We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality, Cosy and Warm Family-run Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nuova Italia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nuova Italia to your Saves list
Nuova Italia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Faenza 26, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality, Cosy and Warm Family-run Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Spent 3 days 2 nights as a Couple at Nuovo Italia and would definitely return to stay for a week or longer if time permits. WiFi access was very useful so we could plan our program or read up on reviews on other sites while having breakfast or unwinding in the hotel room. Room was clean and cosy.

Location was within comfortable walking distance to interesting small quaint craft shops, trottorias, gelato parlours and historical buildings. 10 minutes walk to the famous Duomo and 20 minutes to Ponte Vecchio. With many spontaneous and beautiful sights in Florence, we would recommend ditching the map and enjoy getting ‘lost’ in this lovely city.

Breakfast was delicious. The spread was not extravagant but we had a good meal of pastries, croissants, cereal, yogurt, and fruits. Refillable. We looked forward to handcrafted coffee by the fatherly owner-turn-barista in the morning. But rise early before the kitchen gets too crowded; his daughter usually takes over later on. His Wife and Son spoke English and are very helpful in giving directions and always greeted patrons. The owner seems like he is in his 70s, did not speak a word of English but was jovial and made us feel very at home.

From the train station, it took us approximately 8-10 minutes (with luggage and a GoogleMaps printout) to find this hotel. Once we were familiar, it took us only 5 minutes. Florence had many small lanes so we had to be alert for the street names and sometimes miss it while focusing on the map.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Direttore at Nuova Italia, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest "DebNSL",
You cannot imagine how much our staff and myself have appreciated your lovely review!
We must thank you very much for the time you have taken to describe the Hotel Nuova Italia.
We can only thank you a million and hope that you will be able to replicate your visit in the near future.
Until then we remain,
Sincerely,
Luciano Viti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    239
    52
    17
    9
See reviews for
79
218
70
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We enjoyed the hotel mainly thanks to its great location and good conditions as for 2* hotel.
The hotel is in the walking distance to all major attractions and its location makes you feel like a Florentine.
The room was spacious enough.
We would surely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Proprietario at Nuova Italia, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest "lv_Ka_O",
On behalf of all those persons who work at our Hotel Nuova Italia, I thank you a million for the
nice and exaustive review you wrote for Tripadvsor readers.
We also take this opportunity to wish you and your loved ones a FANTASTIC 2014.
We are looking forward to welcomi ng you and your friends in Florence in the near future and until then we remain,
Sincerely yours,
Luciano Viti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Hotel Nuova Italia is an easy walk from the train station, which sometimes means a less favourable part of a city, but the hotel is on a good street within convenient walking distance of many of the great sites that Florence has to offer. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed. The staff are friendly and helpful plus there was a nice breakfast included. While this is not a fancy hotel, it more than met our needs and we were quite happy to return there after our days of sight-seeing. Overall a very good stay and we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Manager at Nuova Italia, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest "Liketotravel019",
Reading your review for Tripadvisor readers and travellers was very rewarding for the whole staff at the Hotel Nuova Italia. We thank you for having taken the time to write your comment and hope to be able to welcome you again in Florence in the near future.
Until then we reamain,
Sincerely yours,
Luciano Viti
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had to go to a conference at Palazzo degli affari, so wanted a hotel nearby and also in walking distance to the train station and the historical center. The hotel Nuova Italia is an excellent choice in this area. My room was clean and the bathroom appeared to be recently renovated. There was a small desk in the room and WiFi-Internet was free and unlimited. Continental breakfast is also included. Staff was friendly and were always on-site when I came and left. The price was a real bargain in a city where accommodation is normally very expensive. My only minor complaint is that the cleaning staff on one occasion left the door unlocked, although fortunately nothing happened. So, all in all, I can highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Owner at Nuova Italia, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest "Michael G",
We do thank you for the lovely review you made for Tripadvisor readers!
A good review is a good incentive for us all to keep up with the good work.
As for the complaint, we wonder if you found your door actually wide open or just
unlocked. Our doors are provided with a spring that makes the close automatically and the door cannot be opened from the outside except with the proper key.
We apologize anyway and will make sure that our maids will actually lock doors with the key.
We are looking forward to your next visir and remain,
Sincerely,
Luciano Viti
P.S. WE WISH YOU A VERY HAPPY HOLIDAY SEASON AND A FANTASTIC 2014!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a hotel that must be on your list when in Firenze. It ticked all the boxes for us on our 4 night stay...the rooms were clean and well presented, the staff are attentive and very pleasant. All our questions regarding where to go and what to do were knowledgeably answered. This is the first hotel of this level that had provided table service for breakfast in our 3 weeks through Italy and the coffee was amazing. It is very clear that this hotel exceeds all expectations and wants to deliver a outstanding level of service every time. Thank you to everyone at Nuove Italia for making our time in Firenze even better. Grazie

