instead of just a bed and bedstands- really added to the feel. Couldn't say more for this place- stay there! It's worth it! :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
It's really quite difficult to reply - we are thoroughly overwhelmed. We are delighted that you were so happy with you stay. And we do like the fact that you mentioned our stairs. Everyone should know beforehand! Do come back one day.

Regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    872
    345
    39
    9
    9
See reviews for
261
588
122
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Alessandra for four nights, and we had a blast. Great breakfast, to be italian, and a fantastic receptionist. I did´nt get his name, but he was fantastic. Helped us with reservations and pointed us towards great places to eat.
This was our fourth time in Firenze, so we had a pretty good overview of things, but this guy was a great help in discovering new ones.
Room was not big, but a good AC, clean and comfortable, and with a great bathroom with actual pressure in the shower. Which is rare to come by in Italy.
The location is fantastic, but the only drawback, and if you are considering this hotel, you have to be aware of this: You have to walk up two flights of stairs before you reach the elevator. If you have trouble walking up stairs and have a lot of heavy luggage, you might want to reconsider.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We couldn't have said it better ourselves! Our hotel is fantastic (well, we have to say that!) but we do have stairs. Lots. They often feature in conversations on our facebook page. Big old Florentine palazzi are good on stairs and not so good on lifts!

We are absolutely delighted that you had a good experience at Hotel Alessandra, and look forward to meeting one day in the future.

Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We loved almost everything about Hotel Alessandra. The location was unbeatable. It was a very short walk away from all the major sights. Approximately 3 minutes to the Ponte Vecchio, 5-8 to the Duomo, 10 to the train station. Hotel Alessandra was on a quiet side street one block from the road that runs along the river.

The hotel was very clean - we got new towels on a daily basis & everything, including the breakfast room, was spotless. Free Wifi. Our room was quiet & dark, which we appreciated :)

The staff were almost the best part. We came in with a list of 12 restaurants from a friend who spends alot of time in Florence and the gentleman who checked us in (Andrea I believe?) took the time to map out each and every place and even added some recommendations of his own. It was above & beyond what we expected. Everyone we interacted with was friendly and wanted you to feel like you were at home/family. Our last day, we wanted to explore some but didn't want to drag out luggage around. They let us leave our luggage in a small room in the morning & came back in the afternoon to retrieve it -- no charge!!!

Breakfast is included with our room price & was so good. Amazing cappucinos!

Only complaints were the showers -- typical European shower which needed a bigger curtain because some of the water ended up on the floor. TV in the room got only Italian channels but there was also a TV room with free computer access that we didn't get a chance to use. Also - be prepared, there is a lift but it's small and up one flight of stairs from the ground level. I'm sure they'd assist with baggage if you asked but we were okay on our own.

Big rooms, comfy beds, amazing staff & affordable price. I can't recommend this place enough. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much for such a detailed review. We really do appreciate it. We are so pleased that you had some a good time with us.

Our hotel, you will have noticed, it not quite like a north American one! (pros and cons!). We are constantly updating, replacing, renewing. Sometimes things are made more difficult by the fact of our building being very old (over 500 years) - things take longer! Just a few days ago we finally managed to install a wifi system that permits you to transfer from one area of the hotel to another without having to log-off and back on again (we have very thick walls!) That was a tough job! This past winter we replaced many of our aircon units with newer, eco-friendly versions. It looks like this winter our attention will be turned to shower curtains!

Do come back - we very much enjoyed having you to stay.

Andrea Gennarini (yes, I checked you in!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Wonderful hotel in an old palace, great staff, nice comfy beds , good breakfast. The shower set up needs a better curtain. Water went everywhere making the floor very slippery. otherwise no complaints about our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment - we are checking the bathroom out as write!

Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The location of the hotel, the size of the room (even the bathroom was the biggest of the four hotels we stayed in), and, most importantly, the friendly staff made or visit to Florence the highlight of our trip to Italy. We will definitely be back to Italy and to Hotel Alessandra.

Room Tip: We had two rooms - both were large and had large bathrooms/showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
And we very much look forward to seeing you again. A presto!

Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Just fantastic - superb location next to the Palazzo Vecchio and Uffizi, really helpful and friendly staff, beautiful, spacious, high-ceilinged rooms, and a reminder to a slightly jaded regular traveller of how good a hotel can be when it is run with real warmth.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Why thank you for you great comments. Do come back some day!

Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in Florence for 2 short days. We didn't have too much time to explore the city, but the location of Hotel Alessandra made some of the main sites a short walking distance away. We were also close to some really good restaurants.

The room was a good size and the air conditioning was really nice after a long day in the summer heat. Also, the staff at the front desk and at breakfast were very friendly and accomodating. One plus worth mentioning - the hotel allows 10 min phonecalls home to Canada (and other countries) from the front desk for free!

Also, we did save a little money by choosing a room with a private bathroom that was not attached to our room . It was down the hall and exclusive for our use (with a key) but inconvenient for my husband who uses the bathroom a few times during the night.

Overall I would totally recommend this hotel as good choice if your looking for an affordable, comfortable hotel close to the sights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. Next time an ensuite bathroom would be better for you. We have a fairly wide range of solutions and prices, so we can always ensure getting the right combination price/facilities.

Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo SS. Apostoli, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) but please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.