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Proprietario at Nuova Italia, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest "Michael T",
All we can say after having read your review in Tripadvisor is. THANK YOU, THANK YOU,
THANK YOU!!!
We do hope that you will be able to replicate your visit in the near future and until then we reamain,
Sincerely yours,
Luciano Viti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I am highly recommending this place. It is not fancy, but it is quite nice. Having paid for some very nice rooms that I barely spent time in during my early travel days, I opt for less fancy places.

Our room was very clean and adequately sized. The bathroom was a little tight, but manageable. The A/C worked fine, you have to call the front desk to get them to turn it on. My wife loved the various art pieces scattered around the hotel.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The husband and night clerk were especially so. The night clerk gave us a very good restaurant recommendation just outside the hotel door. We might not have tried it otherwise. The Trattoria Antichi Cancelli was the best meal we had while in Florence. It was by far the most reasonably priced. She also always remembered our room number in our comings and goings.

They provide a very nice breakfast. If you walk away hungry it is your own fault. They sit you at tables and bring coffee/espresso to you. Various pastries, breads, jellies, fruits and cereals are provided along with milk and juices. It was a very pleasant experience to start your day.

The hotel is very centrally located. It is just a few blocks from the train station. All the major tourist attractions are in very easy walking distance as are restaurants, cafes and shopping. The big outdoor market is just a couple blocks away.

It is in a busy area and can get a little noisy, but I did not find this an issue except the one afternoon when I tried to catch a short nap. In the evening, many of the vendors from the outdoor market roll their goods to storage areas close to the hotel. Just remember you are in a large city. It was still much quieter than New York.

Do yourself and your budget a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Owner at Nuova Italia, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Why was my response rejected?
Sincerely,
Luciano Viti
Hotel Nuova Italia, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Nuova Italia on our honeymoon and couldn't have been more pleased. We had a very early train coming into Florence (7 a.m.) and they let us check in that early! The hotel was a quick walk from everything: SMN train station, Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi, Accademia, Arno River, and so many amazing restaurants and gelaterias. The staff at the hotel was very kind and we especially appreciated the free breakfast of crossiants, fruit, yogurt, coffee, and orange juice every morning. They were also eager to give us a map and a bit of guidance about Florence. Room itself and clean and the bathroom was a good size. Overall, a fantastic place to stay in Florence!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Direttore generale at Nuova Italia, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest "Chris T",
Reading your short and yet exaustive review on our Hotel Nuova Italia in Florence was for me and the staff the best way to start our working day.
We thank you a million for having taken the time to write your nice comments and are looking forward to your next visit to Flkorence.
Until then I remain,
Sincerely,
Luciano Viti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nuova Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuova Italia

Address: Via Faenza 26, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Florence
#80 Family Hotel in Florence
#134 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nuova Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic location within walking distance from train station, all museums and sights. Shopping is at hand. All rooms with new bathrooms with hairdryers, air conditioned, sat-TV, telephone. As part of our services we make museums and tour reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nuova Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuova Italia Florence
Nuova Italia Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuova Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.